We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great rooms”
Review of Drop Anchor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drop Anchor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2009

My boyfriend and I just stayed in Room 9 for a week. We absolutely loved it! When we were there, there were a few younger couples like us, and generally everyone else was older--and NO KIDS were staying there (we lucked out!)
The staff was very nice, our room was basic with the perfect amount of amenities for the price. Our deck had a great view of the beach, and it was very quiet (the only time it wasn't was when some unruly children from a few places over decided to come and play on the hammocks while we were trying to relax while the mom did nothing)--it would be nice if the property was fully fenced for this reason, but that was my only wish!
The pool was at a great temperature, plenty of seating in the sun and shade, and a great location on the island. We rented a car and went a few different places during our stay in the Keys, but our best days were definitely with a drink in hand, a book in the other, and lying on the white lounge chairs. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blhappypets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2009

We recently stayed at the Drop Anchor for three nights. It is in a lovely spot on the Keys, not too built up. It was really relaxing at the resort, the beach area overlooks the atlantic and it is very peaceful just to sit with a cold beer and relax. The room are decorated beautifully and have every convienience and there is internet access at the reception. We ate at the Island Grill one night which is walking distance, it has a nice vibe but I didn't think much of the food but I would recommend for drinks.
The pool was lovely and warm and the whole resort is very well kept.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hoggey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We were traveling with our 4-year-old and chose the Drop Anchor because it wasn't too long a journey to/from Miami Airport and The Everglades and because we wanted to be well-placed to explore further along The Keys in the other direction. We also chose it because we wanted two bedrooms and self-catering. We hit the spot !

We were in Room 12 initially for 5 nights and were nervous about that because of it's proximity to the road, but you don't notice any noise at all and this suite is probably the most private at the hotel. It has a little patio to the side for eating or barbecuing outside.

We knew when we booked that we'd have to move rooms on Christmas Day and were put in the rather glamorous Room 5 for one night. It was fun but has absolutely no privacy, being the room that's the most forward on the beach, as it were, with the whole hotel able to look in though your windows. It has a fabulous balcony though !

As someone said, don't expect The Ritz. This is a simple motel with a lot of charm. Leave behind your city hotel ideals, slip off your brogues and enjoy this place. It's small-ish, with a lovely atmosphere, a fabulous "beach", a great (but not massive) pool right next to the sea and palm trees with hammocks swinging between them.

It's right next to the Theatre of the Sea, which is pricey but great for kids. The Whale Harbor Inn is a great place to eat out with kids. 29$ for an all-you-eat seafood buffet and free for kids under 6. Fabulous !

Christmas Day we barbecued some fresh Yellow Snapper (bought at the Islamorada Fish Company) on the beach at the hotel with a couple of bottles of wine, then dozed in a hammock and watched the sun set. Heavenly !

The only negative thing is that for those of you with kids, the smallish beach ends at a sheer drop into the sea with no fence. Rather strangely the pool has a great big fence around it on 3 sides, with a drop to the sea on the 4th side ! Fortunately my daughter's not the adventurous type, but watch young children carefully.

Thanks to Steve (the owner) for the chocolates he gave us on Christmas day. We'll miss Tweetie-Pie and my daughter talks about the pool every day.

We'll be back !

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazzaS-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Drop Anchor last Wednesday. We booked room 14b. We were just passing through on the way to Key West and needed a clean and charming place to lay our heads for the evening.

We arrived around 8:30pm. The owner greeted us at the front desk. To our surprise, he upgraded us to an oceanfront suite for no extra charge. And we walked out of there with two cold Key West beers.

I HIGHLY recommend Room 3. It was tastefully decorated and had a flatscreen tv in the living area. We decided that "we could live here". It had everything you need for a few day's stay- coffee maker, blender, microwave, stove, fridge, utensils, cookware, etc.

There are no "special" amenities on the property, but there is a small pool off to the side. Sit back and relax on your oceanfront deck. The view is just breathtaking.

We will return!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

My wife & I chose to get married in the Florida Keys. We researched many venues & ultimately chose the Drop Anchor Inn. We had a great experience & are very thankful to Steve & the rest of the staff. They were exceptionally helpful, flexible & to top it off we had a spectacular fireworks show.

The private 18 room hotel was perfect for our friends & family. We booked the entire resort & stayed multiple days. While there it was fun to explore the different rooms, they are all unique and the photos on the website are accurate. Although other rooms are very nice we especially liked the view and decor of rooms 5 & 7.

Although the hotel has no restaurant or bar it is perfect for bringing you own supplies. This saved us $. The management permitted us to negotiate with local restaurants to do the catering. We chose The Islamorada Fish Company and they delivered an excellent selection of fresh food.

This mom & pop hotel has a relaxed Island vibe. The rooms are decorated with tropical styles & many are multi-room suites that are more like small apartments. All the rooms exude an old florida charm. Many include complete kitchen's with dishes & full size refrigerators. Then outdoors is a clean white sand beach courtyard with many new grills, hammocks, a clean pool and a beautiful ocean view. We liked that the hotel feels very private but yet it is close to nearby restaurants and watering holes.

We have made plans & are excited to return for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dropanchorinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My husband & I are both accountants. We go away every year after April 15 for a long weekend for R&R. A friend recommended Drop Anchor. I happened to stop for a visit on a day trip to the Keys with girlfriends and I saw it would be ideal for my trip in April. We stayed in #9. LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED every minute...i walked every day down the country road...brought back feelings of my earth hippie days in the 60-70 in Calif. I didn't want to go back to work! I wondered how i got so far off track in life with work, etc. LOL
The place was so clean; quiet; relaxation screamed at you every where. The decor made sure of this relaxed feeling like the calgon commercials promised. So the bathrooms are old fashion...very clean and quaint! If only i could have brought my two very small dogs would it have been TOTALLY complete...but i understand..not everyone has as well trained dogs as mine.
The owner was very nice..the sand swept clean every day. Inviting chairs/hammocks/tiki umbrella's for shade. Pool was usually empty. Most folks were going on fishing trips for the day. Several rooms were for a wedding which took place somewhere else. We met some folks and talked till wee hours of the night. Swinging in hammocks, watching the moon on the water...it was perfect. Can't wait till next year. OH and the price!!!! Very reasonable for the KEYS!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sage1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

A large group of us (ranging from 5 - 55) recently stayed at the Drop Anchor. We had great weather and a wonderful weekend.

It is NOT the Ritz Carlton - so go with a laid back, relaxed attitude.

The pics on the website are still accurate.

A couple of the ladies treated themselves to the in-room massage service for Mother's Day and raved about it.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Eduamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
6.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
718 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
993 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Islamorada
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Anchor Resort

Address: 84959 Overseas Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Price Range: £130 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drop Anchor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life at Drop Anchor is simple, intimate, and unforgettable... Drop Anchor Resort and Marina is a unique oceanfront hideaway nestled in the heart of the fabulous "purple isle" of Islamorada. Intimate and private, accommodations range from Standard rooms to Suites, in most cases with private balconies. Each room is individually designed with a tropical flair befitting the unique island spirit of the fabulous Florida Keys. Our history is rich; wed have been a landmark in Islamorada for more than 50 years. We aspire to keep the "Old FL Keys" spirit alive while offering just 18 fresh, updated rooms with charming amenities for our guests' comfort is one of our top priorities. We strive to ensure rooms are among the most immaculate in the Florida Keys. Lush palm trees sway over our beautiful pool and private beach. Our grounds feature colorful tropical flora, relaxing sitting areas and hammocks swaying under tall palms. The property also boasts an Oceanside dock and private boat ramp available to our guests. Located in the "Fishing Capital of the World", we are within a few miles of the best dining and water sports in the Florida Keys. Our memorable resort hotel is located approximately 80 miles south of Miami International Airport and 85 miles north of Key West. Get lost and found in paradise at Drop Anchor Resort and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Drop Anchor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Anchor Hotel Islamorada
Drop Anchor Resort Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing