We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have dinner at sunset here at least once.”
Review of Marker 88

Marker 88
Ranked #13 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Prescott, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Have dinner at sunset here at least once.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Maybe I was just in a good mood, but I really liked this place. The atmosphere was really nice. We had been sat next to a wedding party, so we had to listen to the terrible music the DJ was playing, but no biggie. They had another music act on the other side of the restaurant that probably would have been more my speed. The restaurant was very busy, but we were seated immediately. The waiter was professional and was always there when we needed him. The wife had a dish with hearts of palm and wasn't crazy about it. I had some other fish dish that was really good. We had some G&Ts that were made by a generous bartender. This place is pretty expensive, so get ready. Depending on the weather and your seating accommodation, it could be a pretty romantic place. The other customers were dressed pretty nice, i was a little self-conscious of my cargo shorts and ratty t-shirt. Dress sharp, run up a big bill, and enjoy the sunset.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philistic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,181
    623
    226
    85
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't pass by this restaurant.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

In my opinion, one of the top 5 restaurants in all of the Keys. Everything is of superior quality, we always order the seared tuna appetizer - with wakami salad, wasabi and soy. Fish as fresh as you can get. Service is always excellent as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank keywestgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for the sunset, but nothing else.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great unobstructed view of sun dipping into the ocean. Beyond that, nothing to recommend here. The ambience is just odd. Instead of tiki torches and candles the large patio is lit by harsh parking garage style lighting. The food was mediocre at best, and the service can charitably be described as "scattered."

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service, and Location (for sunsets)”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a FABULOUS steak dinner with fine wine, great key lime pie, and great service as too! To top it all off, the sunset sitting at the beachfront table was spectacular!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great view make up for the service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

There were 6 women in our party and after a flight and a long drive from Ft.Lauderdale we were ready to relax. Marker 88 was recommended to us as a good place to stop for lunch and it is. We got a table outside, no waiting. It's right on the water with a great view. We were there on a Thursday afternoon and they had live entertainment which was very good, not too loud, just pleasant. We ordered drinks and 2 appetizers to start. The drinks came and we ordered lunch-the Alligator Reef Salad is excellent, very fresh with lump crab meat and a delicious mango citrus dressing. One of our party realized she did not get her Dark & Stormy, but a Mojito and called the waiter over. I guess he was busy but he made no attempt at an apology and when he came back with the drink, he took away the Mojito. In my book, you leave the wrong drink and apologize for the mistake. Bottom line, on the way back, we decided to try another restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CatherineSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marker 88 also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Marker 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing