We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting stay that was adequate for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Interesting stay that was adequate for our needs”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Casa Thorn islamorada as a way of breaking up the drive to Key West. It was easy to get to and we founf Thorn, Jennifer,Jj and Beau to all be quite nice. Our 9 lb puppy was welcomed and was quite comfortable staying with us! Mom & Dad stayed in the secret garden roo and we stayed in Bombay so we were able to all enjoy breakfast out in the secret garden at the larger table together. Beau prepared pancakes one day and french toast the next along with a good cup of coffee. Jennifer had good suggestions for dining.

There weren't other areas to relax together and limited seating in the rooms but a pool area was available to sit outside if we had wanted to. The garden areas were nice however some of the decking was a bit loose though it did not cause any issues for us.

There did not seem to be any services to the rooms between nights - might have appreciated a quick sweep to the tile floors to get leaves up or even provide door mats. Also, to change out
towels if needed. We used the wineglasses butthey did not even get rinsed out between (other thanwhat we did) - for the price it would have been good to have a bit of refreshing between nights. We hung up our towels to reuse but there were wet towels on our parents' floor all night due to them needing to help co trol the water flow from the shower the first morning.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay and always appreciate experiencing different tastes, styles and accomodations around the country. At this point, we would not return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bombay which was quite interesting - really enjoyed all of the garden areas around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThornIslamorada, Owner at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you & your family for the lack of service on Thursday, March 21st. During season it's hard to find a good day to allow the staff time off. After an 8 day stretch, JJ had that day off. Due to the lack of communication, regretfully, service was overlooked. Once again, I do sincerely apologize and appreciate the kind things you had to say.
Just so you know, there is a screen door on order for the Bombay room and the decking is being repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    48
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
210
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We booked two nights in the morocon room and can't express our disappointment. It was the weirdest, yuckiest bed and breakfast I have ever seen. The decor was not romantic as described, but scary! We expressed our feelings to the owner, she wouldnt refund our money and we had no intentions on sleeping there. We left and will fight the $500 charge. The place is in a nasty looking neighborhood too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamlbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were very disappointed with the B&B. We were to stay in The Bombay room for one night and then continue on to Key West for a weeks stay. The room as well as the bathroom had a very musty smell, and it did not live up to the beautiful photos on the website. The exterior sitting areas and the pool are very run down and in need of repair especially the decking. We are both animal lovers, however pups and their business need to be off to the side and off of the wood decking. We were not able to stay there and left hoping to find a nights stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MoreenoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALLACE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We spent a very restful two nights at the Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast in the Moroccan Room. Breakfast was served outside at a table near the entrance to your room. Lovely, loved that. Very accomodating for Celiacs (Gluten Free).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My boyfriend picked out Casa Thorn, and we were nervous that the Moroccan Room wouldn't be as beautiful as the photos online. Once we arrived, we were more than delighted that the room was exactly as it's pictured. We spent 7 glorious nights in the tastefully and inspiring decor of Casa Thorn with their helpful and friendly staff. I highly recommend Casa Thorn to anyone who may be staying in the Florida Keys!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Came upon Casa Thorn here at Trip advisor and we are so glad we did. My wife and I spent two wonderful days here in the Bombay room, a clean nicely decorated room with a comfortable Queen bed, fridge, A-C, and best of all our private nook in a beautiful green garden outside our door.

Thorn is an interesting woman, a world traveller who has collected artifacts from her worldly trips. You will see ceramic camels, stone frogs, lanterns, bird houses, adorning the entire B&B. Bo who services the B&B and prepares delicious breakfasts, is very personable without being intrusive and on top of that makes a mean omelette served in your own private garden nook.

For those who complained about the bathroom being a couple steps outside the room...all I can say is "get a life". It's a B&B for goodness sake! It's clean, well maintained and yes in B&Bs you share such facilities.

We met some great folks on either side of us, one couple from Germany the other a retired couple from Mass. That's one of the great things about staying in a B&B meeting folks from all over.

For those who enjoy a quaint, lovely and quiet garden like atmosphere with character to spare try this little piece of paradise. You will love it.

Room Tip: Rooms vary by price. The larger better appointed rooms are a bit more . We stayed in the Bombay rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieFarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Casa Thorn during our first trip to the Keys. We drove up, saw a large stone camel complete with santa hat, and knew we had booked a great place. Casa Thorn is very charming and quaint. There are only 5 rooms or so, so you really do feel like you've rented a home on Islamorada. All of the staff we encountered were wonderful! Breakfast is served on your private patio and was great each morning and Bo was incredibly friendly without being intrusive. We stayed in the Malaysia room, which had a huge bed, nice kitchen and large bathroom. You could spent hours just looking at the items that Casa Thorn has no doubt collected over the years. From stone camels to masks to turtles to flowers, etc., it really is a charming place. We'd highly recommend it, especially given the great price. Dogs are welcome, so if you are not a dog lover, just know that you will encounter some from time to time. Also, if you aren't a fan of the ecclectic, then this may not be the place for you. We loved the character, so it was perfect for us!

Room Tip: The Malaysia room was great! Large bed, private bath and nice economy kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
7.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
664 reviews
1.7 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
5.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,307 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 Palm Ln, Islamorada, FL 33036-3015
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian, Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast, television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing