We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Jolla Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cheeca Lodge & Spa(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kon-Tiki Resort(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
183
97
25
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
97
25
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridafishboat slipsfree kayakskey westold schoollorelei restaurantgulf sideshuffle boardpaddle boardspots and panskeys experiencemangrove mikesnice beach areaclean roomscomfy bedwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We found La Jolla on a friend's recommendation and couldn't be more happy with it. Our room was large and well-appointed, the property is well-kept with beautiful and lush landscaping and the staff were all helpful and friendly. We loved the free use of bikes and kayaks and the location is ideal with all you need a short bike ride away. We enjoyed the amazing sunset on the bay and were thrilled there was no shortage of chairs down by the docks. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The La Jolla Resort was perfectly located in Islamorada on the Bay with incredible views
and sunsets. The rooms are the cleanest we have experienced in the keys.
The staff is very polite and accomodating.
We have visited Marathon and Key West for 25 years. We have found our
favorite destination
Great restaurants nearby, shopping, and key west is less than 2 hours away
for a day trip
Call Alan or Vicky, they will help you arrange a great room for a memorable
vacation
Larry
St Petersburg

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmsunstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

What a fantastic place to find. La Jolla appears from the highway as a stretch of palms and a circa-1950s style sign. Don't be fooled! The palms simply block all the highway noise from penetrating the compound, and while the buildings may be painted in bright retro tropical colors, they are newly remodeled and well-appointed. After a disastrous reservation at the under-construction and horribly rude Lime Tree Bay Resort, the staff at La Jolla was eager to please and accommodate. We got a beach-front condo with two bedrooms and kitchenette, and had a lovely view.

The room was repainted, remodeled and clean-- you could still smell the new paint. This was a pleasure, since so many places in the Keys are quickly mildewy from all the humidity. The kitchen had all the necessaries so we could actually cook our meals without bothering to go to grocery store for a frying pan and a knife, and the furniture was clean and new.

The beachfront wasn't sandy and swimmable, unless you were jumping off the pier into the water. The resort didn't lend itself to young children, but we were all adults and loved it! The beach offered tables and chairs, shuffleboard, kayaks, and hammocks for relaxing. The pier was fishable if you weren't particular about what you were catching, and there were seashells to be examined in the shallow waters. There were also bicycles available at the front desk for tooling around town, which was especially convenient. The swimming pool was on the small side, but since it's such a small resort, we never ran into anyone else using it! It is chlorinated and not heated, and was very clean. Surrounded by a nice patio and green landscaping, yet blocked from the highway, it was a great spot to cool off.

La Jolla's location was definitely a perk-- it is in the center of Islamorada, within walking distance to shopping, dining and nightlife. It was exceptionally convenient, and we walked and bicycled everywhere as an adult family. There's nothing bad I can say about the entire place! The front desk staff offered us several great suggestions on restaurants and fishing guides, as well as places to visit.

Bottom line: skip the high-priced, hundred-occupancy places across the street. The La Jolla was quiet, convenient, and offered all the same amenities. Honestly, don't worry about the sandy beach: The Islander Resort across the street will let you use theirs as long as you order a couple of drinks at the bar!

Room Tip: Stay for four or more nights and get a discount!
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Beautiful place, unfortunately the owners and staff are like eagles watching you. Can't do anything without taking the chance of getting in trouble. Cute if I was a child but I am 34 years old. Not the type of place to just relax and feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennielaw2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

At the La Jolla Resort, we strive to make all of our guests' feel welcome and at home. In doing so, there are a couple of guidelines that we have to ensure that each of our guests will have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. One of which is particular to this case. We will not tolerate disruptive behavior at any time. If one of our guests is creating a raucous, we will remind them of our policy and ask them to please respect the rule for the privacy of our other guests. If it continues to be an issue, we will kindly ask the disruptive party to leave the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Bring your charcoal and lighter fluid, they have a cool BBQ pit to cook all the fish your gonna catch. Boat docks were perfect for our 19ft boat. Kind of a small ramp but the staff was eager to help. Loved leaving the boat in the water and felt secure the whole time(even left the electronics in the boat one night). Meet a lot of other hotel guest and I felt everybody was greatful to be there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrkash5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews