We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pines and Palms Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I strongly disagree with the ho hum review of July 10. We stayed in the same group of rooms and yes the bathroom is tiny but you are not having a party in there, it's a shower and a toilet. The sink is outside of the washroom. Sure it is cosmetically old however it is a very clean resort. The pool area was fine. Not sure what the complaint was, perhaps the palms on the grounds weren't ambiance enough. The fence gates at the pool were replaced during our visit just a few days after the other review was posted.

I like this resort for its calm. The resort next door seemed to host the party crowd and the screaming kids. This is a nice relaxed place. Ana and her staff are amazing.

My only complaint is the air conditioning, it is a constant noise and when it does shut off you can hear the other units.

It is in a great location, nice view of the ocean and the action on the water. No charge for boat dockage - hard to find that in the Keys.

Keep up the great work Ana, we will be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank diggerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    161
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
142
324
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at Pines and Palms for 4 nights. First the good. Location, location, location! Right on the water, and even though our cabin, number 19 was set back a bit on the property, we still had a little table and chairs to have our coffee and see the ocean. The staff was lovely, helpful, with terrific suggestions, friendly. The room was spotlessly clean, and fresh beach towels were a available when ever you needed. Every day their ground crew was out keeping the property well groomed and tidy. The kitchenette was nicely stocked. Good air conditioner in bed room for a good nights sleep, very comfy bed.
What I didn't like. While our cabin was more than roomy for our needs, the bathroom desperately needed updating. The fiberglass tub surround was cracked, with a big hole at the spigot, and it was tiny, tiny. My husband and I are not big people, but it was the kind of tiny where you have to carefully side step the toilet to get in, and the walls were a very 1980 dated sponge painting. The sink area could have used better lighting and a bigger mirror. Cheap toiletries.
The pool and bar area really needs a makeover. It wasn't even good retro, just old. Outdated chain link fence, concrete bar area, not much ambience. There was an extra charge for the bikes and kayaks. There was not a walk in beach, and I realize that many areas in the keys are like this, but if that is the case, then the pool needs to be more special.
Why am I being so picky? I felt like what I was paying for was too much for what we got. Either keep the fees the same and start doing some much needed cosmetic surgery, or lower the fees and leave it as is. For some folks, my complaints won't resonate, because the thinking is how much are you in the room anyway. But our group wanted to just hang out at the resort for a while and not go anywhere, and then you do spend time in your room and at the pool.
So if all those complaints don't seem important, Pines and Palms is the place for you.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed in an ocean view suite for six nights. The resort is well maintained and the suite was clean with a open plan lounge/kitchen with TV, large fridge, microwave, cooker etc. There is also a TV in the bedroom should you find the time to watch it! The pool is warm and clean and the addition of a pool bar is a great asset- Happy Hour 4-6 every day. There is a wide range of beer and cocktails as well as a very extensive wine list which you can have delivered to your room. They would also supply a BBQ if you wanted. The staff really are terrific and on two separate occasions we were going out for the evening and they offered us a lift to the restaurant instead of a taxi - this was definitely above and beyond. When you check in they provide a long list of local restaurants which is very handy. The only thing that was a slight negative was the air con unit in the bedroom - it was very efficient and kept the place lovely and cool but it was very noisy! We did get used to it but think it may need updated soon. Overall, the resort has a laid back feel and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite was good size etc -a/c unit efficient but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinkyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Me and my girlfriend have "escaped" Miami to stay at Pines and Palms around 7 or 8 times in the last 3/4 years. We love the fact that although it's only 1h30 away, it is really "another world"... quiet, pretty and romantic. Staying in a room that faces the water without having dozens or hundreds of other guests running around is our kind of holidays.
We love to be able to cook in our room or in the BBq outside, and just walk to the pier to watch the stars at night.
However, this last time that we went, for my girlfriend's birthday, we were surprised...because Pines and Palms looked even nicer than before! The landscaping had improved further, and overall it seemed like the hotel had just been built as new.
If we add to that the fact that Ana, the manager, and all the staff is just impeccable with all our needs... I would say that we will surely return many times to this wonderful place.
By the way, it was full moon , too!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniTuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Pines and Palms is definetly a hidden gem on Islamorada. Had a great stay in a cottage room, wth a nice view of the Atlantic. The staff are remarkable and friendly. The grounds were beautiful, quiet and very relaxing. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage #3 and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tonykolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great cottage room! Beautiful sunrise. The only downfall was the a/c unit unit over the bed & it was loud! We went when it was not SO hot, so we turned it off at night. Loved having a full size refrig! Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Pines and Palms was recommended to me by my brother (who did the landscaping) and I'm so grateful he did! It was actually pretty hard to find the right place to stay. Lots places in the upper keys are either very dated and not well kept or very fancy with a hefty price attached. But this place is a gem! It was quaint, very simple and clean, quiet, and the staff was so nice. They treated us like friends as opposed to strangers and also made great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The bar on property was just for P&P guests so you got a lot of face time with the bartender, who was a very cool guy. We had the most fantastic cottage right on the beach. We woke up to views of the beautiful ocean, sandy beach, palm trees and and a hammock. Life was good. I highly recommend this place. It's definitely worth it!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines and Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines and Palms Resort

Property: Pines and Palms Resort
Address: 80401 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pines and Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages and Suites from 1 to 3 bedrooms in a village-like tropical setting on the Atlantic Ocean in Islamorada. All accommodations come with a full kitchen and free dockage if you bring or rent a boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pines and Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines And Palms Hotel Islamorada
Pines And Palms Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing