We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing Trip Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fishing Trip Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Rooms are large. Two queen beds and a kitchenette with full size refridgerator/freezer. Great for those staying to fish --- can have fish vacu-sealed and packed by Islamorada Fish Company and keep them in your freezer the freezer will hold around 40lbs of filets.

They have a long strip of ocean front available with jet skis and boats for rent. The beach part is good to walk up and down and scenic especially at sun rise or sunset. The ocean is shallow by the resort and rocky/coral -- you can snorkel, but its not the best.

The pier does extend quite far. However, for those thinking about catching fish off of it with standard equipment, you are only going to catch small mangrove snapper due to the depth -- nothing worth keeping or eating, but still fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnElliott29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    497
    167
    70
    67
See reviews for
467
545
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice resort. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the area. The pool and tiki bar were very nice and since there weren't many people there we were able to relax. The one disappointing thing though was the fact that their "beach" was not accessible to the water. You could lay out and look at the water but there was no way to get in. It wasn't really a beach it was more like a sand patio framed with sharp coral rock. I didn't get the beach time I really wanted. The rooms were clean and spacious. Our tv didn't work all that well and the cleaning staff were really loud near our door waking us up in the morning. The bed was comfortable and we liked the private outdoor patio. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would come back if we stayed on Islamorada again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great amenities, specially for a family or group, location, friendly staff, and tons of water activities to do right down the road and some on premise as well. They even have barbecue grills right outside the rooms if you choose to do so... love the facility, the only downside i experienced was the old dated A/C in our room, very loud, noisy...and the bed and pillows were a bit uncomfortable as well...but you cant beat the location, pool area, excellent,nice pier if you want to fish as well, nice swimming pools, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulfortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were so happy to have found this place. We stayed for a night on our way to Key West, but loved it so much we decided to forgo our last night and head back to The Islander. The view is breathtaking. The staff is so incredibly friendly... They really take care of you. And there are many things to do! We already booked for another long weekend for October! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaJoZag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples Fl
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Spent two night here last weekend. Having never been to Islamorada, I have to say it was different. This hotel was everything I expected. Clean, Comfortable, and good views of the Atlantic. Many families were here and all seemed to be having a great time. With a grill in front of each unit, most BBQed at night. We ate at the pool restaurant several times and the food was quite good. I didn't think the food or beers were expensive considering your location. We did the continental breakfast one morning and found it had a good selection of items. For those that want to get away for Happy Hour, you just walk across the street. Really couldn't swim in the Atlantic, but they have two nice pools that were relaxing. We would go back again for another quick getaway

Room Tip: Room 123 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuesoNaplesFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stay at the Islander Resort sister resort that had the 2 story condos. This was simple but was clean and seemed very new. It had a nice pool area right on the bay with 2 grills. At the main resort there was a beach(sand on the water, but don't go in the water) and a nice pool and hot tub area.

If you never been to the key's you don't go there for the beach. You go if you have a boat. We had a boat so it made all the difference. We went out fishing and loved it.

So if you have a boat, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Late June stay.. absolutely loved the place! Hoping to go back!! We arrived on a Sunday and stayed through Thursday. What a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were clean and neat. Connie worked hard for us to have 2 rooms that the screened porches were joined with other family with us. The property I found out was an old army location many years ago, which explains the layout better. The rooms either are in the courtyard or face the ocean. Ours faced the ocean. We had a big grassy area in front of our room which at one time had the only saltwater pool on the island. They actually saved a whale in it I was told..how neat. But they have built a huge amazing ocean side pool area.. one large and one small and jacuzzi. LOVE the large pool.. and the walk in slope instead of steps! Nice touch for kids and anyone with any moving difficulties. The guys at the water rental shack were nothing but amazing! We felt like family and they truly worked so hard to aclimate us to renting equipment, fishing & a boat. I just wished we'd had one more day for another boat ride! The breakfast was good.. a continental breakfast but everything and more than you needed. The grounds are so beautiful. There is the lighted pier and we spent quite a bit of time out there fishing and gazing. Snorkeling right off from the beach area was fun, and if you rent a boat, ask them to direct you to the Sandbar.. snorkeling there was great.. a shark went by without blinking and I tried hard to catch a black sting ray..how graceful and it was and the water was only about waist deep out there! Fishing is awesome and they guys will direct you to the best fishing..trust me they know! We watched a wedding, we watched the huge lizard things, slept in the hammock... walked to Lorileis across the street for the best sunset, dinner, key lime pie and live entertainment .. Such a peaceful and serene place.. for singles & families! Rooms could have been more elaborate, but we weren't inside much anyhow!!! They were nice and CLEAN! This hotel is NOT on the bedbugregistry.com! Just talking about it relaxes me!!! My pictures were of June 2013 (they may say 2012..that would be the photographer's issue not the actual date;( )

Room Tip: Just ask for an ocean facing room. When you drive up to the rear of the buildings with the rooms, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.2 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
3.1 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
3.2 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,504 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing