We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly Keys motel”
Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
medford, nj
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly Keys motel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at La Jolla the week after Easter. Our group consisted of three families. We choose La Jolla based on many of the reviews we read here on Tripadvisor. We, also, choose La Jolla for the affordability, the fishing pier and the free bikes, kayaks and paddle boards.

We loved this motel, and that is what it is a motel. No restaurant, no tiki bar, no room service...but so relaxing, well kept, and friendly. The sunsets from the beach(gulf side) were beautiful. We loved the free bikes, kayaks and paddle boards. It was so nice not to spend $50 to go paddle around whenever you felt like it. The bikes were plentiful, and in good condition. We swam and lounged in rafts off the dock. I will agree I would prefer a sandy, walk in beach but that is hard and expensive to come by in the Keys. There are restaurants within walking or biking distance from La Jolla. Great breakfast and lunch place Mangrove Mike's right next to La Jolla.

Scott and his wife who manage the motel are awesome. If you need something just ask or you might not even have to ask. The first night we were there, we were sitting outside our friend's room and the other family arrived. Scott came over carrying some extra patio chairs without us asking him. He takes pride in the property, and wants his guests to have a relaxing Keys experience. This is not a resort vacation...and I do love a resort vacation. This is a true, relaxing, I don't need to blow dry my hair vacation...after the winter we had in New Jersey it was exactly what I wanted and needed!

I will return to La Jolla. Definitely, the rooms closer to the water are more desirable. To those who have had some negative reviews, I would suggest if you need something ask. This is not a chain resort...but you would be surprised how happy you might be with a smile and a question.

Room Tip: If you can, spend the extra money and get a room closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your honest and thoughtful review. Four our of five ain't bad, we will take that! We look forward to having your and your family back at La Jolla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    85
    22
    16
    15
See reviews for
87
125
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in march 2014. The grounds have become dilapidated at best. The second most expensive room had white stains on couches, the kitchen swarminhgwith ants after leaving soda in the sink while we were at supper. The microwave was something out of a horror movie. The ceilings were industrial panelling like you see in an office building or a school. The fold out couch is some sort of torture device, your car is a better sleeping option than this. there is no night staff, or security now so you get people partying and drinking all night, especially near the premium ocean front rooms, i lost track after 2am. the staff was rude and, they are not courteous to the customer. I have been to the islamorada over 25 times in the past 10 years this is by far the WORST experience i ever have had. I dont mind roughing it, however when you spend what we spent... If you are considering staying here and have reached this point in my review. THEN YOU DESERVE BETTER. Note, the management will respond to this review and discount what im saying is not true. However it is. Try breezy palms in islamorada as a similar alternative however much larger and consistent rooms. Thx for reading god bless.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DecentTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
This review an attempt by disgruntled guest who was removed from La Jolla Resort in the middle of the night by Monroe County Sheriff's Department because of his obnoxious and rude behavior. He is the only guest who has ever been removed since the current management has been in place which is since August 2011.

While we are sorry for his family that was removed with him we had to make sure our other guests were comfortable and vacations were not disrupted. Sorry that anyone has to read this, please feel free to take a look at our rooms and grounds anytime, there are present pictures on our website and our facebook page posted by many of our happy guests. We always strive to give our guests the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our group consisted of 4 ladies on a girls weekend getaway. After spending 3 nights in Key West we were looking for somewhere easygoing and relaxing to spend a couple of days at. La Jolla was just right. Our room had two full sized beds and a trundle with two twins. There was also a small kitchenette. The bathroom was designed well with a bench space to put all of our bathroom items on and not feel like we were on top of each other. We also shared a porch with 2 other rooms, which worked out just fine. We didn't spend any time at the pool, but it looked like a nice area. Down by the water, they had several docks which would be nice if traveling with a boat. They also had several tables set up, lounge chairs, shuffle board and other items you can use such as kayaks and snorkeling gear. We spent most of our time down by the water and were pleased with the set up. Keep in mind, there is not a true beach here, but they have made a relaxing space by the water.

I would definitely stay here again. The price was right for the amenities offered and the cleanliness of the whole resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GR-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Clean and friendly with a helpful staff. This gem is old Florida Keys at its best. Great dock to fish off of, kayaks are free to use. We enjoyed our stay greatly! Will be back for sure... The manager Scott works hard to keep the place spotless!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your pleasant review. We wish all of our guest were so kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etoile, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room was clean but certainly overpriced for what you got - antiquated, toilet barely flushed,unfriendly & unhelpful desk clerk. Had to ask for coffee packs and were given one cup packs for use in full sized coffee maker. I have never stayed in a motel where you had to agree to a $25 charge if you did not wash the dishes - two cups,two glasses and abcoffee pot. These people are spoiled by too much tourist demand.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blshutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We at La Jolla are certainly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. We have never had any complaints about the amount of coffee we give our guests and certainly would have provided you with more if you asked.

As far as the rates go for our rooms the unit you stayed in was $149 per night which is very reasonable for the a room with a king size bed in Islamorada. We base our rates on the rates charged by other resorts in the area that offer the same amenities.

The notice that we will charge $25 to those who leave dirty dishes in our rooms is meant for the units that offer full kitchens this notice did not apply to you and we regret that that was not explained to you better.

If someone on our staff was rude to you we would ask that you contact us and let us know who that staff member was, we really care about our guests and understand that vacations are important and want everyone to enjoy their vacation with us. Our email address is reservations@lajollaresort.com.

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roann, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at the beautiful La Jolla the last week in February. The peaceful, relaxed atmosphere settled over us as we first entered the driveway. Scott and his staff were very accommodating, the grounds well kept, and the buildings nicely painted in old Florida colors. The rooms were clean and dozy, but not fancy. The price was a bargain in an expensive community.r
Thanks, Scott, we will be back
Gary and Frankie

Room Tip: Full kitchen saved us money on our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryandFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth C, Manager at La Jolla Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thanks Gary and Frankie we look forward to having you at La Jolla again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We had so much fun at La Jolla Resort! Scott at the front desk was kind and very accommodating. He had great suggestions for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We kayaked, snorkeled and relaxed at the dock. It was truly one of the most relaxing, carefree stay we have had in all our travels. The rooms are comfortable and cute. The whole resort has a cool, funky vibe to it. Very clean, lots of beautiful plants!! I would recommend this resort to all!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank schubie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,303 reviews
1.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.9 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Property: La Jolla Resort
Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada
La Jolla Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing