We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Breezy Palms Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great location but our room was dirty. As soon as we arrived we had to go to reception to request that the cushions on the plastic chairs be replaced as they were so stained and dirty. After further inspection, we once again went to reception to complain about the lack of cleanliness in the room and requested to be moved to another room but they were full, so that was not going to happen.
In the fridge there was human hair. I felt that the cleaners must have cleaned the bathroom and then the fridge with the same cloth! The reception lady came to the room to see for herself.
We pointed out to her the cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, the patio plastic table and two chairs that were so dirty that they were replaced. We never sat on the two seats at the dining table as they were filthy. Around the door handles, door jams and light switches they looked as though they had not been cleaned for a long time. The reception lady tried to do some cleaning for us, but she only scratched the surface. We left two days earlier than we had planned and moved to another hotel. We stayed there over New Year 2013/14 and were charged top dollar for the privilege of putting up with the dirtiest room we have ever stayed in! They took more care of the grounds than they did of our room. It's an older property but that is not an excuse for the lack of cleanliness. Believe me, we are not wingers or complainers, but this was so bad I felt I had to make a comment.

Room Tip: Don't book a small efficiency room. the others could be OK?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Breezy Palms is a small and cozy hotel. Hubby and I went for the weekend. Free WiFi and free parking. Outback Steakhouse is within walking distance - not even a 5 minute walk! Outdoor grills on beach are perfect to use during the afternoon. Room was VERY CLEAN and nicely decorated. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 954hurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went to the Breezy Palms again, and next year we will stay a full month. This is such a relaxing old fashioned place. The weather was perfect, 80-85 and nice balmy breezes. We stayed in our old room. The big fat orange iguana, who I have named Creamsicle, was at his post overseeing the docks again, as were the beautiful snowy egrets and other tropical birds.There are lots of friendly critters here, very cheerful, and you can watch the ocean fish swimming around down at the docks, or go snorkeling on the reef which is right behind Breezy. We went bridge fishing, and also to Key West for a day, but mostly just lazed around in the sunshine with a beverage and a smile. This is an older property: if you want a yuppiola type place, go a few doors down. For a very reasonable price, you get a nice clean room and a kitchen, and a nice pool which is very clean, and gorgeous views, and proximity to fishing, and NO ice storms or snow storms. Our experience with the staff here has been always good, they have been very helpful and polite always. The cleaning staff is very competent, our rooms were kept very nicely. We have always experienced the Breezy Palms as being very quiet and relaxing. I have nothing but good things to say about this place, and also that we will go back next year for a month, and are looking forward to it very much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

however the desk staff are incompetent, and make you feel like you made mistakes not them. Yes the manager is rude , ignorant, incompetent and frankly should not be in this business. The cleaning and ground staff were GREAT. Smoke detector kept going off since it was in the doorway of the bathroom. At the end or our stay, ants moved in, the bug type ants. Yes the place is old, and beds should be replaced, so should the stove. But it was clean, peaceful and a really good place to holiday in. I hope the owners will can the manager. I added poor for service because of the manager, and does not reflect on the others.

Room Tip: NEVER complain to the manager... just post on trip advisor... Take a hotle room not the bungalos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chameaublanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

If you want to experience being in a mental hospital from the 40 next to erractic people, this is the place to be! Breeze Palms does not look bad by the outside, and the marina is ok. But wait until you try their hard and stiff mattress and I am not talking orthopedic I mean cheap quality mattress. You are better of on the floor "but" the rooms are not clean either with the smell of a cheap motel and do not there to complain! you will be treated by the manager an angry, old rude Cro-Magnon that treats badly their employees and screams at them,or you or who ever he feels like, making you “the guest” feeling uncomfortable. After all, I am on vacation paying to have a good time and not to presence this unpleasant environment.
This thing named “Loren” maybe because when I asked his name he refused to give it to me and then said it once but did not wanted to repeated or give a last name. Maybe an ex convict that does not want to be found? “Imagine that” a manager that refuse to give his name. Wow!!! I can not believe some one will have “Loren” representing their business. He probably came from an abuse house but he can’t blame every body for that! and I am a tourist after all not a psychiatrist to be dealing with such madness!!! Trust me this is not the place to relax!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, Manager at Breezy Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We take our customers concerns very seriously. Unfortunately this review seems to have been written by someone who was not a guest at our resort. We do not allow unregistered guests and their dogs on the property as a courtesy and for the safety of our paying clientele. When these trespassers were asked to leave they became belligerent and threatening. All of the manager's names and contact information are clearly posted at our front desk where our guests check in and out, as well as in front of the information books in our rooms. Most of our employees have been with us for 10 to 30 years. Most of our customers are returning guests with many coming to stay with us every year for up to 20, 30 and even 40 years. We do not verbally abuse our staff or our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Some way down the Keys, we were getting the feel that we were getting drawn into a ‘spiders web’, both sides of the highway were like trading estates with only intermittent motels. As sunset was fast approaching, we drove into the Breezy Palms Resort and sought solace on their quay, looking out to sea and the evening sun. No- where could be more pleasant and relaxing as we sipped a couple of drinks from the car. We knew, however, that the Palms ‘village motel’ might not offer what we were looking for, but eventually approached Reception and were met by a delightful lady who did her very best. The room we chose ticked the minimum number of boxes and sufficed whilst the cost, on this amazingly expensive archipelago, was fair. In sum, a superb quay, basic room and a below-expected price. On a highway with limited choice, this could be a fair compromise. Wifi dropped in and out. I did itch all night and into the next day without knowing the cause.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms at a variety of prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I chose this location for our vacation based on reviews here on Trip Advisor and I have to say when I first checked in I was a little concerned, but those concerns left almost immediately. We are making reservations to go back next year.

We stayed in one of the bungalows for six days and it was just the right size for our family of three. The place does have a little age on it, but I knew that when I made the reservation, but none of these things detracted from our stay.

The staff was helpful and always willing to take the extra step to make sure that we had everything that we needed. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job of cleaning the unit every day and leaving an abundance of towels for us. The pool was nice and so was the beach.

In the evening we would walk out to the dock and watch the sea life that were all around. we observed sharks, squid, and a large variety of fish.

The resort is centrally located to many restaurants and is at a great location in the Keys.

What a wonderful stay at a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyMom1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
750 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
5.4 mi away
Smugglers Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezy Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezy Palms Resort

Address: 80015 US Highway 1, Islamorada, FL 33036-3802
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £156 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breezy Palms Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two and a half acre property located in Islamorada Florida at MM 80. Breezy Palms is a family friendly Oceanfront Resort. We have a marina that hold 28 boats up to 28 feet. Breezy Palms is located 1 1/2 hours south of Miami and 1 1/2 hours North of Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Breezy Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezy Palms Hotel Islamorada
Breezy Palms Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing