We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service disappointment”
Review of Marker 88

Marker 88
Ranked #13 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
1 review
“Service disappointment”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Everything wonderful except our "joe cool" waiter we were at a canopied table where "cool guy" hung his arms from the top. The daily specials were distracted by the hairy armpit view. After a great sunset and meal, the check was flipped on the table with a cursory so long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caymad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    623
    226
    85
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch and liked it so much we went back the next night for dinner. Sunset view is spectacular but you can find a lot of places with great view. Marker 88 is a step above with nice tables, great service and good food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Alligator Reef salad, with wonderful view”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We liked this place so much we stopped there twice while traveling to/from Key West. My wife had the Alligator Reef salad both visits. No alligator, but rather it's a shrimp and avocado salad with hearts of palm and calamari with a citrus dressing. Don't bother with the Conch soup, as it tasted like Campbell's Vegetable Beef soup with little bits of Conch (maybe). All you could taste was salt and beef broth. Great setting, and fun slider / swing tables. The first visit I had a Mahi sandwich that was perfect, and a lobster pesto pizza the second visit, also wonderful. Service was slow the first time as there wasn't enough staff during our visit to cover our table which was at the waters edge, a long way from the kitchen. We'll go back next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Marker 88 manager to the rescue.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Despite a reservation we ended up at a table under the overhang of the Tiki Bar at one of those tables you sometimes get, the one in limbo where you are invisible Fortunately the manager spotted us, found us a waiter and bought us a drink. Thank you!
My husband had the delecious Seafood Bisque and I had the Yellowtail Snapper Parmesan. Very tasty.
See you next trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLORIDAYS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent spot”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We sat in a glider close to the water, prime location for watching the sun set over the bay.
Service was great, drinks were nice, food was excellent. We ended up staying almost 3h. We would definitely recommend to others and we will go back for another great night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feistyscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marker 88 also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Marker 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing