We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, clean comfortable room in a quite location.”
Review of La Jolla Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Jolla Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2010

My husband and I took our yearly vacation down to The Keys. We decided to stay at The La Jolla after we saw the advertisement on the Florida Fishing Report and Sportsman Adventures with Captain Rick Murphy. And it couldn't have been a better choice.

The staff was wonderful. The manager Alan was so helpful. As well as the front desk staff. They were always willing to give suggestions for food or things to do during our stay.

We did not bring our boat this time but plan to in the future. While fishing from the dock, we did get the opportunity to met Capt. Rick Murphy,when he came in from a charter.

Thank you La Jolla.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canyongirl51078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

A classic Motel. Great location Wonderful front desk,Clean will come again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoremore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

What a wonderful old time Keys Resort! We are locals from Big Pine Key. Wanted to go to Islamorada for bowling and shopping. Decided to stay for the weekend. Researched through Trip Advisor and decided on La Jolla. Stayed in Unit D as there was to be 6 of us. There turned out to be only 4 that made the weekend. But what a great resort. Directly on the gulf side. Immaculately clean. Unit D has two bedrooms each with their own bath and full kitchen. Faced the lovely beach area and gulf. Nice chairs to sit out and relax and even has a brick barbecue you can use. We didn't get a chance to use pool as it was a cool weekend (November 5th-7th). The pool is rather small and near the entrance but it is hidden away with nice tropical landscaping. I really cannot say enough about how nice this resort was. The only downside with Unit D is that if you did have 6 people (it advertises can sleep 7 people - queen sofa bed and twin sleeper chair in living room) the people who sleep in the living room have to walk through one of the bedrooms to get to a bathroom. There is no direct access from the living room to any bathroom. But as we ended up with only 4 people - it was not a problem. The kitchen was well stocked - even down to dish soap. If you want to experience a Keys vacation as it used to be.... this is the place to go. Forgot to mention - bring your boat! There is boat dockage right out in front. Definitely plan to go again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattitudeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I was for a weekend with my 6 years son for weekend in Islamorada. We got so great time, that he didn't want to leave. He was playing on the beach or in the pool. We got a great view on the ocean and rooms were spacious. I must mention the manager and girl on the frontdesk, they were very helpful and nice. WE COMING DEFINITELLY BACK NEXT MONTHS. See you at La Jolla !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANYBANY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I have no idea where the other reviewers stayed because this was a great little resort. The rooms are all painted in bright colours, with unique room decors bright and spotless, with two queen beds, bathroom, kitchette with huge fridge, outside each room wicker sofa and chairs on the balcony. In the garden a nice swimming pool, ocean deck with boat docking, picnic huts, sunbeds, hammocks. The receptionist could not have been more friendly, she gave us bikes to ride along the path and a fishing rod, we caught some great fish right off the dock - all within the excellent value rate. I would definitely recommend staying here, right in the centre of the beautiful key of Islamorada - also very close to locals bar Lori lee which is also recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyred50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Small quaint hotel with a great location on the Bay side with docks and thier own boat ramp. Staff is friendly and helpful with launching your boat into the bay and willing to share local knowledge about thewaterways.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Nice enough spot by the sea with a jetty to fish off, hammock & loungers. The staff are pleasant.

The main negative is the price which represented poor value for money. However, we found that accommodation in the upper keys to be overpriced in general.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussy_bear2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
2.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
9.2 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
635 reviews
2.7 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Jolla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Resort

Address: 82216 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £145 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Jolla Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bayfront Islamorada Resort featuring efficiencies and apartments within walking & biking distance to all of Islamorada's top shopping, nightlife and dining. Our guests also enjoy FREE use of our kayaks, paddleboards and bicycles during their stay. Whether you are looking for a quiet island retreat or want to experience all Islamorada has to offer on the water or off, it all begins at La Jolla Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Jolla Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Hotel Islamorada
La Jolla Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing