We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our room was completely different!”
Review of Conch on Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conch on Inn Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“our room was completely different!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

our room was completely different than expected after looking at pictures on tripadvisor! We had room 1 (double bed). The main reason for my bad review is the bed. It was very small (smaller than queensize) and squeaked very loud when moving just a little bit. The mattress was also dirty and the sheet had stains (I think the sheet was laundered and the stains came hopefully from coffee and don't go out anymore while being laundered, but anyway, it shouldn't be used in this condition....)

The room was veery small, there's not even space for a suitcase...!

And finally, it seems the person who built this room didn't know what he does.

Room Tip: Don't accept room #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    72
    12
    8
    15
See reviews for
66
128
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here on the last two nights of 2013, and had a very pleasant stay. Cindy and Mike made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived until I checked out. We even had drinks while chatting for a long while one night out in the common area under the Tiki huts. I stayed in the double bed room, and it was clean and cozy, with a nice flat screen tv and a refrigerator/freezer/microwave combo unit. There was also a coffee maker, and the bed sheets and bath towels were switched out each day. This unit is perfect for a single traveler, and may work well for a couple who are just looking for a nice, affordable place to stay. I did not have any issue with road noise, as I had the AC unit fan running all night. The motel is dog friendly, and I did not have any issues with any dogs barking while I was there. Mike and Cindy were great at recommending local places to eat and drink (I recommend the Ocean View Pub outdoor bar - very good drink prices and a delicious pulled pork sandwich). The drive from here to Key West took just under two hours, so that made it possible for a day trip. Bahia Honda was a shorter drive and well worth the visit. I would definitely stay here again on another visit to the Keys, and as others have noted, improvements are continually being made on the rooms and grounds of the property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is an old motel being renovated by new owners. They have done a lot of work over the last two years and have plans to do more. The rooms, though old, have fresh paint, new floors and good housekeeping. Our room (room 3) had an older full size refigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The air conditioning worked well. There are some things it did not have, but we felt it was well worth it. It is PET FRIENDLY. The owners have three dogs that spend a lot of time on the courtyard which fronts on a salt water canal. A family of manatees comes by daily, attracted by fresh water from a spring under the dock. We swam in the canal. Fish seem to be abundant.

The courtyard is fenced with three areas, a garden, the dock, and an adjoining courtyard area in front of the rooms and behind the office, a good place for morning coffee.. The owners live on premises and are friendly and welcoming. They gave good advice as to where to eat and go, and provided us with a pass to a local park with a beach. It was Christmas and they invited us to eat at their barbeque with them. This is the first time we got a good bye hug from a motel owner. The courtyard functions as living room, lobby, and general gathering area. It is close to the road, but our room was quiet. It is a good location for exploring the keys. If you are afraid of dogs and want the Ritz, spend more elsehere. If we go to the Keys again, we will stay at the Conch On Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18BarbH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights with our dog. The place is very dog friendly and is all fenced in. The rooms were retro cozy and squeaky clean. Our hosts were the best! We would love to return someday. We recommend this place especially if you have a dog(s). There are some great nearby places to eat right on the water. Cindy and Mike we miss you and your wonderful dogs as does our dog Elvis. Good luck in the future with all your upgrades that you are planning. This place is just great!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vermontiscold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Cindi & Mike (owners) made our stay extra special. Beautiful, clean rooms, the wood floors were an awesome surprise.We loved to BBQ outside and watch the sun set...It really was hard to leave. They keep it very clean and are so friendly. They make you feel like your a part of their family. Recommend this to everyone. We hope to go back real soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbalzanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It has been about 6 months since the last visit to my favorite escape. Mike and Cindy have been upgrading non stop. New Tiki roofs, Grills, landscape. The rooms all have new tile and showers ,There is a host of other improvements. I had a great time with the other guests and it was so good to see a place growing in to a real gem.I have this place on my radar for lots more visits and the managers in my heart allways as I feel like family when I am there.

Room Tip: I like room number 2. All I need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnacle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this motel, at it was just by a luck we stayed here. we tried first different other hotels and motels in the area. some where really expensive and not even cozy , or the staff where so rude and not helpfull.
This place was amazing, the host had just bought the place, a really friendly lady and her husband. They had like a little dock where you could sit doing the evening and bbq. Small tiki huts was covering from the sun and if you wanted during the day you could go swimming in the water. it look really cozy and one of the best places we have stayed during our 2.5 month vacation around the world. If your planning to stay in key west stay at this place. value for money and such a nice host. Btw there is wifi at the hotel aswell

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
9.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
661 reviews
4.9 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
4.1 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
729 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pines and Palms Resort
Pines and Palms Resort
#1 of 11 in Islamorada
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conch on Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conch on Inn Motel

Property: Conch on Inn Motel
Address: 103 Caloosa St, Mile Marker 89.5, Islamorada, FL 33070-2121
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Conch on Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conch On Inn Motel and Gardens is designed to be your budget minded, pet friendly home in the Florida Keys. Enjoy our sunbathing area and gardens, with its chickee huts and barbeques. Swimmers, sunbathers and kayakers enjoy quiet pleasurable hours in the sun. For divers: beautiful scuba diving and snorkeling ocean reefs are just minutes away! Nearby charter boats offer diving or deep sea, back country and reef fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Conch on Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conch On Hotel Islamorada
Conch On Inn Motel Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing