We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a sushi joint”

Kaiyo Grill & Sushi
Ranked #21 of 94 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a nouveau fusion restaurant, representing eclectic styles of cuisines. We source local and seasonal ingredients to compliment our ever changing menu. We have a wine list that represents 5 continents and over 120 offerings.
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We started our meal with sashimi. Delicious. My wife had salmon and I had some steak. The food was well prepared, fresh and served quickly. The deck was quiet and pleasant. A lovely evening, Glad we stopped here rather than Pierre's.

Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Rob Y,

Thank you for your five star review of Kaiyo Grill. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you will dine with us again if you are in Islamorada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 383 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 3 nights of our recent Florida Holiday in Islamorada, staying a Casamorada. We were recommended by the staff to try Kaiyo Grill and we were not disappointed! The steaks were absolutely delicious, far superior to a steak house in Orlando that claims to be in the top ten of American steak houses. Appetisers were exceptionally tasty & a very generous size. Special mention has to go to our lovely server Christina. It was an absolute pleasure to have her serve us, she is charming and attentive. My only negative is that Kaiyo does not open on a Sunday so we could only attend 2 out of our 3 nights. Honestly can't speak highly enough of this restaurant and the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nightingale78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Nightingale78,

Thank you so much for such a fabulous review of us here at Kaiyo grill. We appreciate all of your compliments I will be sure to pass the compliment along to Christina your server. It's always nice to receive a pat on the back for a job well done. We hope to see you in Kaiyo again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

For more then 5 years I dined at Kaiyo's.
During my last visit i noticed the menu had changed and
to my surprise waiter explained the non of the fish offered was local, all cold water fish imported
a total disappointment to locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

MarthaP,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your waiter would tell you that none of the fish offered is local, because that is false. The Fresh Catch of the Day is local as well as a few other menu staples such as the Hogfish. We do offer fish that is not local such as the Yellowtail, which comes from the west coast, I will be sure to speak with the management and chef's so that our servers may be properly informed of the origin of the fish in our restaurant. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Freshest seafood and steaks fixed in their unique style, best dinner we had in the 5 days we stayed in Islamorada. Top notch service without being overbearing. Great apps too, to share.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

John M,

Thank you for your review. It's such a compliment to be considered the best meal you had during your visit and your service was top notch. Thank you for letting others know about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I was in key largo for the weekend with a group of friends and our dinner at Kaiyo Grill was the highlight of the trip. It was well worth the drive down to eat such fresh and delicious food. The atmosphere was relaxing sitting on the patio at sunset and our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. We had a large variety of sushi but also soup,salad, pork belly tacos and dessert. We all left feeling very satisfied but not weighed down and we would all go back any chance we had!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smparker785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleTracker, Public Relations Manager at Kaiyo Grill & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. I remember personally speaking with you about how much you enjoyed your experience. Hopefully we will see you and your party again soon. I hear you have family in the keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaiyo Grill & Sushi also viewed

Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kaiyo Grill & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing