We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for condition of property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Siesta Resort & Marina
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I didn't read the reviews on this place before making our reservation because we were joining family members who had already selected this property. Poshmom19's review is exactly what we experienced - the website pictures are very misleading! Our oceanfront one-bedroom cottage (one of six in this large complex) was badly in need of maintenance and modernization; the sliding glass door onto the patio was in such bad shape that my wife had to have me open and close it for her whenever she wanted to go in or out.
The total daily cost for this sorry unit, including taxes and a dubious $18 a day "Resort Fee" was $248.80 and the weekend rate is approx. $20 higher.
It is a family-oriented facility and there are lots of kids around, from infants to teenagers.
On a positive note,the pool area (where a continental breakfast is served) is nice, the grounds were very clean and the staff (with the exception of Meredith who was in the front office in the evenings) was friendly and helpful.
One last point to keep in mind if you are thinking about a trip to the Keys - avoid the first week of Florida's lobster season (August 6-12 this year) unless you like heavy traffic and crowded restaurants!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the very few units/rooms that have been recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank You so much for staying with us and for your comments. I am working on all of your concerns. I would like to mention that the Resort Fee Covers, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, Use of Bicycles, Use of Kyaks and use of Washer and dryers for your clothes.

Thank You,
Dan Rutan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

While the resort location is great, the pool area is lovely and the layout of the grounds and building are casual an clean, the rooms are not like the photos and they are misleading the public. We rented a 1 br oceanfront cottage. They have 6 of these and turns out only 1 is remodeled and is the one they show on the website. Everything in the other cottages is old ' worn and stained carpet, old window unit air conditioner, old bathrooms, etc. Apparently from speaking to other guests, it's the same situation with most of the accommodations; they show one room that has been remodeled while most of them are not. I don't know if there is any price differentiation between old and new units but there should be and it should be fully disclosed. When I reserved I specifically inquired about the cottage and asks questions relative to the picture on the website so they knew.

However, the resort is nice for families with children and groups, the grounds are clean and the pool is very nice and looks like the picture.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poshmom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank You for your comments. I'm so sorry that you felt the pictures did not meet your expectations. We are working on our photos and the issues that you had mentioned. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

First off, this place could be an amazing romantic stay, great views of the ocean, hotel beach and hotel docks. However, any kind of peace of mind or romantic endeavors were destroyed by about 30 kids running around right outside our cottage door and windows. If you're looking for just you and your significant other to relax, then you'll have to stay in your room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toffer_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

I'm so glad you had a great stay! While we are family friendly please know that when the kiddies go back to school there are many many times that we are a bit more couple friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My 3 day stay was great. The resort was
Easily located and the staff was friendly.The ocean views were stunning and being able to see the ocean from my balcony was great. The hammocks were nice to relax in after the pool or just to feel the ocean breeze. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMontesLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank You for your great comments! I'm so glad you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to you return.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

No value for the money. This place is in a great location, but the room we stayed in looked nothing like the website photos. Our room had torn & stained carpet, ants, mold & loose moldy caulking in the bathrooms, a few long black hairs on the king bed, the air conditioner was noisy & did not cool the room. We stayed a total of 11 hours and cancelled our second night stay. During the "free" breakfast, the breads and cereal stale. The worker prepping the food was cleaning and touching his face with the gloves he had on when handling the food. We advised the staff of our concerns and were told the hotel is 60 years old and starting to "show it's age". I asked for a discount/refund and I was referred back to travelocity since we made out reservation. We paid almost $300 for one night. I would not have paid $50 to stay in that unsanitary and disappointing room. This place needs a makeover. On a positive note...the grounds were beautiful, the view was beautiful, and the pool was refreshing.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernMost73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

I'm so sorry that we missed our mark. We are working on all the items that you had mentioned. I hope to see uou on your return visit.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at La Siesta for the weekend and had a great time. The place is beautiful, surrounded by nature, relaxing, yet...the gardens & outside areas are great to BBQ and hang out, listening to some music and having some drinks. The pool is awesome, open 24 hours, with volleyball & basketball nets. You can also bring your cooler & have your own drinks (no glass). The room was clean, a little out dated but typical Keys cottage style. We had a blast and plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCubiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

I am so happy that you had a great stay. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Okay so you probably read a few or more reviews and just want to real deal on La Siesta Resort. I will tell you the great, good, and the ugly. My family stayed at the resort for 2 days and overall we all decided to give it a four rating because even though we had a great time, there were disappointments.
First thing! The great was having bikes as an option to ride around in the area. Just know that you will be charged $18.00 at booking time for bike rental, fishing rod and breakfast. (Whether you want to or not) We had a family ride and it was fun! So book early and keep this in mind. Another great thing is the scenery! You will love it!
Now the good definitely book your room early to save on your stay. This is a great resort if you have a boat, Jet Ski or any water equipment/transportation. So this is one reason my family did not give it 5 stars. There is no ocean swimming area. We did spent a lot of time in the pool which made up in a sense for no sea water swim. The pool is very well kept and not too crowed. The hammocks are place in very relaxing areas. Listening to Bob Marley on my mp3 player on the hammock was heavenly.
The ugly is that the sofa in the room we stayed at was dirty and kitchen is a bit outdated. The carpet is filthy which takes away from comfort. We stayed at a one bedroom, double bed suite with garden view. The staff was nice especially Walter which replenished the breakfast area and was helpful in getting what we wanted to eat. There was a rude old man that did scream to other staff members and was very agitated. So beware of this staff member. Another negative was that the house keeper came too early and when I posted the sign to get the room clean, she came only after I had to call the office.
Other than this La Siesta is great and I am looking forward to staying in a villa next time! Book it you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a balcony or patio and make sure your room has a stove if you want to have one in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kla1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasiestaGM, General Manager at La Siesta Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thank You for your comments. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to point out that the Resort Fee includes continental breakfast, bikes, fishing poles, the use of washer and dryers, wifi and newly added kyaks. On the swimming area, please know that in the Keys there is no "beach" like you would find in say Miami. That said our beach is a nice alternative. I have addressed all of your other comments and look forward to your return stay.

Sincerely,
Dan Rutan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
0.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
Sands of Islamorada Hotel
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
207 reviews
3.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
1.7 mi away
Islander Resort
Islander Resort
#8 of 19 in Islamorada
1,494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Siesta Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Siesta Resort & Marina

Address: 80241 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 80.5 Oceanside, Islamorada, FL 33036-3800
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £164 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Siesta Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best kept secrets and favorite escapes of Keys aficionados, La Siesta in Islamorada, is located on 6-acres of oceanfront accessible by the historic Overseas Highway at mile marker 80. Our hotel is less than 90 minutes from Miami, putting the resort in the heart of the lively Florida Keys, providing a tranquil escape among native flora and fauna for an uncommonly relaxing retreat. Retreat from the everyday and embrace the natural beauty of Florida at its best. The shimmering blue hues of the Atlantic Ocean will greet you upon arrival and the private sugar sand beach will call your name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Siesta Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Resort And Marina
La Siesta Resort & Marina Hotel Islamorada
La Siesta Resort & Marina Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing