We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pines and Palms Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Like stepping back to the 50s but with all mod cons. The collection of wooden bungalows on a shale lane leading to the sea give this place a Motel feel but the colours, decor and manicured grounds ensure the place oozes Floridian character. We stayed in an ocean viewing bungalow which had its own kitchen. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom small but ok and the kitchenette had everything we needed when we stayed in and cooked. The Pool area was nice (although personally I would ditch the white wire fencing to give an uninterrupted view of the sea.) There is a nice pool bar with friendly staff and daily happy hour. The jetties offer a lovely place to sit and watch the nurse sharks swim by. We rented sea kayaks and went up the coastline one day which is highly recommended. We had considered chicca lodge and visited it on our kayak trip - chicca lodge is much more of a resort than pines and palms with numerous bars, a big pool, restaurant and expansive grounds, whereas pines and palms has a 'family run' feel which we much preferred. The only slight criticism I would have, and it is slight, is that you can hear the road a little bit from your veranda but islamorada is narrow and I bet you can hear it at all resorts - it also quitters down in the evening and during the day we were either at the beach or out so it didn't bother us at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OliviaThrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    158
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
140
319
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level Contributor
384 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our holiday, and enjoyed our room, cabin 1, with bathroom and kitchenette by the swimming pool and shore. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, the air con efficient and the kitchenette is reasonably equipped with cooker, microwave, fridge etc and there were complementary coffee bags. The bathroom is old fashioned but the shower is fine, plenty of soft towels and the usual products. Along the shore are sun beds and tables and chairs. There are two jetties to moor boats and seats at the end. The swimming pool is average size and also has sunbeds around and a small drinks bar, open 4 - 8. There is ample parking away from the cabins. Staff are pleasant and Ana was helpful in arranging a late check out for us. The price is average for the islands, but it is expensive for what it is, 350 dollars a day. For that I think they need to give a bit more 'value' ie a welcome pack, replace products etc. But it is very pretty and relaxing on the ocean side of the Keys. Go to the wonderful Midway cafe 500 metres up the road for breakfast, all candy colours and murals, with really delicious food, great coffee and an excellent bakery.

Room Tip: The cottage size varies so ask for one near the shore and check the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

At first I thought that the room would be too tight for a family of 5, but it worked out fine. Great to be able to access a tidy part of the sea front with 2 jetties and a pool, the kids had fun spinning for barracudas.

Rooms were kept clean, the kitchenette was fine for breakfast, easy parking, my only negative comment is that the beds in our room had seen better days!

Room Tip: Book early to get a seafront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florida_rosbif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay very much! Stayed in cabin 9, closest to the water. Workers at the office were invariably kind and helpful. The place has everything necessary for a low-key vacation...near the shore, in a location with easy access to outings like kayaking, fishing, snorkeling, etc. Nearby restaurants are are great. Small pool and bar at the water's edge make it unnecessary to ever leave.

Cabin itself was clean and comfortable, though somewhat simple. Included a basic kitchen, bathroom with shower, and a small living room with cable TV. Small patio looked out at the shore, with a beautiful view of the sunrise every morning. Cabin even included two bikes.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MergesTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My first time to write a review but my third time at this classic Keys Resort! Once again everything was perfect. Our cottage and the entire resort was fresh and spotless, as usual, due to the constant presence of the owners as well as the extremely attentive staff. Great value for the money. I'll be back next year. The pool is great!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We recently stayed here for a couple of nights on a trip to Islamorada, Key West, and Miami. This was easily our favorite place. The cottages were charming, sizable, and very well-kept. The beach was quiet, and I loved being able to walk just a few feet and be right at the ocean every morning. The king size bed was also the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Everyone was very friendly, and we're planning on coming back here every winter!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikitaJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent 5 nights at this simple, down to earth friendly resort with its own docks and a welcome heated pool! With pelicans greeting us every morning as we watched the sunrise to the sounds of the palm trees bursting with coconuts whistled in the breeze! We had a suite with kitchen and a small living space which was just perfect! We shall return!

Room Tip: The cottages on the beach are small but worth it as there's just the hammock between you and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
3.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
4.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines and Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines and Palms Resort

Property: Pines and Palms Resort
Address: 80401 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pines and Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages and Suites from 1 to 3 bedrooms in a village-like tropical setting on the Atlantic Ocean in Islamorada. All accommodations come with a full kitchen and free dockage if you bring or rent a boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pines and Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines And Palms Hotel Islamorada
Pines And Palms Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing