We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2014

There was dog urine on the floor. Every smelled of mildew. My shoes stuck to the floor it was so dirty. We were so disgusted by the filthy room we left and found a hotel to stay at. They made unauthorized charges on our credit card and refused to reimburse. We would never recommend this B&B to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThornIslamorada, General Manager at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Terry,

We are extremely disappointed about your poor experience.
We have high service and cleaning standards and we take pride on insuring each guest experience is unique and memorable.
I would be more than happy to assist you with any billing issues you may have.
Contact me via email at casathorn@webtv.net.

Thank you,
Sarah Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

A unique B&B in a quiet location, offering a variety of different styled rooms. We stayed in the Secret Garden Room, well equipped with the addition of having its own private garden plus a further terrace. The owner, Thorn is a remarkable lady who made you feel welcome & the staff, Sarah, Chris & Vivienne are only to pleased to meet all your requirements. Each morning there was a good continental breakfast provided, along with a pleasant chat with Sarah who could give you lots of ideas of places to visit. I was very pleasantly surprised in Florida to fine a place that offered "tea" as an option & Sarah makes a wonderful cup - a life saver for a Brit. abroad. An extremely welcoming B&B.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Casa Thorn, located in a quiet neighborhood, in Islamorada for three nights. Loved the beautiful outdoor living space/gardens/pool, and our cozy room was very inexpensive compared to other places we stayed. Thorn, the owner, has great people working for her - Sarah and Chris were helpful and fun. The continental breakfasts started our days out right. We kayaked the mangroves in the nearby state park and spent a day on the ocean snorkeling which we booked through Theatre By The Sea. Only six people in our boat - ask for captain Heidi - she was fabulous. Eat beach side at Morada Bay, Lazy Days, and watch the sunset at Lorelei. Will definitely stay at Casa Thorn again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This bed and breakfast is a great stop if you're on your way to key west. We stayed a few nights as we wanted to kayak in the area and relax before heading out. The property has lovely gardens and the location is in a very quiet neighborhood. The room we selected was "secret garden" it was bright and pretty. Just a few downfalls. Didn't care for the plastic under the sheets, a bit uncomfortable and sweaty. I felt, i was sleeping in a patio and not a fan of the sliding door in the shower as it just gathers dirt in the doorway floor. We sat outside in the evening and enjoyed a beverage, best part. The garden is best in the evening as the patio has soft lights everywhere.
One of the reasons I prefer staying in a bed and breakfast IS for the breakfast and I'll pay more because of it, and that is where I was most disappointed. Muffins and fruit and cereal is continental which is fine now and then, however, you can always get that at any hotel. A good quiche or scrambled egg with bacon is a yummy way to start a day on vacation. I can not give it 5 stars for the price, sorry.
It was a great pleasure meeting Ms. Thorne. Thanks

Room Tip: rooms from the house will be best I think, better garden area and not in the back of the house.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mythreesons13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a great time at the Casa Thorn. We really didn't know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. The decorations are a bit over the top, but Thorn put a lot of time and money into her landscaping, which made it special.

We stayed in the Moroccan Room...awesome. The bed was comfortable and the Jacuzzi tub was HUGE and amazing! It was spacious and very cozy.

We enjoyed having a quiet place to retire to at the end of the day. Casa Thorn is on a side street, secluded from the action of the other resorts in Islamorada. I wouldn't deem Islamorada as a loud party town, though. However, after being out all day, we had a place that was quiet.

The breakfasts were basic, but sufficient. Most days, there were muffins, bagels, cereals, oatmeal, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, and juice. It was plenty, as we were going to be having lunch and dinner later that day (larger portions than our normal lunches and dinners). One day, we had biscuits and gravy with eggs. They were delicious! We enjoyed our time at breakfast talking to Sarah. She had great recommendations and was a delight to chat with.

I would recommend Casa Thorn. We will definitely be back. It was a great experience! The only thing I would have liked was to be a little closer to the main area. We rented bikes and wanted to ride them to dinner. There were plenty of restaurants in riding distance, but there were a couple specific restaurants we would have liked to have been able to get to at night on a bike.

Room Tip: Try to get the Moroccan Room. The bed is king sized and the Jacuzzi is incredible!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The only complaint I have is that I was only able to stay one night. We went for NYE 2013. We stayed in the Secret Garden. Truly private. You have a separate entrance, your own private patio and garden. The room was very nicely decorated. The attention to detail is amazing. The bathroom has a sliding glass door and gives you a feeling of showering outdoors. Very romantic and comfortable.

Staff is friendly. Sarah and Mrs. Thorn make you feel as if you are old friends.

Next time we will stay more than one night. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent our 10th anniversary in the Secret Garden room at Casa Thorn. We didn't want to do one of the big touristy resorts, but wanted something a little more seculded. We really enjoyed our stay, especially our breakfast chats with Juanita.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevekropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
7.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
745 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
721 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
5.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Palm Ln, Islamorada, FL 33036-3015
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £114 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian, Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast, television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing