We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My little family's absolute favorite spot in Islamorada!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pines and Palms Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deerfield Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My little family's absolute favorite spot in Islamorada!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Pines and Palms. What's not to fall head over heels, in love with? I took my boyfriend there on a surprise birthday vacation back in August 2010 (after taking him to Chuck-e-cheese for his fake birthday party lol) and we were both so pleased with this gem! The ocean view pool is a great spot to hang out in after snorkeling off the dock, checking out the beautiful variety of ocean life just under the docks. We admit, we hogged the hammock but we couldn't help it! The breeze coming off the Atlantic at night is just magic! The rooms are equipped with fully functioning kitchennettes so cooking breakfast and eating on the porch is a favorite option for us. The rooms are so cozy and clean...no generic furnishings here. Old world Keys style done with just enough understated class. The Keys Cat on property named Lucy literally followed us around at night, cuddling on the hammock or dock with us. My boyfriend, who is not a huge fan of cats, fell in love with her immediately. Our recent vacation over fourth of July weekend of this year, we brought my 5-years old daughter, who had seen pictures of our romantic getaway and made is promise to bring her along this summer. She had the best time! We booked the oceanfront suite this year and she claimed the sunroom with a couch as "HER" room and woke up to the sunset every morning, watching the groundsmen comb the sand. We requested BBQ grills and stayed on property for the majority of our time. We consider Pines and Palms our little slice of paradise. To our dismay we learned that Lucy is no longer and we were very sad. But we hear there is a new addition kitten and even though we have yet to see it, we will be sure to bring the treats for her next time. Pines and Palms...we cannot thank you for making our summer every year, no fail! We are so fortunate to be in South Florida and hope to make it back up for lobster season during off-season for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellzBellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    164
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
150
329
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for hour nights as base for some activities in the lower and middle keys. It is close to a lot of good restaurants and marinas for fishing. It is an easy to drive to some interesting nature spots. It is good for relaxing in a chair or on of the docks. Beyond that, if you are looking for a beach or do not smoke, I would not recommend it. Our room was stuck between the rooms of smokers on each side of us. We could not use our "porch area" to sit and relax, eat, or drink because of the smoke from our neighbors when they were outside. The smoke would also filter in under the door and presumably through small opening around the window. I have traveled extensively in Asia and Europe so am pretty use to being around smokers, but this was very disappointing given that it really limited our use of the space outside our room.

The staff was not able to accommodate our request for another room because of their occupancy rate during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MangoverdeCVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Hi All,

This review is horribly overdue as I stayed at Pines and Palms with two girlfriends back at the end of March for a two night quick getaway from Miami. Rooms were clean and spacious and the kitchen area was very well equipped. Worth stocking up on your drinks etc. at the Publix in Key Largo when you are en route. Plenty of parking was available and the bicycle rental ($5/day I think?) was invaluable for getting about and visiting the various restaurants in the area without having to inflict sobriety on the designated driver. The receptionist was very helpful with suggestions of things to do - ideas were forced on us; suggestions were only offered when asked. What we found really useful was the list of recommended restaurants (with descriptions) which was offered to us at check in - we treated this as a bible. The pool area was perfectly pleasant, although we didn't actually use it. Don't expect a beach - there is a sandy area with deckchairs on, but this is more of a pathway and any sea swimming is from the docks, which have steps into the sea. The sea is also very shallow - so more of a "bobbing around and gossiping" experience (in our case!) than swimming. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the quality of the room, the pleasant staff and the location. Value for money was good so far as the keys was concerned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The rooms are average at best. There is no beach no matter what the site says. This is a nice place if you are fishing and aren't particular about an outdated room. There were fish parts floating all around the place since you clean your fish right at the "beach".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe7954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We visited Pines and Palms the end of March. It was our first time to the Keys, and I had spent many hours researching places to stay prior to going. We stayed the first 3 nights in one of the smaller 1 bedroom units and then headed down for 4 days in Key West. We ended up coming back a day early to stay our last night here. Our last night was spent in the larger 2 bedroom condo. No, this is not the most luxurious place you can stay, but, it delivers exactly what you see. A comfortable, clean place to stay on the beach. The atmosphere was absolute paradise. I have been on many trips, to many beach locations, and this is as close to "paradise" as I have ever been. Wether walking around the immaculate grounds, having a drink by the pool, lounging on the deck or sitting in the chairs at the end of the dock. There is no entertainment, there is no excitement. What there is, is total relaxation. At one point, we commented to each other that it seems like there are things we should be thinking about, but, our brains don't seem to be working. Just pure contentment and relaxation. We were in the Keys to dive, which we did every day. So we really didn't need much "excitement". I would not recommend this for families with children looking to be entertained. But, for adults who are looking for a place to unwind, it just doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: the smaller rooms are adequate, but the condo was absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This little quiet resort was just what we were looking for. From kayaking to Indian Key to snorkeling off the dock. Some reviewers say the rooms are out dated but you will be in the Keys so what are you doing inside? Loved this place and will go back again but I will bring my boat and take advantage of the free docking and boat ramp.

Room Tip: Small cabin closest to the water. I think it is number 10. Private and Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We wanted to say that we had yet another great stay @ Pines & Palms - we just love this place! We had Bonefish Villa #26, and there were 3 of us staying there & it was perfect. We cooked dinner in 3 nights & ate out only 2 nights - so convenient! The unit is huge, well stocked with pretty much everything you could think of including it's own washer/drywer!!!! The view off of the balcony was just amazing......totally worth moving from our beloved ocean front cottages for. Management & staff as always were wonderful....our friend that was with us (who had never been here before) can't wait to come back again as well....he now suffers from the "keys disease" that we caught years ago! Thank you again to everyone @ P&P......we'll be back again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,412 reviews
3.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
4.0 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
700 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines and Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines and Palms Resort

Property: Pines and Palms Resort
Address: 80401 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pines and Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages and Suites from 1 to 3 bedrooms in a village-like tropical setting on the Atlantic Ocean in Islamorada. All accommodations come with a full kitchen and free dockage if you bring or rent a boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pines and Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines And Palms Hotel Islamorada
Pines And Palms Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing