We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!!!”
Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for the first time last week. We were DELIGHTED. It was perfect for what we were looking for. We wanted a small place, not too loud, busy, or crowded, with an "old Florida" feel. We were NOT disappointed. The great pictures and reviews are right on. Our room faced the water, it was clean, maid service was excellent, and the outside area was always kept spotless. We can't say enough about how great and helpful Scott was to us. We were celebrating an aniversary and it was all we wanted. I wouldn't change a thing. If you are looking for a nice, quaint, quiet, relaxing place to kick back, watch the sunsets, pelicans, fish, have a drink or two and enjoy life, this IS the place. We usually go to the Keys once a year, but have decided after finding La Jolla we will be going back twice a year. Thanks to Scott and his crew for a great, memorable trip!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and grab a unit closest to the water, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arkieinfla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Tucked in between palms and lush plants this little slice of paradise has beautiful views of Florida Bay. It is old Florida at its best - you feel like its 1966 but clean and cute with a flat screen tv. The staff is friendly and helpful. The "fitness center" offers a swimming pool or shuffleboard. The rooms are comfortable but some of the electrical outlets are in ackward spots. Great place to stop for a night or a week. Near the Lorelei Cabana Bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here with my family in 1966! Forty-seven years later, my brother and I decided to spend a couple of nights here along with our spouses. We both instantly recognized the room we had initially stayed in and many other memories were triggered. The paint colors have been changed, but otherwise La Jolla is the same as it was in the 1960s, and that is a good thing. It is peaceful, clean, and basic - you can sit on the bay and watch the boats and birds, you can swim in the pool, you can walk to excellent restaurants and bars in Islamorada, you can watch the sunset. The prices are right and the setting is what matters. Now that we have re-discovered, we plan to return regularly. A perfect stop on the way to Key West.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joduhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is such a great place to stay. It's in the middle of everything, yet it's still quiet. This was our 5th time staying at La Jolla and we can't wait to go back next year!! Our room had a queen bed and small kitchen which was perfect for the 3 of us. The pool was just big enough for us to enjoy. They provided us with a pack and play for our 17 month old which was already setup when we checked it. (We've had to put it together anywhere else we've stayed.) Scott and the staff made us feel like family during our 10 day vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyG19960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

La Jolla Resort in Islamorada, Florida is a hidden jewel. Buildings and rooms are old but extremely clean and very comfortable. Ours had 2 queen sized beds and a small kitchen with large fridge, 4 burner electric stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, dishes, and pots and pans. The A.C. worked great, as the weather was hot and steamy. The grounds are meticulously cared for but difficult to navigate pulling a boat and trailer due to tight quarters. There is a small boat landing and slips for up to 5 boats. Our boat is a 16 foot Back Country flats boat which launched quite easily and the trailer was stored in a secure area. Resort staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating. The complex manager actually offered, without our asking, to launch our boat for us. Located on the gulf side of the Overseas Highway, the sunsets were beautiful and even at low tide there was plenty of water to get to our fishing spots.

For guests not wanting to cook, there are plenty of places to eat and party less than a mile both north and south of the resort. A great bait store was actually within walking distance of our room. Room prices were very reasonable, adding value to our stay. Don't hesitate to give the place a try. We're sure to be return guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snookcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and two of her friends had a short trip to the Keys. LA Jolla was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. This is Old Florida at I know it growing up. The room was clean and well cared for. Nothing spectacular but comfortable and safe. We were given a room with double beds and a small kitchenette. The bathroom was decent size and the shower was big enough. The only caveat is if you plan to do a lot of cooking it might be wise to bring along a few more pots/pans and dishes. The kitchen was stocked but limited to a few pans and one or two pots. It is very well located to fishing, food and shops. I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a good value in the middle Keys.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lajollaresort, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for the nice review, happy to hear you were pleased with the resort. In response to your comment about pots and pans we just wanted to let you know that we just put the basics in the kitchens however we do have a plethora of pots and pans at our office so on your next stay please feel free to come get whatever pots, pans, dishes, glasses or small appliances you may need from our front desk attendant. We also have irons, ironing boards, hairdryers, toothbrushes and most anything else you might need during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

A great place to relax and enjoy the Keys! Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet! The view was incredible and I loved the small family feel, we sat outside in the evening watching the sunset chatting with other guests. We used the kayaks and loved the pool! Great location, I can't wait to go back again!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank flyerspac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,387 reviews
9.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
423 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
636 reviews
2.7 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £161 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada
La Jolla Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing