We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, friendly staff & totally relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pines and Palms Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super clean, friendly staff & totally relaxing”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was our 1st visit and we loved it. We stayed in a one bedroom with full kitchen unit. It was clean, comfortable bed, great pillows and laid back. They had barbeques which was nice. The other guests had been regulars for many years. It was our first time visiting the keys. Key West was too touristy. We loved Islamorada and would stay at Pines & Palms again. I saw a review that said the place was dirty. There is no way they could have stayed there. This resort is immaculate and very quaint.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    163
    37
    17
    12
See reviews for
147
329
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stated in the duplex cottage. It was so cute. The staff went out of the way to make it special for Valentines day & for my boyfriends birthday. The shower was so tiny we barely fit, but that's the only complaint. The front porch was nice to sit out and have breakfast. The grounds were so comfortable. I would love to return here. Definitely one of my favorite places we have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karye m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

... and, on the whole, we agree after spending a recent week at Pines and Palms. First the good stuff: The location, at Mile Marker 80, is exceptionally convenient to most of the Florida Keys' attractions, with a wide variety of excellent restaurants and shopping choices close by. The resort is small, with only about 25 units, and while it's just off the main highway the feeling is quiet, cozy solitude. The staff is chipper and helpful, especially during happy hour around the pool. The bartender also operates a fishing charter, and one highlight of our trip was a morning catching yellowtail snapper which he deftly filleted at the dock. (Then head over to the Lorelei Restaurant where they will be delighted to fry up your catch for an unforgettable lunch.) The suites are spacious (except the bathrooms -- see below) and well appointed, albeit somewhat dated (the original buildings date back to the 1930's). There are plans to open an on-site restaurant within a year, but frankly there are so many excellent dining choices nearby (including a great place for breakfast within a short walk) that we didn't miss it. Less good: The bathroom in our suite (#20) was TINY, and for some reason the swimming pool is heated year-round so on a day when the air temperature is 85, the pool feels like bathwater.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay,Ontario,Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This year marks our 8th stay at the Pines & Palms and all I can say is diddo! I am a 35 year veteran from the RCAF and my wife is a retired medical doctor and we just love it down there. I've read through a lot of tripadvisor comments and value the inputs very much but have learned to take some of them with a grain of salt. It seems if one little thing is wrong everything else is covered under the same brush. You can not please all of the people all of the time. The Pines & Palms is a quite, laid back keys resort and is advertised as such.What you see on their web site is what you get. If you want the Hyatt Regency I would suggest that is where you should book. This resort is clean, very well managed and the owner or the manager are always available for questions. The staff are very efficient and courteous and the grounds are impeccably clean as is with the heated pool. They even have a small bar at poolside with limited drinks and beer. What more could you ask for? The area also has a wide variety of restaurants to choose from or you can BBQ at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Pines and Palms is smelly, old and just plain terible. We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse that had both peeling paint and wallpaper. Mold was prevalent in the bath. Linens were cheap and old. The pool was heated in the 80's. The pool area had no bathrooms so when nature called you hiked back to your room. The supposed bar by the pool was a joke. We tried to move but no rooms were avaiable in Islamorada. Before I would stay here again I would camp in my car!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne021948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandpowner, Owner at Pines and Palms Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
This mean spirited review is a mystery to me and our entire staff. We have lodged a complaint with TripAdvisor. Nothing in this review is true other than the fact that we do not have public bathrooms at the swimming pool.

We met these people, checked on them frequently and took good care of them during their visit. Upon leaving, they said they enjoyed their stay, paid their bill without complaint and smiled when they left.

Please take a moment to read the many positive reviews of our property. We average a very high 4.5 out of 5 stars on TripAdvisor and received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award for 2013. We were also recently named the Upper Keys Lodging Property of the Year awarded by the Lodging Association of the Florida Keys.

If you have any questions about any of these reviews, or questions about the resort, please call me and I would be glad to discuss.

Jim Bernardin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remsenburg, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I found Palms and Pines in Islamorada online and didn't know what to expect. We had been to Key West before but wanted to see what the other keys were like and were hoping to find a laid-back place on the water. From the minute we drove in, it exceeded every expectation. The cottages are charming, well-apointed (ours had a living room, kitchen, and bedroom) and comfortable. The grounds are meticulous and lushly landscaped with palms and flowering plants. The staff was very friendly and helpful and their restaurant suggestions were the best. Loved relaxing around the pool or reading on the beach, a few feet from the ocean. In addition to the cottages, they have a private home and a couple of condos that would be perfect for a family getaway. We had booked another place farther east on the Keys since we were exploring, and hated to leave. Next time, we'll spend a week there.

Room Tip: Book a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Like stepping back to the 50s but with all mod cons. The collection of wooden bungalows on a shale lane leading to the sea give this place a Motel feel but the colours, decor and manicured grounds ensure the place oozes Floridian character. We stayed in an ocean viewing bungalow which had its own kitchen. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom small but ok and the kitchenette had everything we needed when we stayed in and cooked. The Pool area was nice (although personally I would ditch the white wire fencing to give an uninterrupted view of the sea.) There is a nice pool bar with friendly staff and daily happy hour. The jetties offer a lovely place to sit and watch the nurse sharks swim by. We rented sea kayaks and went up the coastline one day which is highly recommended. We had considered chicca lodge and visited it on our kayak trip - chicca lodge is much more of a resort than pines and palms with numerous bars, a big pool, restaurant and expansive grounds, whereas pines and palms has a 'family run' feel which we much preferred. The only slight criticism I would have, and it is slight, is that you can hear the road a little bit from your veranda but islamorada is narrow and I bet you can hear it at all resorts - it also quitters down in the evening and during the day we were either at the beach or out so it didn't bother us at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OliviaThrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,350 reviews
3.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.1 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pines and Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines and Palms Resort

Property: Pines and Palms Resort
Address: 80401 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pines and Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages and Suites from 1 to 3 bedrooms in a village-like tropical setting on the Atlantic Ocean in Islamorada. All accommodations come with a full kitchen and free dockage if you bring or rent a boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pines and Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines And Palms Hotel Islamorada
Pines And Palms Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing