We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Sunrise, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simplicity”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

When we checked in the front desk agent was very nice. Upon checking into our room the phone and safe wasn't operating.
Within 10 min maintenance came buy and everything was working. The room is spacious & basic nothing fancy but clean. What disappointed me was there where no umbrellas in the pool area & you had to pay for an umbrella by the beach? I thought I was back in Miami? The beach was full of sea grass and not appealing. There is one section where there are steps and that allowed us to swim in the ocean. There is still a lot of grass, it felt like swimming in a lake, bring your swimming shoes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mea0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello Mea0427 - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had issues with your safe but I'm happy to hear our Maintenance people were quick to get everything fixed for you. Certain times of the year we do get sea weed washing ashore and we have a staff person assigned to just clean the beach. Also, as part of our affiliation with Guy Harvey Outpost, and our upgrades, we have just gotten some new lounge chairs and more umbrellas. We hope you can come back to soon to see all the improvements. We do appreciate your comments. Thanks again, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    525
    179
    77
    70
See reviews for
498
586
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Islander Resort and are anxiously awaiting a return trip next year. Part of what is so great about the keys is that it's a laid back environment & this resort met our expectations perfectly. We stayed in room 435 which does not have a view of the pool or the beach, but it was actually nice to be set back from all the noise of the pool. Each room is equipped with all the necessary kitchen appliances as well as dishes & silverware. The rooms have high ceilings with beautiful ceiling fans, as well as a private lanai where we enjoyed our coffee each morning. In addition, there's a common area for each strip of rooms that has a charcoal grill, picnic tables, hammocks and chaise lounges. The beach and pool were picture perfect! There's not much of a swimming area in the ocean but that is to be expected as the hotel has really tried to preserve the natural state of the island. We enjoyed lounging in our chairs under the palm trees and took the short walk to the pool to cool off when needed. The drinks from the poolside grill were delicious, but we did not try any of their food so I can't comment on the quality. I can say that prices were a little steep but that was not unexpected.

The only real con that I can comment on is that there's really not much security at the resort and virtually anyone could drive in, park and spend the day at the beach and pool. This seemed to be the case on our first day there which was a Sunday, as the pool was packed and then the following day hardly anyone was there. This really wasn't a big deal for us as everyone was polite & friendly, but I can see how it could be an issue during peak seasons when the hotel is also fully booked.

TIP: If you'd like to save some money on drinks & food, while still being close to the resort, walk across the street to Lor-e-Lei's which has a great happy hour from 4-6 as well as delicious food. In addition, they have a sunset celebration every night which is something you don't want to miss.

Overall, we loved our time spent at the Islander and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place is so sweet, not your cookie-cutter resort. It has character -- common areas with grills, picnic tables and hammocks, refreshing pools, a beach straight out of the movies with comfy chaise lounges. The wait staff was friendly, prompt, accommodating. We showed up a little late for dinner one night -- the kitchen had just closed -- and they readily prepared a delicious dinner for us. The food was simple, but fresh and good. I loved the room, with cathedral ceilings, Key West style built-ins, a well-equipped kitchenette, screened patio, so comfortable. Perfect for a beachy, relaxing, rejuvenate time.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Nancy P -

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We think it is a very special place too. Hopefully, you will be able to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I wrote this review after we returned home in December 2013, tried to publish it, but it kept getting rejected (strangely). Trying again with the hopes of truly helping others to not make the mistake we made. The photos look great, some of the reviews are great, and we read those first (and only).There are 2 distinctly different sections at The Islander (the newer section and the older section). In the older section, there are buildings that are way worse than others. In the older buildings, there are units that are way worse than others. We got one of those. Dirty, had plumber there three times with toilet issues, maid not arriving till 2 p.m.. Tide line at water filled with trash. The A/C is old and incredibly noisy, first time had to have it "fixed" with a broomhandle. Yes, you read right. The "guests" paying 300 a night must share the pool and beach with the locals, WHERE is this acceptable? Some of the front desk people are incredibly rude, but one of the managers was professional. We know the keys are laid back, we weren't expecting the Four Seasons, but really, as some of the others have said, management/owners need to wake up. This is horrible and we would never recommend this to anyone who is expecting anything more than a Motel 6.

Room Tip: IF you must go, insist on room in the NEWER section of the resort. They tell you they are "jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank milesgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello MilesGayle - We're very sorry to hear your stay was not up to your expectations. We've had a lot of changes since your visit 5 months ago. We are still in renovation mode now, hopefully, we will be complete by the end of summer. Please come back and see all the updates and changes. We think you will be pleased with all the guest room upgrades. The rudeness you experienced is totally unacceptable and our General Manager would like to get some additional information from you. If you have time, please email Robin@GuyHarveyOutpostIslamorada.com or call her 305-664-2031. Thank you, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The marquee seems dated or as someone said iconic. The villas clearly date from another era. But don't be fooled, this is as nice a beach side property as there is.
The villa interiors are clearly from this era with all needed amenities. Every unit has a large lanai backed by giant wall of windows so even if you're not on it it feels like you are.
The front desk and gift shop staff are very good,the bar & grill menu and staff are also excellent.
We came to attend a family beachside wedding but we'll be back for any reason at all.
The whole place is stellar but our ocean view room (114) might be the best spot here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel lets the local families into the bar and pool area for free, so if you want
to spend time with drunk moms ignoring their 5 kids who are running amok
in the pools, then this is the place for you. Otherwise nice location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello K812014 - Thank you for your input. We do try to be good neighbors and share our facilities with local guests too. It sounds like they were not being good neighbors during your stay and we apologize for that. If you have any additional information you can share, please email or call our General Manager, Robin - robin@guyharveyoutpostislamorada.com / 800-753-6002
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a wonderful stay here two years ago with friends from out of state.
Live on the Gulf Coast but would love to come back for another relaxing visit.
Really enjoyed the buffet breakfasts and dinners at the Bonefish Grill.
Great place to come if you really want a laid back experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a non pet approved room if any allergies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hi Patricia - Thank you for your post. We're so happy you enjoyed your last trip. Hopefully, you get to come back soon, it sounds like you are long overdue for a visit. Warm Regards, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
717 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Property: Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing