We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Value for your dollar!”
Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

LaJolla has amazing sunsets ! The rooms are clean and updated in an "old world florida charm". For the reasonable pricing you can go wrong, nicer rooms than the Hampton Inn for 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caribcatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

This jewel is located in the beautiful Florida Keys. The property overlooks the clear tourquois water of the florida bay. When we arrived the staff was so welcoming and helpful. When we opened the door to our room there were fresh flowers on the table. The suite itself was chaming with a breakfast bar in the kitchen and a table by the window overlooking the bay. The view from our waterfront room was spectacular. I felt relaxed right away!
I was in Islamorsda on business but I will be back to play!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We loved La Jolla from the moment we landed there. Upon arrival one is greeted with inviting lush tropical landscape followed by the friendly staff at check-in. While realxing by the pool or on the beautiful waterfront overlooking the gulf, the staff or possibly the owner may approach ensuring you're comfortable and enjoying your stay. Forget the tourist traps...this quiet retreat is quaint and welcoming to families as well as couples looking for a get-away! If you want to stay away from the craziness of Key West, this is your place, but it's also only about 85 miles away if you'd like to run down for a day trip. While my husband and I enjoyed an outstanding day fishing with Capt. Rick Murphy who picked us up at La Jolla's dock, they also have a boat ramp and dock so you can bring your boat to explore on your own. La Jolla is a place where you can relax, feel at home and where the staff makes you feel like family! We're already planning our next visit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mentalfloss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My girlfriend and I went down to fish with a friend of ours and we stayed at La Jolla. We loved it, the room was clean, the property was well maintained and it was super quiet. They made sure we had a clean room every day and also helped us with any questions that we had.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtmercer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We found La Jolla on a friend's recommendation and couldn't be more happy with it. Our room was large and well-appointed, the property is well-kept with beautiful and lush landscaping and the staff were all helpful and friendly. We loved the free use of bikes and kayaks and the location is ideal with all you need a short bike ride away. We enjoyed the amazing sunset on the bay and were thrilled there was no shortage of chairs down by the docks. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The La Jolla Resort was perfectly located in Islamorada on the Bay with incredible views
and sunsets. The rooms are the cleanest we have experienced in the keys.
The staff is very polite and accomodating.
We have visited Marathon and Key West for 25 years. We have found our
favorite destination
Great restaurants nearby, shopping, and key west is less than 2 hours away
for a day trip
Call Alan or Vicky, they will help you arrange a great room for a memorable
vacation
Larry
St Petersburg

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmsunstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

What a fantastic place to find. La Jolla appears from the highway as a stretch of palms and a circa-1950s style sign. Don't be fooled! The palms simply block all the highway noise from penetrating the compound, and while the buildings may be painted in bright retro tropical colors, they are newly remodeled and well-appointed. After a disastrous reservation at the under-construction and horribly rude Lime Tree Bay Resort, the staff at La Jolla was eager to please and accommodate. We got a beach-front condo with two bedrooms and kitchenette, and had a lovely view.

The room was repainted, remodeled and clean-- you could still smell the new paint. This was a pleasure, since so many places in the Keys are quickly mildewy from all the humidity. The kitchen had all the necessaries so we could actually cook our meals without bothering to go to grocery store for a frying pan and a knife, and the furniture was clean and new.

The beachfront wasn't sandy and swimmable, unless you were jumping off the pier into the water. The resort didn't lend itself to young children, but we were all adults and loved it! The beach offered tables and chairs, shuffleboard, kayaks, and hammocks for relaxing. The pier was fishable if you weren't particular about what you were catching, and there were seashells to be examined in the shallow waters. There were also bicycles available at the front desk for tooling around town, which was especially convenient. The swimming pool was on the small side, but since it's such a small resort, we never ran into anyone else using it! It is chlorinated and not heated, and was very clean. Surrounded by a nice patio and green landscaping, yet blocked from the highway, it was a great spot to cool off.

La Jolla's location was definitely a perk-- it is in the center of Islamorada, within walking distance to shopping, dining and nightlife. It was exceptionally convenient, and we walked and bicycled everywhere as an adult family. There's nothing bad I can say about the entire place! The front desk staff offered us several great suggestions on restaurants and fishing guides, as well as places to visit.

Bottom line: skip the high-priced, hundred-occupancy places across the street. The La Jolla was quiet, convenient, and offered all the same amenities. Honestly, don't worry about the sandy beach: The Islander Resort across the street will let you use theirs as long as you order a couple of drinks at the bar!

Room Tip: Stay for four or more nights and get a discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hwrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
9.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
624 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
636 reviews
2.7 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £148 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada
La Jolla Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing