We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Paradise”
Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose the Drop Anchor Resort for the view, the room amenities and the atmosphere of peace and quiet described by the website's Philosophy. We were not disappointed.

The property is beautiful, it was like living in a postcard. The motel itself is small, less than 20 rooms contained in a handful of adorable different buildings spread out around the property. The highlight of course is the white sand beach dotted with palms, hammocks and sitting areas.

There was "No Vacancy" during our stay but it never felt crowded. People would come and go, taking advantage of the hammocks and sitting areas but the atmosphere always remained calm and relaxing.

It is not a swimming beach, instead there is a marina for docking boats (you could probably jump in the water if you wanted but it's not a traditional beach). There is a pool for swimming but we did not use it.

We loved the room (see room tips below) and the fact that we could actually choose the specific room when we booked. We feel that the price was very reasonable.

Owner and staff were very friendly. Wifi stopped working but was resolved quickly when brought to their attention.

If you are looking for activities, restaurants and bars they are close by but not on the property. It is not a "resort" in that sense. We were quite happy to buy groceries and eat take-out pizza on our balcony. I'm sure our view was better than any restaurant, and the wine was definitely cheaper :).

We would definitely stay here again, and I hope we do have a chance to someday.

Room Tip: Each room is unique in terms of amenities and view. We enjoyed #9 because the view was unobstructed...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hevachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. We do pride ourselves in the maintenance of our property. As for our beach; yes it isn't your traditional beach. We are located on fishing flats. We do however have free passes to one of our local beaches for our guests. We look forward to accommodating to you whenever your travels bring you back to the Islamorada area. And as you very well know, you can go on our website and pick and choose your own room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for Drop Anchor Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights on our way through the keys.The owner Steve and front desk staff were so pleasant and helpful. Our room 14B looked down through the palms to the little beach and water. The room was beautifully decorated and had fridge to keep water or anything nice and cool. There was also coffee maker and coffee but if you wanted tea this was also available - you only had to ask at the front office.

Drop Anchor also has nice area on the little beach to relax and watch the world go by and seating outside your room. The surrounding area isn't really designed to walk around - you are walking down US 1 but there are some nice local bars and a few restaurants to get a bite.

All in all this great little spot is perfect for a few days stop off through the keys.

Room Tip: Loved our room 14B - compact but everything you need and lovely outlook.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your words of praise. We do pride ourselves in keeping our property to the utmost cleanliness. And, our beach area is a wonderful place for the R&R. It is a wonderful thing that we do have a couple of great restaurants & bars within walking distance from us. We look forward to accommodating to you again whenever your travels bring you back to the Islamorada area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed just one night on our way down to Key West and what a great find.
This is a friendly and well maintained place and not expensive.
It has its own beach front and is very relaxing. Nearby there is a few bars and restaurants, so well located .
We wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOJONO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to accommodating to you again, when your travels bring you to the Islamorada area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights to recharge our batteries in between some hectic touring. The grounds are fantastic with hammocks and lots of places to sit and totally relax. The pool temperature is perfect. We had room number 7 which had uninterrupted views of the water, every morning we would just lie in bed watching the palm trees sway in the breeze. The room was in a nautical style and everything we needed was provided. We had a large verandah on which we sat every night sipping our drinks and watching the sky turn a beautiful pink. We had maid service twice during out 5 night stay which was great as it did not interfere with our relaxation. The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. I would however recommend that you have a car during your stay here as public transport is none existent. There is no way of getting to key west unless you can get a company from Miami to pick you up along their route. There are 2 restaurants, Hog Heaven and Island Grill which are both very good and within walking distance, but no grocery store so we couldn't make use of the kitchen.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CMN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your words of praise and for taking time in your busy schedule to review our property. We look forward to having you here at Drop Anchor Resort when your travels bring you back to the Islamorada area. Yes, our nearest grocery store is 4 miles south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel combines the Art Deco charm with an updated, island feel.
The Oceanside location, great beach refreshing pool and other amenities make it a 10!

The proprietor, Constable turned hotelier, is a valuable resource for local attractions, watering holes restaurants and more.

This place is fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask foe Steve
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelllllEnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our Property. We appreciate your words of praise and will pass them on to the rest of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My family and I stayed at Drop Anchor Resort for one night at the beginning of May. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the place was considering the room rate was lower than many of the other resorts we priced out in Islemorada. The room had a partial ocean view and was very clean and tastefully decorated - it had everything that we needed. The pool is a very nice temperature with a great view of the water. There are plenty of chairs and hammocks to relax in while enjoying the view. The only negative thing that I can think of to mention is even though the water is very shallow in behind the resort, it is very difficult to walk out in it, because it is quite boggy. This wasn't a big issue however, because we just swam in the pool instead. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Islemorada.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaala T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We are located on fishing flats and do not recommend that our guests go swimming out on our beach area. We do however offer free passes to our local beach. We're sorry about the bloggy water issue. We do pride ourselves in the maintenance of our Resort. I will make sure the rest of our staff is informed of your words of praise. And look forward to accommodating to you on your next trip to the Islamorada area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Drop Anchor for 4 nights and would have no problem recommending it to others. I echo all the reviews about the beautiful grounds and relaxing atmosphere. Three minor complaints: 1) Black ants were a problem inside the unit 2) WiFi connection is spotty 3) The Kitchen is not fully equipped. Bring your own spatula, wine key, bottle opener, etc.

Room Tip: We liked Room 5, closet to the water.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingOfSomewhereHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Keep in mind we are in the Florida Keys and do have little bugs here and there. We have professional exterminators out every month on our property. And we may be missing a spatula or a wine key in a room. But, we do have plenty available per guest request. Maybe prior guest tossed or left outside while grilling. We look forward to having you here at Drop Anchor Resort when ever your travels bring you back to the Islamorada area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
5.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
2.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
3.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £101 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada
Drop Anchor Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing