We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul ruined our wedding and was aggressive towards us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paul ruined our wedding and was aggressive towards us”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We planned our wedding for two years and spent our life savings. Paul really sold us this venue and he promised he would be there to help us make everything perfect. The night of the wedding he did not keep that promise. The DJ they hired for the evening was TERRIBLE!!! He ruined our first dance we had been taking private classes for 3 months and he knew how important it was. He started the song when I was changing! Then when he re started it the song was half way over! He never announced anything we had to remind him to cut the cake, father daughter dance and even the garter toss! He completely forgot to do the money dance. Paul was no where to be found ! It was incredibly stressful because we had to run around to do everything.Did I mention that two of our photographers cameras were stolen with our
wedding pictures in it......... The next day we calmly asked Paul if we could have a meeting so we could discuss how disappointed we were. Paul was Very aggressive he got in my face and told me to go to he'll. Once they get your check you are on your own!!! I would never book this venue they are sooooo mean and aggressive and once they are paid they don't care!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconutcove85, General Manager at Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
It is unfortunate that Kevin and Jessica felt compelled to make their first contributions to Trip Advisor full of skewed statements and untruths even though they had complimented our wedding services, even highly recommended us to a prospective wedding couple who were touring the property the morning after the wedding. We strive to make every wedding an event that is talked about for years as the “best wedding I have ever been to” no matter if is a elopement package or a big gala. Our 16 year award winning wedding reputation talks for itself, in fact this is the only negative comment you can find from a wedding couple who have recently had their wedding at our property. I am confident that Kevin and Jessica's friends and family are scratching their heads wondering about the bride and grooms' comments. Those who attended the weekend celebration have been talking about what a great time it was. The party started at our Tiki bar on Friday afternoon for their rehearsal dinner celebration, followed by the wedding on Saturday and went on until the wee hours of the morning on Sunday ending with a farewell breakfast.

The owners(a wedding planning team), wedding coordinator, the manager, and an experienced lead banquet server all worked to make this a great event. Far and away our wedding couples enjoy the flexibility of our private estate setting. There does not have to be a strict time line, the party does not have end at a set time like a country club or most other hotels. For example, we will cut the cake when and where the bride and groom want it, the fireworks are never announced as they are a surprise for wedding guests while the bride and groom dance for their first time as husband and wife.



There is no one more sorry than the owners if a miscue with the DJ caused discord for the bride. The DJ hiccup was right after a letter from the bride's father (who did not attended the wedding) was partially read to the bride unexpectedly by a cousin during the toast at which she interrupted and left in tears, culminating with a negligent photographer hired by the bride and groom who supposedly lost all of their wedding images.



We took full responsibility for the miscue of the DJ during the first dance, which was mostly caused by a last minute change request. The first dance is normally performed on the dance floor in front of the DJ, but because this was a choreographed dance that needed additional floor space we moved 120 guests to the court yard away from the DJ with a limited visibility. The DJ itself has written a letter to the bride and groom apologizing for the mistake in the timing of their first dance and he should not have relied on the guests to advise him on the bride's entrance. He had sincerely apologized for the error in his judgment along with our staff. However, the first dance went as planned after the DJ started the music once the bride was ready and it ended with a gorgeous fireworks display that was coordinated by Paul while offshore in a barge in the ocean.




The photographer was a friend of the wedding couple and was enjoying the festivities in the bar heavily drinking as an invited guest. She had left their photography equipment overnight by the beach on Friday night after rehearsal, fortunately our staff had returned to the photographer in the morning of the wedding. Unfortunately the same situation happened on Saturday night she had left their equipment once again! This time two cameras unattended overnight by the bar which is located by the main entrance of the hotel.

Unfortunately this time her equipment went missing, and according to the bride statements, with all the wedding photographs on them.



We recommend hiring professional photographers who are not a part of the party. In addition we had never witnessed such a disregard of photography equipment, and precious images of a couple from a professional photographer. All of the photographers we use always take their equipment with them after the wedding is over. Due to the described circumstances at the time, some unknown by the bride on Sunday afternoon, the management and owners did not take responsibility for such a situation and did not take kindly the accusations that were made blaming our wonderful wedding staff for the lost wedding photos and equipment. It is unfortunate the bride lost all of her wedding images,she is entitled to her opinion,we are saddened for that situation and very sympathetic to her loss, but we will not take responsibility for that. We truly had hoped that this situation had not overshadowed the magnificent work that was put in this extraordinary wedding. Coconut Cove Resort & Marina, its staff including the owners wish the best for the future to this couple.

We hope this response shows a whole picture. We are committed to delivering the "best wedding you have ever been to" every time and always strive for total customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    72
    26
    23
    35
See reviews for
104
115
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Alex and Wanda - we had our dream wedding at Coconut Cove, thank you Paul,Magda,and Lori for making our special day happen with no flaws and perfect.The pool is really nice, the honeymoon suite is nice, love the huge bathroom fit for a queen! We had a great time there and enjoyed our destination wedding at Coconut Cove!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wroldan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I were married at this beautiful resort in September 2011. I would recommend Coconut Cove to anyone! After all the phone calls back and forth to Paul, I could not wait to get down there and see if the resort was everything he made it out to be. It was even better! This place is truly paradise! Paul and Magda are great at running their business and giving the most memorable weddings. Everything I wanted, they did! We had 30 guests total and I havent heard a negative comment from any of them. The food for the reception and the wedding were exceptional! The pool is so nice and relaxing, very clean, great for all ages as it has the shallow and deep ends. My step son loved helping Magda feed the fish and the birds in the mornings :)

The only suggestion I can give to Coconut Cove is that a vending machine would definitely come in handy!! We drove 22 hours down there and were exhausted and just ready to relax… upon entering CC there was nothing to eat or drink. Magda did give us some soda but we still had to unload the car then make a trip back up the road to go to the grocery store. If you are staying more than 2 nights I would also suggest getting one of the cottages so that you will have the convenience of a full kitchen and refridgerater.

If you want an unforgetable, stress-free, destination wedding, I would higly recommend booking this place! You will not be disappointed! Paul will make all of your dreams come true!! My husband and I can't wait to go back and it hasn’t even been a month since we've left! Thank you again to Paul, Magda, and the entire staff for everything! We'll be back to see you!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconutcove85, Guest Relations Manager at Coconut Cove Resort and Marina, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Missy,
It was a truly pleasure being part of your magical day. Thank you for honoring us with your amazing wedding, family and friends.
Thank you for your suggestion a vending machine is already in order.
We can't wait to see you again!
Best Wishes
Paul, Magda & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I've stayed at this resort many times over the past several years and consider it my home away from home. It is easy to find and has everything you need within a few miles. Bring some groceries and a boat and you won't have to leave. The quite and peaceful resort setting has picture perfect sunrise views, tropical plants, pool with waterfall, marina with ramp for smaller boats around 22' or less.

Room Tip: The Captain's Quarters are unique cottages that have full fridge, mini stove, and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finatic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Dear Magda and Paul, Thank you for making Rachel and Ben's wedding so special. The location is wonderful and the effort and thought that went into making everything perfect for them was truly fantastic. In particular, I have to say that Magda is really gifted with flowers and decor and that everyone at the resort worked really hard to ensure that everyone had a good time. If you want a family wedding that is both relaxed (we got to run the tiki bar all week, which is just as well as the Janke's party hard!) and also very thoughtfully managed then this is the ideal resort. I think some of the negative comments must have been from people expecting an all inclusive style deal but if you are active and like to manage your own time (there is a lot to do on Islamorada and nearby) and can accept that the Keys has a very relaxed pace of life then you will definitely have a good time :) PS Magda say hi to the guinea piggies from me x

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

It makes me mad to read the nasty reviews left by some - if you are expecting a Hilton, then by gosh STAY at a Hilton (there are plenty of generic box hotels in the Keys). This is a true Keys experience - a spectacular beach area and the lagoon pool is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen. Their number one priority is the private wedding and if you do NOT want to be "inconvienienced" by a wedding, then ASK first! Also, the cabins are wonderful (granted, again this is a KEYS experience, not the Westin), private and so incredibly relaxing. It is widely known BRING YOUR OWN FOOD or plan on eating out. If you don't know what to expect, leave your mind open OR check into a 'box' hotel where you know what to expect (sound proof rooms, standard breakfasts, generic pool area). If you really want to know the Keys and the comfort of a family run business, then Coconut Cove is the place for you. Bring the focus of peace, lazy days and tranquil nights....NOT 'where are the elevators, generic breakfast buffet, video games and sterile rooms". This is our second home and we will return every year (my husband and I) and I go twice a year with the 'girls' for long weekends. If you leave a snarkey review, it just proves you have not done your homework, have not researched what a true Keys destination is. And if it was SO bad when you first checked in, I don't recall seeing anyone being held there by gunpoint - so go down the street in either direction and find your generic box hotel - which is sure to please you negative neanderthals. For those who LOVE the Keys and understand the Keys - stay at Coconut Cove, it is heaven and the couple who run it are the resident angels. Choose a cooler time of year if you are not into heat (this IS South Florida) like November through May. Bring your own booze, an open and Zen mind and some books for you and your kids (thought this is really and ADULT place to stay). I am a born here resident of South Florida and this is as good as it gets in the Keys IF you adjust your thinking (like with all of life).

Room Tip: We prefer the private cabins with full kitchens - park in front of your own room, bring your own foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I was in Islamorada, Florida last week for a friends wedding & she had it at the Coconut Cove Resort & Marina. Beautiful place, excellent service, and great scenic view. The only problem with the place is that there is limited room availability. There aren't very many rooms to begin with, most of the other rooms, the beds were uncomfortable...it may be difficult to fit large parties there. Other than that, the place was superb!!! Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have a destination wedding in Florida! It's PERFECT!

Room Tip: The bridal suite had the most amazing & comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
4.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.7 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
678 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cove Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cove Resort and Marina

Property: Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Address: 84801 Old Hwy, Islamorada, FL 33036-3418
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Islamorada
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cove Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 7 acres nature preserve, Coconut Cove Resort & Marina exudes a "Caribbean vibe ," offering visitors a quiet, secluded escape at a surprisingly affordable rate. The lowest-priced of the 20 rooms are the Captain's cottages with a full kitchen and picnic table right in front of the room. General's rooms are situated in the more modern building, and are ideal for larger groups and wedding parties (which the resort specializes in). Ceremonies take place on select weekends and come complete with an evening fireworks display.Beautiful sunning beach overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, complimented by a zero-entry outdoor pool with a cascading waterfall. Within walking distance there is boat, wave runner, kayak rentals. Situated in the heart of Islamorada with many restaurant and bars, Theater of the Sea, and the Geological Park within walking distance Coconut Cove is the perfect place to have fun. Complimentary coffee and Danishes are offered each morning along free parking and maid service daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Cove Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cove Resort And Marina Hotel Islamorada
Coconut Cove Resort And Marina Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing