We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place to stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobster Trap Art Gallery

Lobster Trap Art Gallery
Ranked #7 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lobster Trap Art Gallery is a unique gallery full of colorful art from Nadine and Glenn Lahti and other local artists from the Florida Keys. Our artists have created hundreds of original works and our frame shop has constructed thousands of hand built and custom lobster trap frames, made from original lobster trap wood, since 2003. With bright tropical colors and island music playing, come see why this gallery is the epitome of "Island Life". Visit our website to see our online gallery and do more shopping. You don't have to live on the islands to lead the "Island Lifestyle!"
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cool place to stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The art is unique and ranges in price. The frames are made out of old lobster trap wood for a nautical feel. The staff are willing to work with you and create a custom piece. The large giclee works are really nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are glad you liked our "cool" gallery and had an enjoyable experience in our store. We are also happy to hear you like our larger pieces of art on canvas! Be sure to check out our website and the next time you are in the Keys, stop by and see us. Nadine and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    52
    18
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One the best little shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This place has unique affordable gifts. The artists are always there and very friendly. They also will do custom jobs. I highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our gallery. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and gave us a great recommendation. Hope to see you on your next visit to Islamorada. Nadine and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Loved this little place! Great souvenir from the Keys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I wandered into this gallery after breakfast. I had actually seen this work down at Robbie's Marina and love the idea of the lobster trap picture frames. We wandered the gallery looking for something that would jump out at us. Very nice woman approached us and told us she was one of the artists. She told us some of the history of the artwork and that her husband painted the buildings while she did the animals. We left without purchasing anything as we needed to get to another spot. About an hour later we returned and were pleasantly surprised to get to meet the husband/artist who was there. I selected a Hemingway painting as my husband loved the home tour in Key West. I commented to the artist/husband that I preferred the frames with the barnacles on them. He quickly removed the picture from the plain frame and another man brought out several barnacle covered frames for me to choose from. After I selected one, he placed it in the frame and offered to autograph it to my husband. How exciting! Daughter decided on a small wolf picture and the artist/wife signed it for her too! We left with our wonderfully authentic locally made souvenirs. My husband was thrilled with the picture when I gave it to him!

Helpful?
1 Thank Da2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Nadine and I are so glad you liked our gallery when you were down here in the Keys. I am glad I got to personalize the Hemingway House for your husband and Nadine got to personalize the wolf for your daughter. We hope when you come back to the Keys you will stop in and see us again! Glenn and Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly unique art at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

It's been a while since we were in to visit Glenn and Nadine but we have purchased many items from them in the past and love every piece! Bright colors and something for everyone's taste and budget, this is a place you must visit if you get to the Keys!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captainmatt529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are so glad you took the time to write a review. It is great to know you are still finding new items to enjoy at our Gallery! We hope to see you again on your next visit and really appreciate your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great stop for unique gifts, souvenirs !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We really liked this place with its unique nautical art made from
former lobster traps, gifts, jewelry, etc. We bought a great clever signs for a friend's shore house and some great earrings as gifts.
visited twice and would return again, very friendly and welcoming.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SEAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lobzilla139, Owner at Lobster Trap Art Gallery, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We hope your custom sign was a perfect accessory for you friends shore house! Please come by again next time you are in the area. We'll have lots more original art and fun souvenirs for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lobster Trap Art Gallery also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lobster Trap Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing