We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This lodging is a bit of a throwback. It's a number of separate cinder buildings, with four units each building. Doesn't sound great, does it? BUT...when you walk in your room you find it is spotless, well appointed, has nice furniture and decor, faces a sandy "beach" front yard and it has its own boat ramp if you want to launch a small to medium-sized boat for fishing. It's not a room, really, but a bedroom and a living/dining/kitchen room; a small suite actually. Each of the buildings is painted in bright southern Florida colors and that front yard has hammocks, adirondack and lodge chairs so you can sit and enjoy the water view, or the stars or the sunrise. We stayed on night. We wished we could have stayed longer. No far down the street, in easy walking distance, is the Island Grill. Good food and faces the water, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 922PaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! The staff work very hard to keep the rooms and grounds in pristine condition. I will be sure to pass your review along the staff! We hope that you will again "drop anchor" with us when future travels bring you to the Islamorada area! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    226
    66
    17
    15
See reviews for
152
404
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights. We were fortunate to get a reservation, and so pleased that we did.

We had the smallest room, but it was clean, quiet, and well-equipped. The staff is friendly and supportive, the resort is beautiful, and the grounds are immaculate.

A great place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review! It was such a pleasure meeting you and I hope that you will "drop anchor" with us again very soon! I will be sure to pass your words of praise on to the staff! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

After being deeply disappointed with the quality and value of hotels in Miami and Key West, this place restored my faith in US hotels. I was SO gutted that we were only able to stay one night, i'd definitely consider returning and just spending a whole week chilling out here.

We had room 9, a king bed suite on the first floor with the most beautiful ocean view. As in, you could lie in bed in the morning with the balcony doors open and just watch the sea and listen to the birds in the palm trees just outside, absolute perfection. And even though the road is just the other side of the building, there was no noise whatsoever from it even with the windows open.

The bed was very comfortable, and the balcony windows have decent blackout curtains so you get a nice dark room for sleeping. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom really spacious - there was even a big walk in closet area which would make it a great place to stay for a longer time. Check out the video tour on their website, it is exactly as it looks.

The rest of the resort is gorgeous, it's only small but full of lovely details like LEDs and fairy lights in the trees after dark, and a nice pool right on the edge of the ocean.

For the price (i think we paid around $250) it kicked everywhere else we stayed on our 11 night trip into touch. I suspect there's a lot of variation between rooms, and the view really made it for me, so all i can say is that if you're not delighted with room 9 there's something wrong with you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k4ssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so glad that we were able to meet your expectations and go beyond! I will be sure to pass your review along to the staff! It feels good to know when your hard work pay off and our guests have such an enjoyable experience! We can't wait to accommodate you again when your travels bring you back to Islamorada! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you're looking for the Ritz this place isn't for you but if you're looking for clean, comfortable and reasonably priced this place is perfect. We had Room 7 which is the best room. It has a beautiful view of the sea, the pool and the sandy area. The sand was raked every day, the pool was cleaned and tested. The owner, Steve and his friendly dog, Lady and employees are friendly and very helpful when looking for things to do and places to eat. We had a king size bed, kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, blender and service for 4. The only minor complaint is the bathroom is very small and with a pedestal sink there was no place to lay out my toiletries. The toiletries they supply are really nice and the salt scrub was so wonderful, I bought some in the gift shop to bring home! We would go back with no question.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikiTiki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience! We have met our goal! I will be sure to let the staff know of your kind words and a job well done! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

They Keys are an interesting place...they haven't updated much (see: a lot of Florida) and a lot of the buildings/hotels have been there for quite a while. But this place is in as good shape as you could want and we thought they had done a very nice place taking care of the whole property.

The room wasn't dazzling or modern, but clean and plenty of space. The grounds were groomed (sand) and peaceful, even with the highway right there (that's how it is pretty much everywhere in the Keys). Lots of hammocks, Adirondack chairs, loungers, nice pool area right on the ocean. For the price, I think the Drop Anchor is well worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EETravelfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for the review of our property! We hope that when future travels bring you back to the Islamorada area that you will once again "drop anchor" with us! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after being in Key West for a couple days - it was perfect! There are a couple of great restaurants within walking distance (very close). The oceanfront pool is great and the sandy area with hammocks overlooking the ocean is perfect! We stayed in room one and loved it. Steve, the owner, was very accommodating and very kind. We locked ourselves out of our room late one night and he arrived within minutes to let us in (sorry Steve!!!). He was great and our stay was perfect. We are planning a trip again in July and will definitely book here again. All of the rooms are in good locations - ours was just off the parking lot by the front office and it was fine - we would book this room again if we weren't bringing our kids with us (it's just big enough for two) - it also has a private porch on the back. Everything about this place is great, I would highly recommend it, even to the pickiest of travelers. Great stay!

Room Tip: Room one is great! Don't be fooled by it's location - it's the perfect room, very recen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MindyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our property! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to future stays with your whole family next time! No problem with the locking yourself out thing! It happens frequently! Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmot, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I chose this property due to the great reviews that it received on this site, and I will agree with all of the positive comments one hundred percent. It is, without a doubt, a well-cared for property with wonderful outdoor seating right on the ocean. There is no swimming in the sea, but this is pretty much the case throughout the Keys. As we sat outside the first night, with the property illuminated in such a way that enhanced the experience, my review was glowing. We had eaten a late lunch so our dinner consisted of stuff we had picked up at a local grocery store, and we were happy to sit outside and enjoy it all. That first night I dreamed that there was someone in our room talking to us, and when I "woke up" the next morning, I couldn't get over how real it had been. The second night we were awakened by our "roommates" next door having sex at 1:00 a.m. And as we lay there listening to them for the next several hours (yes, youth has its advantages!) my review changed dramatically. The primary thing I look for in any lodging situation is a good night's sleep. This couple had every right to enjoy their vacation, and this is certainly not something one can go to the management to be solved. The issue here is that the wall between Unit 16 and 15 is not sound proofed enough to allow both sides to sleep properly. I realized, of course, that the dream of people talking in my room the night before had actually been people talking in THAT room! It is my opinion that Unit 15 should not be rented out separately! It should be part of Unit 16 (there is a door that can be used between the rooms, which also doesn't help the sound situation) and then my review would have remained favorable as I would have received the proper night sleep that I was looking for. This does, of course, only pertain to that unit. I have not stayed in any of the other rooms, and the freestanding trailer that was right next door looked mighty appealing as it had no shared walls, so I am not saying I wouldn't return, but I absolutely would not rent Unit 16 again!

Room Tip: Unit 16, while a great option for families using 15 as well, should be avoided as two separate units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Owner at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
I as the owner am pleased this customer brought this to our attention . We are fixing this problem immediately putting in better Sound proofing between rooms so that this sound problem will not occur in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
5.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
2.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Property: Drop Anchor Resort
Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada
Drop Anchor Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing