We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whale Harbor Inn

Whale Harbor Inn
Ranked #57 of 93 Restaurants in Islamorada
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Key Largo,FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“perfect welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

It was simply amazing to be there. It was very nice food with perfect welcome of us. I had been there with my family and everyone just liked the food. They have perfect balanced taste on food they make for their customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    95
    49
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown NJ
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stopped there on way home from Key West for their Seafood Buffet. Great deal for $30
The food was awesome with lots of variety. We staff and service was excellent.
The jumbo shrimp and crab legs were some of the best we have even eaten. You can get them cold or warm. They give you them in 1/2 lb portions which was plenty.
Several type of fish that were all prepared well and tasty.
They have a large salad bar. They was also pizza, roast beef, ribs and other food.
There was a good variety of desserts which were yummy. The Key Lime pie and pecan pie pieces were great. I think they are homemade.
We highly recommend stopping at Whale Harbor to enjoy the seafood buffet. You will not be disappointed or hungry when you leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Oak, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Seafood variety.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We vacation to Florida Keys at least twice or three times a year for the last 15 years and we always make a point to stop by Whale Harbor for a dinner. This time I brought my Dad and Sister who happen to visit from California to have a great dinner. There were as usual a large variety of seafood and loved the different kinds of ceviche's. Ray our server was great, he was very attentive and provided everything we asked. The busboy, I didn't get his name was always checking if we have dishes that needs to be pick up. We enjoyed everything EXCEPT the service from the STAFF in charged of the oyster, crab legs and shrimp station. Every time we go and ask for helping, she acts like WE'RE A BOTHER. SHE DOESN'T have business working in a place where you deal with people. We paid good money so I don't think we deserved to be treated like a bothersome. Next time I'll be in the area I will think twice about coming back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaRose1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmendelson, Public Relations Manager at Whale Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We apologize for the poor experience that you had in our restaurant during your last visit. We strive to do our best and depend on our employees to deliver their best for our customers; all with a proper attitude and service with a smile.

We will address the problem that you experienced immediately. The person you met was not a regular employee, but rather a stand-in for another employee who had the day off.

We hope that we can please you again in the future and we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch and Dinner was excellent along with our waitress Margarida, lucky to have her twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I heard about this restaurant from our hotel staff. We ate lunch there and decided to go back for dinner since it was so good. The service was excellent and the staff was friendly. Margarida, our server was so friendly and gave us excellent service. We were lucky to get Margarida twice as our server! Clean, great atmosphere and scenery is spectacular.Will go back tomorrow again...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank airforce371shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We went on recommendation of a young local. It was expensive and awful. Some seafood wasn't even the real deal. Fried fish was dried out, most dishes were way too salty. Pizza tasted store bought. Desserts were unbeatable. Definitely not worth going especially at the price $29.95/pp.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trudyfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmendelson, Public Relations Manager at Whale Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We're sorry that we weren't able to please you. We can assure you that ALL of our items are made fresh and are the real deal. As for the pizza, you probably should have noticed the gentleman who served you the pizza made it fresh. We do thousands of covers week with many satisfied customers. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Harbor Inn also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Whale Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing