We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome to Paradise”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Exceptional stay. Out of the way Paradise. Beyond my expectations!! Stayed in the Malaysia Room.....slept like a baby.The breakfast was delightful, Felt like family being there. Thanks to Thorn, Vivian, Sara and Chris for making my stay heavinly. Definitely coming back,

Room Tip: Malaysia room was very comfortable and you felt like were in a Paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    47
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
209
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at over 100 B&Bs in many countries. Casa Thorn was by far the WORST that we have ever experienced. We were welcomed by a surly woman still in her housecoat at 3.pm. She was very disoriented and couldn't find our booking. The unit was "rustic" to say the least. We were given a key which was of no use as the lock didn't work. Nor did the screen door! We paid for our overpriced room and left quietly the next morning, not wanting to risk what breakfast would bring. This location does not give credit to the many honest B&B owners that we have met who give their guests a comfotable, memorable experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThornIslamorada, General Manager at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear George,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at Casa Thorn.
We were alerted to the issues you encountered, but they seem to differ from what you listed.
To clarify, the staff you encountered was a visiting nurse, not a guest services staff member.
We are sorry for any confusion or dissatisfaction this may have caused.
We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further if you wish.
Feel free to contact us at casathorn@webtv.net.

Thank you for your time,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Did not want to leave! Very beautiful, clean, quiet and the breakfast was amazing! We stayed for the whole weekend and felt and were treated like family! You can best believe we will be back and will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcpgirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed over the weekend. We didn't know what to expect but came away very satisfied. Stayed at the Malaysian room. Very clean, spacious, with a view to the amazing patio. Extremely quiet too. Definitely a place to stay for a quick getaway. The innkeeper Sarah was very nice and knowledge, always has a nice breakfast ready every morning. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back. Did I mention AFFORDABLE?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrillSeeker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in the Moroccan Room, elegant, as well as beyond affordable in relation to the run of the mill hotels in the area and the giant Jacuzzi was a treat more than once a day. The whole property was like an oasis and when you wanted seclusion you had it and when you wanted conversation and company you had it. Even the other guests were a different breed. They were neighbors that you got to know and share each others lives with. We were absolutely treated like family when we were there. The food was simple and very well done. Everyone who ran the B&B became our friends and food suggestions as well as attractions were spot on. I have never wanted to live where I stayed and this place stole my heart. We will be back every year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

There was dog urine on the floor. Every smelled of mildew. My shoes stuck to the floor it was so dirty. We were so disgusted by the filthy room we left and found a hotel to stay at. They made unauthorized charges on our credit card and refused to reimburse. We would never recommend this B&B to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThornIslamorada, General Manager at Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Terry,

We are extremely disappointed about your poor experience.
We have high service and cleaning standards and we take pride on insuring each guest experience is unique and memorable.
I would be more than happy to assist you with any billing issues you may have.
Contact me via email at casathorn@webtv.net.

Thank you,
Sarah Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A unique B&B in a quiet location, offering a variety of different styled rooms. We stayed in the Secret Garden Room, well equipped with the addition of having its own private garden plus a further terrace. The owner, Thorn is a remarkable lady who made you feel welcome & the staff, Sarah, Chris & Vivienne are only to pleased to meet all your requirements. Each morning there was a good continental breakfast provided, along with a pleasant chat with Sarah who could give you lots of ideas of places to visit. I was very pleasantly surprised in Florida to fine a place that offered "tea" as an option & Sarah makes a wonderful cup - a life saver for a Brit. abroad. An extremely welcoming B&B.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
7.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
3.2 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Conch on Inn Motel
Conch on Inn Motel
#3 of 11 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 114 Palm Ln, Islamorada, FL 33036-3015
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This treasure is hidden away in a secluded, quiet, tropical atmosphere in the Florida Keys. Each of the 5 rooms is decorated in their own unique style: Moroccan Room, Secret Garden Room, Malaysian, Bombay and Tiki Hut. All of the rooms include: breakfast, television/VCR/DVD, wireless internet, and terry cloth bathrobes. Pets allowed for a small fee. No children under 8, please. After breakfast, relax by the pool or use the pass to go to a really nice beach. We are not handicap accessible, however, 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor with sliding glass doors that make them wheelchair/scooter accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Thorn Hotel Islamorada
Casa Thorn Bed And Breakfast
Casa Thorn Bed & Breakfast Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing