We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
456
257
80
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
257
80
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews key west island grill adirondack chairs full kitchen hog heaven palm trees sandy area old florida boat ramp nice pool small room laid back queen bed picnic tables sea wall old school one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Drop Anchor on our first night in the Keys and were so relaxed we hated to leave. We had room 7 which directly overlooked the beach and was beautifully appointed and
welcoming. Attention to detail and guest comfort is evident throughout the complex. We noticed
a number of couples doing just what we were...relaxing on the beach at sunset. We loved the various tropical colors used on the exteriors of the units.....definitely made you feel like you were in
the Keys.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gpeak2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy the property! We look forward to welcoming you back to Drop Anchor soon! Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were coming to the Keys to get away from the 8 feet of snow at home and wanted some rest and quiet. This turned out to be the perfect place for that. You hardly know anyone else was around because it seems all the guests were there to soak up the sun and enjoy the same peace and quiet that we needed. This is a great location for a day trip to Key West and near shopping and restaurants. A great old-time resort, well maintained and managed. Good for families, honeymooners first and second and a perfect get-away for some warm fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are glad that we were able to share a "piece of our paradise" with you! Looking forward to future stays! Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Classic old Florida resort – painted in pastel colors on the outside with snappy interior decoration on the inside. I stayed in #15 – a single story duplex that faced the ocean. The office staff offered very helpful recommendations regarding local restaurants and sights-to-see and went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed their part of the Keys. If you don’t want to drive the whole stretch of Keys in one day, be sure to stop in Islamorada – I stayed three days and enjoyed every minute before moving on to Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure meeting you! I will be sure to pass along your review to all our staff! We hope to see you again in the near future! Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Drop Anchor Resort, room 2. Everything was exactly as I had anticipated, with the exception of the view... which I don't think I could have imagined to be so beautiful! Our bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom was small, but functional (the shower was a decent size). Not too much bureau space if you are staying longer than we did. However, the location was incredible. The staff very friendly. And yes, we did get daily maid service for no extra charge. At times we felt that we had the entire place (beach included) all to ourselves-- despite the fact that they were at full occupancy! I highly recommend this establishment as a great base for your daily adventures!

Room Tip: Room 2 was in the perfect location to gaze over the water.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you so much for your terrific review! I absolutely love the view from Room 2 as well! I will be sure to pass your praise along to the staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed our property and we hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the Islamorada area!
Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After searching many places to stay in Islamorada that would accommodate 4 people for four nights, I landed on the Drop Anchor Inn. Just like most of the motels in Islamorada, they is an older motel but it has obviously been renovated. We stayed in room 12 which had two bedrooms and one bathroom. The main bedroom had a queen bed, alarm clock and a closet. The second bedroom had two twin beds. The living area featured a couch with a flat screen tv, dining table and a full kitchen. The kitchen had a small coffee maker, full size fridge, microwave and a stove. There are three ceiling fans, one in the living room and one in each bedroom along with three A/C units in each room which makes for very comfortable sleeping conditions. The only issue I found with the rooms are that whomever is staying in the second bedroom, has to go through the main bedroom to get out of the room. So everytime someone gets up in the night to go to the bathroom or get something from the kitchen, they have to walk through your room first. It's a very strange setup. The cleaning staff comes once every 3 days but the office will provide you with anything you could possibly need in the meantime. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Room 12 faces the highway but we couldn't hear any traffic noise at all.

The grounds are spotless. The pool is only a quick little stroll down the path and it is immaculate. The pool is gated on all three sides except for the ocean side which leaves you with a beautiful ocean view as your relaxing in the pool or on the surrounding deck. The beach area has several tiki areas that light up at night with blue dangling lights and feature relaxing adirondack chairs all over the place, along with lounge chairs and barbeque areas. There is docking for boats with ladders to climb up to the beach area and a boat ramp but the ramp doesn't look like it's been used in quite some time. There is quite a drop off at the end of the ramp, I would hate to see someone's trailer wheels go off it accidentally. I think one of the neatest things about being in the keys is watching all the gorgeous sea life in the water. I really wish this resort would have had underwater lights on the dock. It would have been really nice and relaxing to take a stroll out there at night and watch the fish. When we were there they were replacing a deck on one of the oceanfront rooms and it is very evident that they are working hard to keep updating the place to make it better and better. This being said, we will definitely return to the Drop Anchor and we are anxious to see what updates will be added for next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you so much for such a detailed wonderful review! I am sure that your review will help other travelers in making the decision to stay with us here at Drop Anchor! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! I will also pass on the idea of the underwater lighting on to the owner! I think that would be a great addition! Again, thank you for choosing Drop Anchor & for letting others know about your stay! Word of mouth is the best advertising! We hope that your future travels will include the Islamorada area and Drop Anchor Resort! Best Regards & Stay Warm!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews