We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be a 5 star rating if not for the noisy A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would be a 5 star rating if not for the noisy A/C”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great amenities, specially for a family or group, location, friendly staff, and tons of water activities to do right down the road and some on premise as well. They even have barbecue grills right outside the rooms if you choose to do so... love the facility, the only downside i experienced was the old dated A/C in our room, very loud, noisy...and the bed and pillows were a bit uncomfortable as well...but you cant beat the location, pool area, excellent,nice pier if you want to fish as well, nice swimming pools, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulfortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    502
    171
    70
    67
See reviews for
471
550
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were so happy to have found this place. We stayed for a night on our way to Key West, but loved it so much we decided to forgo our last night and head back to The Islander. The view is breathtaking. The staff is so incredibly friendly... They really take care of you. And there are many things to do! We already booked for another long weekend for October! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaJoZag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples Fl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Spent two night here last weekend. Having never been to Islamorada, I have to say it was different. This hotel was everything I expected. Clean, Comfortable, and good views of the Atlantic. Many families were here and all seemed to be having a great time. With a grill in front of each unit, most BBQed at night. We ate at the pool restaurant several times and the food was quite good. I didn't think the food or beers were expensive considering your location. We did the continental breakfast one morning and found it had a good selection of items. For those that want to get away for Happy Hour, you just walk across the street. Really couldn't swim in the Atlantic, but they have two nice pools that were relaxing. We would go back again for another quick getaway

Room Tip: Room 123 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuesoNaplesFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stay at the Islander Resort sister resort that had the 2 story condos. This was simple but was clean and seemed very new. It had a nice pool area right on the bay with 2 grills. At the main resort there was a beach(sand on the water, but don't go in the water) and a nice pool and hot tub area.

If you never been to the key's you don't go there for the beach. You go if you have a boat. We had a boat so it made all the difference. We went out fishing and loved it.

So if you have a boat, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Late June stay.. absolutely loved the place! Hoping to go back!! We arrived on a Sunday and stayed through Thursday. What a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were clean and neat. Connie worked hard for us to have 2 rooms that the screened porches were joined with other family with us. The property I found out was an old army location many years ago, which explains the layout better. The rooms either are in the courtyard or face the ocean. Ours faced the ocean. We had a big grassy area in front of our room which at one time had the only saltwater pool on the island. They actually saved a whale in it I was told..how neat. But they have built a huge amazing ocean side pool area.. one large and one small and jacuzzi. LOVE the large pool.. and the walk in slope instead of steps! Nice touch for kids and anyone with any moving difficulties. The guys at the water rental shack were nothing but amazing! We felt like family and they truly worked so hard to aclimate us to renting equipment, fishing & a boat. I just wished we'd had one more day for another boat ride! The breakfast was good.. a continental breakfast but everything and more than you needed. The grounds are so beautiful. There is the lighted pier and we spent quite a bit of time out there fishing and gazing. Snorkeling right off from the beach area was fun, and if you rent a boat, ask them to direct you to the Sandbar.. snorkeling there was great.. a shark went by without blinking and I tried hard to catch a black sting ray..how graceful and it was and the water was only about waist deep out there! Fishing is awesome and they guys will direct you to the best fishing..trust me they know! We watched a wedding, we watched the huge lizard things, slept in the hammock... walked to Lorileis across the street for the best sunset, dinner, key lime pie and live entertainment .. Such a peaceful and serene place.. for singles & families! Rooms could have been more elaborate, but we weren't inside much anyhow!!! They were nice and CLEAN! This hotel is NOT on the bedbugregistry.com! Just talking about it relaxes me!!! My pictures were of June 2013 (they may say 2012..that would be the photographer's issue not the actual date;( )

Room Tip: Just ask for an ocean facing room. When you drive up to the rear of the buildings with the rooms, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxbury, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family decided to take our Dad on a week-long vacation to the FL Keys for his 50th birthday. We had 4 people in total- Dad, Mom, and 2 grown kids. After much research, we decided to reserve at the Islander Resort. Their reviews were mostly positive, the pictures on their website beautiful, and the price was reasonable; but we were not expecting to be blown away like we were by this resort.
The resort and Islamorada are more breathtaking than any picture can capture. Our room was very clean, spacious, updated, and in a quiet location with a great view of the ocean.
The 2 pools were beautiful and clean, never too crowded, and were open until 11pm. We ate dinner one night at the resort's restaurant, and the food was yummy. We also utilized the continental breakfast almost every day of our trip. You can fish off the 200 foot long pier at any time, day or night. Kayaks, snorkels, boats, fishing gear, and more are available for rent right from the resort which is convenient. The kayaks were fun. Next time we visit, we will definitely rent a boat and travel out to the lighthouse to snorkel. Most of our trip was spent snorkling, lounging by the pool, sunbathing, eating delicious food in and around Islamorada, and stargazing at night-it was a totally relaxing vacation.
All the resort staff we interacted with were very friendly and helpful. One day we walked to the lobby to ask for extra towels; we walked directly back to our room to find that the staff had already driven over, delivered the towels, and had gone. They really seem to try and make their guests feel comfortable and welcome.
As other reviewers have stated, bring sandals or water shoes as the beach is not soft white sand. It is a coarser, coral sand that you can walk on without shoes, but it is definitely more comfortable with footwear. Recommend taking a short ride over to Anne's Beach for some great snorkeling, and you must eat grouper when you come to Ilamorada. It is delicious! The only suggestions I can think to make to the resort are to provide larger beds and maybe offer a more varied breakfast selection, with some hot foods available.
Overall, the Islander was a fantastic resort in the Keys. It was a perfect place to relax and enjoy quality time with my family. My Dad wanted me to quote him directly in this review, stating "It was the best vacation I ever had, bar none!" We are already planning our return trip to the Islander Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJersey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked a pet-friendly room for a long weekend. Our room was not close to ready at 3:00. No linens on the bed, no towels in the bathroom. Room was very disappointing (in need of a good cleaning and painting). Took our dog for a walk and found their pet waste container to be over-flowing. On our fourth day, that stinky can of dog waste had still not been emptied.

Don't have any idea what the non-pet-friendly rooms looked like but got the feeling that they treat those with pets as second class citizens.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,277 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,180 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing