We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Islander Resort for four nights in June. We would have stayed longer, but these were the only days they had rooms available that week. We arrived early and had to wait for our room to get cleaned. No problem - we drove across the street to the Lorelei Cabana Bar & Restaurant and had lunch outside on the deck overlooking the water. We returned at the time they had told us the room would be ready and they gave us the keys. We went to the room and Housekeeping had just started cleaning, so we sat outside overlooking the ocean and waited for our room to get cleaned. The location of our room was perfect - right on the beach and across from the pool. We had a screened in porch with a table and chairs. Our room was a big open room with two beds, a table and chairs, a dresser, flat screen TV and nice size closet. There was a small kitchen area with full size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, dish washer and coffee maker. The bathroom was large and had a whirlpool tub, double sink, and separate walk-in shower and toilet area.
Outside of our room there were beach lounge chairs and tables. We could not get an umbrella into the sand, but there were palm trees that provided some shade. The beach area was immaculate. There were stairs into the ocean. We did not snorkel from the beach, but were told there was good snorkeling about 3/4 mile out. The sports center provided snorkeling gear and had organized snorkeling trips out to the reef.
We had several meals at the Beachside Grill. The food was good and slightly higher priced than the Lorelei across the street.
The only small problem we had the entire stay was with Housekeeping. They came every day but not until late in the day (4 - 4:30). They usually brought fresh towels, but not always. They did run the dishwasher, made the beds and emptied trash. But they did not always sweep the floor or bring fresh towels. The room was very clean when we first arrived, but it was not kept up after this. Also we found someone's used cigar in the bathroom - gross! Maybe they are not supposed to provide full housekeeping service?
Other than that we really enjoyed our stay and plan to return to the Islander in the future.

Room Tip: Room 511 is a perfect location - beach front and near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you LM77 -
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. The 500 suites are very nice - hope you got to use that in-room jacuzzi. I really like the screend in porches too - my favorite place for morning coffee. You have to come back and snorkel! It really is beautiful. I'm sorry to hear housekeeping wasn't 100% - I've already notified our General Manager and she will be addressing this with our Executive Housekeeper. Thank you again, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

When we arrived for check-in I had a lot of trepidation because of the mixed reviews I read here -- everyone seemed to agree that the pools and beach area were great, but there were some horror stories about old, dirty rooms mixed in with the positive so I didn't know what to expect, especially since we only paid $129/night through Expedia and I was sure they'd give us a crappy room. I was pleasantly surprised -- we definitely had a "renovated" room; everything was updated and spotless. Nothing fancy, but what I'd expect for a casual family resort in the Keys. Room was beachside -- large and with a screened-in porch. We spent most of our time at the pool, and chose to venture out on the island for most of our meals, though we did grab drinks and a snack at the pool bar a couple of times. Service was a bit inattentive and slow, but the drinks and food were very good. The pools are gorgeous, and if we had more time I'm sure we would have availed ourselves of the watersport activites they offer on property. Location is convenient to anything in Islamorada, and for the value I'd stay there again if I was looking to save money.

Room Tip: Try for a beachside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyBredFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hey Jersey Filly -
We are so happy you had a great stay. We actually like our "old Florida" feel and we love the historic sign. It's great when folks like you "get it." However, we do need to address the "less than attentive service" at the bar. That's not at all acceptable. Hopefully, you can come back soon, stay longer and take more time to enjoy the pool, the beach and the watersports. Thanks so much, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Love staying here as do my kids! They love this place they have a nice beach and pool where the kids can play and I can relax by the water all day or at the restaurant/ tiki bar they have which has amazing food and drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertnelsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Robert Nelson -
I'm so happy you and your kids enjoyed your stay. It's great you are so close and can come back often : ) Thank you for your nice post - we appreciate your kind words. Warm regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Love the view...love the setting!!! Beautiful...what paradise looks like!
NOW...the draw back..tiki hut service SUCKS!!! Bar service is awful and soooooo slow!
Beach server (Danielle) is great just dont go to bar

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank BarbraY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Barbra - I'm so sorry you had a bad experience at the bar. Can you please give Robin, our General Manager, a call or an email so we can get some additional information ? It sounds like we need to address a specific issue. Thank you very much - Robin@GuyHarveyOutpostIslamorada.com or 800-753-6002

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with a well done beach area. The staff did a very nice job and were unobtrusive. The one negative of this place was it's "local friendly" status. It gets overrun with "non guest" locals coming to the pool and beach on the weekends making both very very crowded. This policy has the potential to ruin a very nice resort.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank KentuckyGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Kentucky -
Thank you for your post. We do try to be local friendly and it does seem to be a double edge sword, especially over busy weekends. I apologize if they were intrusive, we do try to keep the traffic from spilling over into the guest areas. If you'd like to give us any additional feedback, please feel free to call our General Manager, Robin 800-753-6002 Thank you, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A group of us went and while the guys fished, we relaxed by the pool. Rooms are clean, not overly large or fancy. Nice pool area and beautiful beach area. Would recommend this hotel and will be back again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy42607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hello Happy -
Your post was awesome ! Thank you so much for the kind words. Come back soon !
Warm Regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early June, on the recommendation of a friend. I was pleasantly surprised by this place. The grounds are spotless, staff is on the go straightening and picking up via golf cart all day long. The room had everything the four of us could need. Comfortable ,well placed furnishings and the kitchen was full size always a plus when traveling family style. The bathroom was clean updated and the shower was full strength a retractable clothesline is a welcome extra , with all the wet bathing suits and towels, beach towels are given upon check in, again well thought out and the pool is pretty. The food is good but vacation priced. The beach is beautiful and goes on for a good stretch a bonus down here. The screened porch was really large and the bbq grill and hammock topped it all off. Price is moderate but worth it a great deal for the area. Guy Harvey owns this resort so it's a plus for fisherman they dock your boat just off shore and ferry you in. The man himself was there during our stay ,the staff did not tell us and we missed the autograph and photo happy hour even though we were on the grounds at the time. The kids were really bummed out about not getting there new gear signed, but that was the only drawback we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vueat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islander123, Director of Sales at Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear vueat -

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. So sorry to hear you missed Guy signing autographs in the lobby. If you send me an email with your address I will do my best to get something autographed and sent to your home. Karen@GuyHarveyOutpostIslamorada.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost

Address: Mile Marker 82.1 Oceanfront, 82100 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £169 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Islamorada
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing