We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, especially for the Keys”
Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very clean, especially for the Keys”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a 3 star hotel. Very, very clean although old. Internet service spotty at best. Right off the highway so depending upon where your room is located or where you sit out back, there can be a lot of road noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the nice review and we look forward to accommodating to you next time you are in the Islamorada area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    231
    70
    17
    15
See reviews for
156
417
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Drop Anchor resort just for one night en route from Miami to Key West. We booked in advance online through hotels.com. We left after breakfast so the review is based on brief experience.

The best things about our stay were the location and ambience, which was right by the ocean (on the Florida Straits side of Islamorada), and having beach furniture right outside our ground floor room as well as along the ocean frontage alongside the pool a few yards away. We sat under a mini tiki hut in the subdued lighting after dark having eaten dinner at the nearby Island Grill, with a bottle of wine to hand, watching occasional fishing boats come and go and listening to the waves lapping against the small docking area, with occasional lightning flashing somewhere out towards Cuba or the Bahamas. It was truly idyllic. We were quiet, and the other people inside or outside the resort buildings were quiet too. Although being by the ocean, the resort is just off the main road through the Florida Keys, US1, so could not be more convenient, but it is just far enough from the main road for the traffic noise not to disturb us, despite being light sleepers.

Our room (14B) was in a single story modest building which I believe had just one other room, and probably dates from the 1950s or 60s. Most rooms seemed to be in the rather pretty 2-story main building. Compared with what we are used to on our travels in the UK, USA and Europe, the room was small in the bedroom and bathroom areas. For comparison, we are more used to hotels ranging from budget chains Premier Inns (UK) and even Etap (France), to more expensive hotels from 3 to 5* around the world. We have also stayed in fixed mobile homes of varying sizes at Eurocamp sites in Europe.

The room had a queen sized bed which was comfortable and had spotlessly clean bed linen, but which almost filled the recess off the living area, allowing just enough room down the sides for each occupant to walk out. There was a good TV viewable from bed if you wanted to relax, apart from the armchair, and when our cases were in the room there was not much floor space left.

The bathroom had a walk in shower to one side, and washbasin and toilet together in the remaining space. The toilet was hard against one wall and on a small raised area. I have had similar arrangements in London hotels where space can be tight. There seemed to be no means of steam and moisture in the air escaping the bathroom other than the doorway into the living /sleeping area, and although no surfaces felt damp the room smelt damp as soon as we entered, and some of our clothes smelt damp when we left next morning. We have rented old cottages in England which similarly could not completely get rid of the damp, and the challenge for the owners is probably a combination of the age and construction of this particular building with the humidity in summer.

Despite summer temperatures and humidity, the air conditioning unit was very effective if a bit noisier than we are used to.

In conclusion, none of the issues above were serious enough for us to raise them with the staff who were very friendly, and we might have been offered alternative accommodation had we asked, but our stay was brief and we were generally very happy indeed with our choice. As a resort we would certainly consider returning for its gorgeous location, but we would choose a larger room if staying more than night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We appreciate your words of praise. We definitely look forward to accommodating to you again. We are very glad that although your stay was short it was very memorable. I will pass your words of praise to the rest of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We did our research before choosing the Drop Anchor and felt that we should pay it forward. We pulled into this quaint, quirky resort and felt like we were getting the full "Keys" experience. When I walked into the room I literally gasped. It was adorable! There was a king sized bed, a large futon, flat screen tv, full kitchen... The balcony of our second floor room was equipped with 2 large lounge chairs facing the ocean. There is a tiki hut, several hammocks, a pool. It's quiet, well groomed. The owner Steve went out of his way to ensure we were enjoying our stay. We are leaving tomorrow to go to Sanibel Island, and I want to take the Drop Anchor with me!

Room Tip: Book room #7! It's spacious and has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We are always very pleased when our guests are taken a back by our style. Not typical hotel style here. We look forward to accommodating to you whenever your travels bring you back to the Islamorada area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is where you expect Hemingway to step out one of the rooms…the Drop Anchor is a awesome place to stay. The views are breathtaking and the rooms are decorated with thought to make their guests feel special. The property is meticulously kept with adirondack chairs, hammocks and chase lounges spread across the water front and a pool that is a good size, still offering amazing views of sunrises and sunsets. Steve and the staff delivers great customer service! If you want the "real" feel of the Island and immerse yourself in the feel of being a local, you must put Drop Anchor on you bucket list soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jarjar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort.

We look forward to accommodating you next time your travels bring you to the Florida Keys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here mid-May and really enjoyed it. All the positive reviews I read before our stay were accurate. Very clean grounds and rooms. Loved the hammocks, tiki huts and evening lighting. We also met some nice people who stay at Drop Anchor whenever they visit the Keys. If you're staying on Islamorada, I recommend Drop Anchor. Plenty of close restaurants nearby too. We especially liked Hog Heaven for its fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
We appreciate your words of praise and will pass them on to the rest of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just got back from a Great stay at the Drop Anchor Resort!! Great little place on the ocean side of the Overseas highway. The people who work there are really a great bunch of people who take pride in taking care of you. When we go back to the Keys, we would certainly stay at the Drop Anchor again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazin3265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We take pride in assisting our guests. And look forward to accommodating to you next time your travels bring you to the Islamorada area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here back in March 2014. Doing a drive down through the Keys for vacation, this was a last minute addition to our itinerary, but it turned out to be one of the highlights.

Driving up after a long day of traveling, it looked like a typical roadside motel in the Keys (you see lots of them in the Keys, must be one of the last places in America with so many old school motels not just surviving, but thriving). But the room was much nicer than your average roadside motel, with a great living room area and a small kitchen where we could make a meal out of a great haul of fruit and veggies we got at a roadside stand a ways back. Plus we had one of the ground floor rooms that had a patio right out onto the sand area behind the motel that runs down to the dock and pool area, and it was just a great area to hang out and enjoy the stars and the sounds of the ocean.

We only got to spend one night here, but I honestly wished I could have just cancelled our reservations in Key West and spent a few more days here. If you want posh resort living and the pricetag that comes with it, this is not the hotel for you. But if you want quiet comfort and a great place to just relax and enjoy the Keys, I don't think you could do better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drop_Anchor_Resort, Manager at Drop Anchor Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our quaint Resort. That is the idea here at Drop Anchor Resort. For all of our guests to have the R & R they are looking for. We are a small eighteen room Resort and pride ourselves on making everyone's stay as comfortable as can be. We look forward to accommodating to you next time your travels bring you to the Islamorada area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
5.0 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
3.3 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,307 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Property: Drop Anchor Resort
Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada
Drop Anchor Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing