We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love love loved it!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Did not want to leave! Very beautiful, clean, quiet and the breakfast was amazing! We stayed for the whole weekend and felt and were treated like family! You can best believe we will be back and will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcpgirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    47
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
209
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed over the weekend. We didn't know what to expect but came away very satisfied. Stayed at the Malaysian room. Very clean, spacious, with a view to the amazing patio. Extremely quiet too. Definitely a place to stay for a quick getaway. The innkeeper Sarah was very nice and knowledge, always has a nice breakfast ready every morning. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back. Did I mention AFFORDABLE?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrillSeeker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the Moroccan Room, elegant, as well as beyond affordable in relation to the run of the mill hotels in the area and the giant Jacuzzi was a treat more than once a day. The whole property was like an oasis and when you wanted seclusion you had it and when you wanted conversation and company you had it. Even the other guests were a different breed. They were neighbors that you got to know and share each others lives with. We were absolutely treated like family when we were there. The food was simple and very well done. Everyone who ran the B&B became our friends and food suggestions as well as attractions were spot on. I have never wanted to live where I stayed and this place stole my heart. We will be back every year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

There was dog urine on the floor. Every smelled of mildew. My shoes stuck to the floor it was so dirty. We were so disgusted by the filthy room we left and found a hotel to stay at. They made unauthorized charges on our credit card and refused to reimburse. We would never recommend this B&B to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThornIslamorada, General Manager at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Terry,

We are extremely disappointed about your poor experience.
We have high service and cleaning standards and we take pride on insuring each guest experience is unique and memorable.
I would be more than happy to assist you with any billing issues you may have.
Contact me via email at casathorn@webtv.net.

Thank you,
Sarah Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A unique B&B in a quiet location, offering a variety of different styled rooms. We stayed in the Secret Garden Room, well equipped with the addition of having its own private garden plus a further terrace. The owner, Thorn is a remarkable lady who made you feel welcome & the staff, Sarah, Chris & Vivienne are only to pleased to meet all your requirements. Each morning there was a good continental breakfast provided, along with a pleasant chat with Sarah who could give you lots of ideas of places to visit. I was very pleasantly surprised in Florida to fine a place that offered "tea" as an option & Sarah makes a wonderful cup - a life saver for a Brit. abroad. An extremely welcoming B&B.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Casa Thorn, located in a quiet neighborhood, in Islamorada for three nights. Loved the beautiful outdoor living space/gardens/pool, and our cozy room was very inexpensive compared to other places we stayed. Thorn, the owner, has great people working for her - Sarah and Chris were helpful and fun. The continental breakfasts started our days out right. We kayaked the mangroves in the nearby state park and spent a day on the ocean snorkeling which we booked through Theatre By The Sea. Only six people in our boat - ask for captain Heidi - she was fabulous. Eat beach side at Morada Bay, Lazy Days, and watch the sunset at Lorelei. Will definitely stay at Casa Thorn again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This bed and breakfast is a great stop if you're on your way to key west. We stayed a few nights as we wanted to kayak in the area and relax before heading out. The property has lovely gardens and the location is in a very quiet neighborhood. The room we selected was "secret garden" it was bright and pretty. Just a few downfalls. Didn't care for the plastic under the sheets, a bit uncomfortable and sweaty. I felt, i was sleeping in a patio and not a fan of the sliding door in the shower as it just gathers dirt in the doorway floor. We sat outside in the evening and enjoyed a beverage, best part. The garden is best in the evening as the patio has soft lights everywhere.
One of the reasons I prefer staying in a bed and breakfast IS for the breakfast and I'll pay more because of it, and that is where I was most disappointed. Muffins and fruit and cereal is continental which is fine now and then, however, you can always get that at any hotel. A good quiche or scrambled egg with bacon is a yummy way to start a day on vacation. I can not give it 5 stars for the price, sorry.
It was a great pleasure meeting Ms. Thorne. Thanks

Room Tip: rooms from the house will be best I think, better garden area and not in the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mythreesons13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
7.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 Palm Ln, Islamorada, FL 33036-3015
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian, Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast, television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing