We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FITTING TRIBUTE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurricane Monument

Hurricane Monument
Ranked #17 of 59 things to do in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: monument to the hundreds who died in the Great Labor Day Hurricane of 1935.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
1,276 reviews
360 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 784 helpful votes
“A FITTING TRIBUTE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This monument, with its 18-foot obelisk, is a sobering reminder that the Keys are on the hurricane flight paths. The powerful storm that blew through here in 1935 didn't have a name. Storms weren't given people names back then. So that storm is simply known as the Labor Day hurricane. It killed hundreds, including civilians and veterans from World War I who were given construction work in the Keys. The skeletal and cremated remains of dozens of the hurricane's victims are interred here.

A bas relief sculpture of a tidal wave and palm trees bending in the ferocious wind attest to the storm's ferocity. There's a plaque dedicated to the civilians and veterans killed in the storm.

Worth a stop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunmaster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    65
    46
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A piece of history in the middle of Islamorada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Islamorada is known for many things -- sport fishing, art galleries, great food -- but we shouldn't forget the history behind the area. The Labor Day Hurricane of 1935 claimed the lives of many WWI veterans working to build the overseas Highway as well as locals who were caught by the category 5 hurricane. There is a crypt made into the memorial that contains the skeletal bones and cremated remains of many of those who perished.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucytwo259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unknown facts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We drove past this monument and stopped to see what it was all about. Having family and friends go through Katrina, we are personally touched by tragic storms. The monument gave honor to the war heroes and civilians who perished in this terrible storm.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINT AUGUSTINE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historical monument”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Little known history about Florida and the Keys. Good for a quick visit and fact finding about how weather takes an important part in the Keys.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANGEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the stop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I usually like roadside monuments/signs but there was really nothing much here, a few words about a big hurricane. Maybe I missed something but I don't think so.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ptdusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurricane Monument also viewed

 

Been to Hurricane Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing