We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway, loved every minute!”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was a surprise birthday weekend for my husband. It was incredibly romantic, spotlessly clean, perfect service, food was excellent. Great amenities such as kayaking, fishing, boating ect. Two pool areas provided us with a quiet place to relax in the adult only pool area near the spa, also a kid friendly, although noisy, pool for families is available. Service was excellent every moment of our stay from our check in with front desk person Jennifer to our check out. Even the valet was excellent! This is not inexpensive but it was worth every penny. My husband and I both would love to just live there! And, we also got champagne on arrival with complimentary souvenir champagne glasses. Lovely place.....

Room Tip: Superior King Oceanfront Bungalow with private beach, oh my.......
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Wow! We are so happy you had such a romantic wonderful time here with your husband. Your kind words about our resort and our staff are greatly appreciated. We hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,435)
There are newer reviews for Cheeca Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,922 - 2,928 of 3,435 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed there all last weekend. The service is horrible!!! As soon as I got home I realized I forgot to pack some of my clothes. I called the hotel that same day and they assured that they would look for it and get it back to me. I never even got a phone call or email back all week! I left a brand new bikini, numerous other items etc. They are such liars. I can not believe they would give me the run around like this. I would never stay there again. I have been calling and emailing everyday and unfortunately I probably won't ever see any of my items again. Thank god I didn't leave my wedding ring or sentimental jewelry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

We deeply regret that we could not find the items you said you left here. We looked for them but we could not find them. We did return your phone calls, and we left messages for you on a few occasions. We also e-mailed you a few times apologizing for not being able to locate your possessions. We are so sorry you had a bad experience. Our policy is to return all items left behind by our guests as soon as possible. We appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just remember! You get what you pay for! We stayed here for our honeymoon last week and loved it! We stayed in the premier king ocean view room... the perfect room! Greeted upon arrival with a glass of champagne(although we don't drink). We were escorted to our rooms then he offered to take a couple of pictures for us! The view was amazing! The room was extremely clean, comfortable and we loved the huge walk-in shower and the tub on the balcony! Nancy in the Tommy Bahama store was like a concierge to us! We did the snorkeling trip and it was great also! I couldn't find a negative thing to say about Cheeca Resort! Thanks to the staff at Cheeca for a wonderful honeymoon!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the premier room with the ocean view...sand, palms and ocean!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

You’re welcome! We can’t wait to have you back! Cheeca is indeed the perfect spot for a honeymoon, and we are so pleased that we met all your expectations. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stay at the Cheeca Lodge over Columbus Day weekend. Our school district had Friday off rather than Monday, so we stayed Thursday thru Sunday. Unfortunately there were two low pressure systems on either side of the Keys, so we had a lot of wind and rain. However, I found the hotel exceptionally clean and the service great and friendly. In fact, I noticed that everytime it rained, the grounds crew was very quick to remove the excess water that accumlated in the parking lots and streets. This commitment to service was found in all of the staff - everybody was helpful and friendly.
Due to the weather, we could not take advantage of the free bicycles or kayaks, however it appeared to me that the equipment was in good condition. We did go fishing on the resorts pier (using the free rods which were in great shape) - my children had a blast. The only complaint I could have is they charged $10 for a bag of frozen bait shrimp!
If you are looking for a great resort in the Keys, try this one. We'll be back - hopefully with better weather.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the golf course which was very quiet. The kids slept on the sofa bed in the oth...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug_Hilmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the rainy weather. We appreciate that you noticed how hard our staff works to maintain our resort and keep our guests as happy and comfortable as possible. We hope you caught (and released) lots of fish off our fishing pier! We welcome you back soon, and will save some bright Keys sunshine just for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at The Cheeca Lodge this past weekend and while the resort is very beautiful and our room was exceptionally nice, the service was very much below average. Others were welcomed with a glass of champagne, we were not. And the service in all the dining rooms was not good. Servers were not friendly and not well mannered. Our meals were nothing like what we expected to experience while staying there, they were very average. And the little shop at the resort definately needs a little more variety. While I love Tommy Bahama clothing, who can afford to spend $250 for a sweater to keep warm due to the rain. They need to add some more affordable souvenirs and gifts to their shop.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJS428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you found our resort beautiful and our accommodations exceptionally nice. We are deeply sorry that our staff did not meet your expectations. We don’t get that feedback very often and we will use yours to work on our level of service. Our policy is to offer a glass of champagne upon check-in to all of our guests; we apologize that somehow we missed yours.

Cheeca’s retail shop features high-end resort wear with the recognizable quality and style of Tommy Bahama and of course, the Cheeca logo! While many of our guests shop here, there are several other great souvenir and clothing shops nearby.

We take your comments to heart, and we will do our best to improve our services here at Cheeca Lodge & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We returned after spending only one night, primarily due to horrible weather that made a trip to the Keys very forgettable. However, I was not impressed by this resort. The bungalows are very small rooms for the price. We had a Lagoon view and the Lagoon was definitely in need of cleaning. There was a film around the edges with lots of leaves blown in from the foliage. The maid service was non-existent. The maid turned down the bed, did not bring any extra towels or take away the used towels. Why have a turn-down service if you don't replace or re-stock soiled linens? The towels were old and not plush or soft. The light in the fan in the room didn't work and one of the desk lamps didn't turn on. The room was very dark and cramped. The closet had only one door that would open with the other door frozen shut. The day that we decided to leave at around 11 a.m., we left the room at about 7 a.m. and drove around in the rain for a few hours. We returned around 10:30, decided to leave around 11 and there was no maid service in the entire bungalow building yet. I read reviews that the rooms were not cleaned during guest stays and this looked like one of this situations in the making. We ate a snack at the restaurant around 2-3 in the afternoon the day that we arrived and had a dozen peel and eat shrimp for $30. The shrimp was good. The wine was $13 a glass for average wine. That snack cost us over $70 for a shrimp appetizer and 2 glasses of very average wine. We rented a Hobie cat for an hour the afternoon that we arrived and that cost $55 plus tax so it was almost $60 bucks for 1 hour. That's on top of the mandatory resort fee. We decided to leave on Saturday after spending less than 24-hours in the Keys because the weather was awful and there is absolutely nothing to do at the Cheeca or in the Keys in bad weather. When it rains and you need to get to the Lodge, the puddles are up to your ankles.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

We certainly wish the weather would have been nicer during your stay. That’s a shame, but unfortunately we can’t control that. Our groundskeepers work tirelessly to keep our grounds, beaches and lagoon area immaculate and free of leaves – a task made even more daunting when the weather is bad. We apologize for the problems with your accommodations – our housekeeping staff also strives very hard to clean every room as soon as possible. Please note that we have replaced the towels with new, plush ones. A quick call to the front desk would have fixed any problems you had immediately.

We are glad you enjoyed the shrimp, and want you to know that we only serve high-end wines in all our restaurants.

While our resort fee does include bike rentals, tennis, golf, fishing rods, kayaks, shade cabanas, fitness studio, spa exercise classes, DVD movie rentals, in-room coffee, tea and bottled water, wireless internet, lobby DSL stations, housekeeping gratuity, local and 800 calls, guest fax services, daily newspaper delivery and valet parking, it does not include watersports like hobie cat rentals. We appreciate your comments, and hope you will consider coming back when the weather is nicer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We've just recently returned from a fantastic week at Cheeca Lodge and Spa in Islamorada. The resort is absolutely gorgeous. The room was incredibly comfortable, perfectly plush, and far better than expected. The beach, grounds, and fishing pier were remarkable. The customer service staff was amazing! The only down side to the entire experience was dinner at the on-site Italian restaurant. We spent over 20 minutes with empty glasses. The dinner was beautiful presented, but just okay in flavor. The wait staff seemed distracted and behaved like you would expect of teen-aged waiters at TGI-Friday's. We definitely expected a much better dining experience from such a beautiful resort. Our dinner bill was around $125. For that price, we expect to be impressed. We will definitely stay with Cheeca in the future, but we'll pass on the on-site restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are delighted you found Cheeca absolutely gorgeous, and that your room exceeded your expectations. We apologize for the quality of service you found at the restaurant, and we will use your review to improve and educate our servers.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,846 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £185 - £638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing