We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful birthday weekend”
Review of Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Morada
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Casa Morada is a wonderful gem largely due to the amazing staff and equally amazing location. For those who like small, intimate, B&B, personal places to stay, this is where you need to go. Making a reservation takes a few emails back and forth, but response rates are impressive. I found this place via a picture in Conde Nast of the basket seat hanging at reception, and then came to Trip Advisor to find all the amazing ratings. We came here for my husband's birthday weekend - he's never stayed anywhere but Key West, but really enjoyed our time here. We kayaked, snorkeled, rode bicycles, swam in the pool, relaxed, laid in the hammocks, and went out for some great meals nearby (including Morada Beach Café). Even though the hotel was full, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. The continental breakfast was simple, but elegantly presented. The rooms could do with a little upgrading (i.e. flat screen TV's on the wall, walk in showers versus tubs with curtains) but frankly, this stuff simply does not detract from the serenity of the resort. And as said already, the staff wrap it all up with wonderful, personal and truly caring service. I would love to own and operate a boutique B&B like this one day - they really have devised a perfect formula.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor garden suite (sea Turtle); however, I did hear the heavy footed guest in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

When you first drive into Casa Morada, you may think you've made a mistake. The entrance to the property is, for want of a better word, unimpressive (another reviewer called it dumpy), which is unusual given the cost of rooms here. But as soon as you make your way around the first building to register, you'll discover that the unassuming entrance is apparently just there to disguise the entrance to paradise. The grounds are beautifully laid out and landscaped, and things just keep getting better as you walk down to the waterfront, where you're greeted with a picture postcard perfect view of blue waters and swaying palm trees. Stunning view.

Our room (Shangri-La) was beautiful. It was quite large and was decorated in airy white fabrics that gave the room a real island feel. The bed and chairs were both comfortable. Although we didn't spend much time inside the room, the time we did spend their was great -- it was light, comfortable, and spacious.

Breakfast was included and was much more impressive than I expected. The breakfast is open seating, buffet style, so you can have an early breakfast, wander around for a while, and come back for a late morning snack. The breakfast buffet included fruits, cereals, breads, hard-boiled eggs, etc. Lunch is served until about 5:00 at the beach area. It's a small, light menu, but the selections are excellent.

Service was very good. In particular, the attendant at the beach area bar (who also delivered room service food and drinks) was great.

The beach area is very nice, with a bar/dining area, hammocks, beach chairs, and a nifty raised "lookout tower" with great cushioned space for two inside. The beach area is actually several feet above the water and built on a platform, since the island doesn't have traditional sandy beaches like Miami or Naples. If you plan on sitting, the area is beautiful; but if you're planning on taking long walks on the beach, and dipping your toes in the surf, this isn't the right location.

With all of these positives, Casa Morada could be paradise. But a few issues (which could be fixed) made our stay less than perfect. The most important issue had to do with breakfast. On vacation, I'd like to be able to sleep in occasionally. But the 7:00-11:00 breakfast was served on the deck adjacent to our room. And the buffet was set up on a long shelf that was actually bolted to the south wall of our room. The server started setting up breakfast about 6:15 each morning, and every time he dropped another heavy item on the counter, it sounded like someone was pounding on our wall, making it impossible to sleep in. Moreover, the wall separating our private balcony from the breakfast area turned into a half-height wall about half way down the balcony. Each morning, breakfast guests would come lean on the wall to enjoy the view, which meant they were also leaning into and staring across our balcony. Some even chose this spot to take phone calls, so that they didn't disturb their breakfast companions. It meant that our private balcony was rather public.

The other issues were less significant, but worth noting. First, our room was not designed for open-window ventilation, so running the mini-split ductless air conditioning was mandatory. It would have been nice to enjoy the breezes in the morning. Second, although the resort does not allow children, it does allow pets, and our neighbors' dog barked morning and night. I love dogs, and the resort couldn't control this dog's behavior, but the pet-friendly policy is something to think about if you're looking for a peaceful retreat from sounds of the city. Third, unlike some resorts that discourage smoking on the patios/balconies, this resort puts out ashtrays, which can be an issue of the neighbors below/beside you are heavy smokers (ours were).

As I said at the outset, this is a great resort, with beautifully decorated rooms set on a beautifully landscaped property with a picture-perfect beachfront area and terrific service. The issues that made it less than perfect for us may have been unique to our room. At the very least, they're worth considering in selecting your room.

Room Tip: Shangri-La is beautiful and has one of the best views of the water. But the breakfast buffet for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CrimsonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place!! Amazing stuff great food and drinks room are perfect cant wait to go Back,Best place to watch The sunset Best place to get away very peaceful perfect to have a relaxing weekend I love the fact that you can bring you dog over all the perfect place for a relaxing vacation❤️

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joelito40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

From the lovely, spacious suite to the caring and friendly staff, every aspect of our one week vacation here was excellent. If sitting comfortably in a beautiful location and being treated like royalty is what you are looking for, look no further.

Room Tip: The Manatee suite is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hands down, the best place we have stayed in the Keys. The staff is charming and constantly anticipating your needs. We stayed in the sun suite which had a great water view. The pool area has lots of hammocks and lounges and feels like a private island as it is rarely crowded. They offer complimentary kayaks, paddle boards, movies, snorkel, breakfast, yoga, water in the rooms. You don't feel like you're being nickel and dimed. Drinks at the bar are excellent during sunset. They serve lunch but not dinner, but the hotel is within walking distance from lots of great choices including Chef Michael, Lorelei, Pierre's, Ma's Fish Camp. Sunset sail is romantic and fun with a great captain. Can't wait to return to this slice of paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Simply wonderful. Classy, casual, unpretentious, cozy. Every detail is well thought out and perfect. From the beach furniture to coffee creamers, from linens to fixtures, everything has an artful elegance. The management is uncommonly caring. If you are a student of hotel management, or if you are thinking of starting your own hotel, you really need to check this place out so you can see how it's done when it's done really well.

The property is lush and beautiful and ideal for people who want quiet. This is not a party hotel. It is elegant relaxation with a warm, friendly atmosphere that enables you to soak up some sun and downtime. I enthusiastically recommend Casa Morada for a peaceful getaway. It is lovely.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have reviewed this property before and can never say enough positive things about it. This is our 10th time here and we will be back same time next year as well. Great service, beautiful grounds, nice people, relaxing/quiet atmosphere and a comfy bed. We love casa and everything is always fantastic. Like I have said before - A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.

Room Tip: they are all fantastic - we like the ocean view & shower rooms the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jensnoopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,411 reviews
9.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
14.7 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
718 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Morada

Address: 136 Madeira Rd, Islamorada, FL 33036-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £254 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morada is an upscale sixteen suite privately owned hotel inspired by the informal character of the Caribbean. The atmosphere is private, peaceful, and serene. The staff is known for their warmth and attentiveness. Raymond Jungles, a renowned Miami Landscape Architect known for his natural lush landscapes, designed the award-winning garden spaces throughout the property. The highlight of the resort is Casa Morada's spectacular private island. The island is accessed by a dramatic footbridge and features a fresh water pool, secluded cabana and the Sunset Gazebo bar with stunning views of the Gulf of Mexico. Casa Morada is a 90 minute drive south from Miami International airport and 90 minutes north of Key West. Guests of Casa Morada may also arrive to the hotel by boat. Casa Morada is a pet-friendly hotel and welcomes children 16 and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morada Hotel Islamorada
Casa Morada Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing