We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place was recommended by our friends that have stayed in lots of different places in the Keys and we are glad we took their advise! All was perfect; clean and room serviced daily, comfy, good location, nice staff and lastly,, good value for money if you compare to similar place around. The best thing at this place is definitely the man made 'beach' at the back and around the pool area with all the hammocks where you can relax and enjoy the view. Thanks to Niki at front desk, she's awesome woman and so helpful.The owner is also very nice and puts all his heart in this place to make sure you have a great stay. If you want the Marriott, go for it !! but if you looking for an authentic charming place with the 'Keys' feeling and touch, Drop Anchor is your place. We will be back without question when in the Keys.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drop_anchor_12, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! It was such a pleasure talking to you during your stay! All of the staff here at Drop Anchor appreciates your comments and I will be sure to pass them all along! We work very hard to maintain the rooms, grounds, etc. Hearing how much our guests enjoy their stay makes it all worthwhile! We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Islamorada area soon! A special thank you to your friends who recommended us to you! Can’t wait to see you again so that we can share more of our peaceful paradise!! Safe travels & best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    223
    66
    17
    15
See reviews for
150
400
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed two nights at the Drop Anchor as a part of a 25th anniversary trip to the Florida Keys. We were not disappointed.

The facility, as many have stated, is definitely "Old Florida," but has many updates that we found to be welcome. We stayed in Room 8 which we found to be very comfortable. The view from the balcony in the morning over the Atlantic was inspiring, although it is slightly obstructed by palms (not a surprise since the hotel openly offers virtual tours of each room online).

All appliances were in working order. Beds were very comfortable. Furniture was of an above-average quality. The room was very clean. There was a minor issue with a few small ants in the bathtub during our stay (this was actually called to our attention when we checked in), but management was attentive to it and treated daily. To be fair, this is south Florida--bugs are pretty much a given.

The man-made beach is relaxing, and we enjoyed sitting out each evening (and early in the morning) watching the boats on the Atlantic. We did not use the pool but did dip our toes in, and the temperature of the water did not seem to be out of line with what one would expect in this climate. This would also be a great place to stay for a fishing trip, and there were several guests that were there for that reason during our stay.

The location is convenient to many of the restaurants and things to do in Islamorada. A great restaurant for breakfast and lunch, Island Grill, is located within easy walking distance just up old US 1 beside the drawbridge to Plantation Key.

We very much fell in love with the Keys during this trip, and look forward to returning in the very near future. When we do, we will be sure to include the Drop Anchor as a part of our itinerary.

Room Tip: Room 8 is an outstanding room for couples. Room 7 appears to offer a closer view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redwolf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drop_anchor_12, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Your “Relaxing Vintage Facility” headline says it all! We strive to keep that old Florida feel while keeping “up-to-date” amenities as well! The staff is very appreciative of your comments and I will be sure to pass them along! We are happy that we were able to be your 25th Anniversary destination and we look forward to welcoming you back to our peaceful paradise in the near future! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I want to say that this place is lovely in many ways. Great man made beach, which we could walk straight onto from room 2. Nice bedroom and kitchen/lounge area, with great views. Hammocks and beach furniture were wonderful. But.......
We never found more than the merest hint of wifi any time. It was hopeless and really is pretty cheap to fix in this day and age, so not impressed. The fridge never cooled much if any below room temperature. The shower had variable flow and temperature, which would be fine if the control wasn't with fellow guests in other rooms! The fan in the bedroom never worked and the icing on the cake was when we pointed this out on leaving and were told 'Yeah, we know about that - we've got a fan but the room always has guests so we can't find time to replace'. Nice. Finally, the pool was not the claimed 82 degrees. We have had a pool for years and my wife ticks me off if it is 84 and not 85, never mind somewhere in the high 70's! New thermometer anyone?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drop_anchor_12, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay! The view and the beach accessibility are wonderful! I apologize that you had trouble with the WI-FI and the fridge not cooling. During your stay, you informed us of a problem with the WI-FI and we called our WI-FI provider about the reception problem. The technician, during the troubleshooting time, found that some devices worked perfectly while others did not work at all. I am happy to report that we now have 3 antennas to “boost” reception so this should not be an issue in the future. The issue with the fridge not cooling was rectified as soon as the repairman could get us on his schedule. We would have happily moved you to another unit had one been available. Also, upon your departure, the fan in the bedroom was replaced. I am sorry that you were unable to utilize this during your stay. As for the pool, I apologize that the temperature is cooler than you are used to or that you expected. It is a heated pool and it is kept at 82 degrees. The maintenance department did do a secondary check with a different thermometer and the heating system is maintaining the 82 degree temperature. Again, I thank you for your review and I hope that should your travels bring you back to Islamorada that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here last March. We liked it and they have a beautiful beach and view. They don't have enough parking so some people have to park our front on the grass. That was a little disappointing. Also before we got there the website has said that they had done recent renovations. The room was very lovely but outside on our balcony we took pictures while sitting in chairs and got home and the cement was cracked and paint was peeling behind us in all of our photos making it look very rundown and shabby. Not sure if we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drop_anchor_12, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay! I apologize that you were unable to find a spot in the lot. The management team will be discussing how we can better this situation in the future. The renovations you spoke of were done on the inside of some rooms, but since March, we have completed the repainting of the outside of the buildings. We do appreciate your comments as well as appreciate the fact that small things like this can make or break your decision on future stays. I hope that should you ever travel back to the Islamorada area that you will stop by and see the improvements that have been done since March. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My wife found this resort through good ole tripadvisors. So now we can confirm the positive and as always wonder about some of the negative.
We just came from three nights in a luxury suite at the Key West Westin.
Of course this isn't a Westin but we very much enjoyed it...the Drop Anchor is old school Florida and fun in a different spirit. Our bathroom is 1950's pink and the furniture is an odd (I.e. No interior designer) assortment of homey stuff...fun. The entire resort shows the pride of ownership other reviewers have noted. The beach is just right, hammocks, chairs, combed sand, palms, and not a lot of guests "saving chairs". In fact all the people we met were great and like us looking for a fun little quiet place...perfect.
The owner/manager at the front desk has been in the area for many (I think 24) years and has a wealth of information as well as a very sincere desire to make your stay comfortable.
When we return to the Keys we will spend some time at the "fancy" places but we will also look forward to more time at the Drop Anchor!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drop_anchor_12, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! All the staff do indeed take pride in their work and we appreciate you taking the time to let others know just how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you were able to capture the "different spirit" of Drop Anchor! We look forward to being a part of your future travel plans to the Islamorada area! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, great location, good prices, and friendly service. We would stay again. The waterfront area is beautiful and kept well. There are hammocks, adirondack chairs and the sand is groomed. There is also access to the ocean. Great stay

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mellen93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drop_anchor_12, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are happy that you chose Drop Anchor to celebrate your birthday!! We take great pride in cleanliness and customer service! We hope that you will choose Drop Anchor when you celebrate future milestones!! Thank you from all the staff! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland Park, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I along with out 2 small boys (2 1/2 yrs. old & 10 mths.) stayed at the Drop Anchor for a weekend while attending the wedding of our very close friend at a resort right down the street. The room (#5) was very nice and comfortable and the view from our sliding glass door was directly onto the beach (beautiful). Everything worked well in the room. My 10 months old like to crawl everywhere so we placed him on the floor. Unfortunately the floor was not all that clean as we soon notice his little legs were dirty as were the bottoms of our feet. When we went to leave for the evening we tried to lock the deadbolt of our room but the key only locked the doorknob lock. The door did not feel securely locked and when pulling on the door you can see it was loose. Also you could tell if someone really wanted to they could pop a screwdriver in and the door would open easily. When my husband brought this to the attention of the owner he rudely stated that in the 11 years he had owned the place there had never been a problem. That might be but we did not feel we were safe leaving any valuables. So we had to carry whatever few valuables we had on us. Also we paid $190 a night and the resort just down the road where our friend's wedding was had the same type of rooms for $125 and had way nicer pool and heated. Would have said there but it was booked by the time we tried to get a room. Ours was not and it was cold when I tried to take my oldest son in the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drop_anchor_12, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
I would like to begin by thanking you for the post to TripAdvisor. We genuinely appreciate all guests opinions/comments whether they may be good or bad. I am happy that overall you enjoyed the Oceanfront room that you occupied. As to the cleanliness of the floor, because of that wonderful balcony that opens directly onto the beach, sand is always a factor. The staff takes great pride in keeping our rooms as well as the exterior areas of the property in pristine condition. If you felt that the floors were dirty upon arrival, we could have offered 2 solutions to that "issue". We could have moved you to a comparable room or we would have happily swept and mopped again if only it had been brought to our attention. As far as the locking of the deadbolt, that is a security feature for when you are inside the room so that there is not another key able to open your door. The deadbolts cannot be locked from the outside due to hotel and Fire Marshall codes. These rules/regulations are specifically designed for the safety of all guests. As the owner indicated to you, the door was fully secure using the procedure of turning the lock on the door handle. I apologize that your perception of his attempt to explain why you were unable to obtain a key to lock your own deadbolt was rude. We also take great pride in customer service and made every attempt to help you feel secure as well as provided flash lights and an extra person (an employee) to assist you in a property wide search of your set of car keys that were misplaced. We are a small family oriented property that, to date, has not had any issues of theft. To be fair, I am sure most locks could be tampered with including ones at your home. (We also had our Maintenance Department do a secondary check to ensure the lock was working properly.) There is someone on property 24 hours a day to ensure that things of that nature are not attempted. Also, I would like to apologize that you feel that 82 degrees is too cold for the swimming pool. Our pool is heated and is set on a constant temperature of 82. Ultimately, if we did not meet your expectations after the first night of your two night stay, we certainly would have allowed you to depart early without penalty and would have happily assisted you in finding other accommodations. Also, please bear in mind that you were NOT charged for the extra adults that occupied your room or for the additional vehicle that was parked on the property. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
5.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Property: Drop Anchor Resort
Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada
Drop Anchor Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing