We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first time experience in Florida keys”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Arriving at Cheeca lodge definitely surpassed expectations. They had a warm welcome and explained all amenities on site. One thing we took advantage of was the abundance of Sport activities located on the hotel ground. These included tennis, golf, running/ biking trails, spa, work out room, and of course the pool (both adult and kids). We overheard the hotel was at full occupancy but it never felt that way. We never felt overcrowded and could always find a spot to get away. One of our favorite places on site was the Chart Room and outdoor balcony. It was a nice escape and a great place to watch the sunset. The service was outstanding. Everyone made an effort to make us feel at home and enjoy the Keys to their fullest extent. The Cheeca lodge was located at the optimal location. There were many excellent restaurants around Islamorada including two great places in walking distance to Cheeca. All in all we had an amazing time escaping from the snow at home and would describe the Cheeca as Fun for the whole family!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank B_E_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are so happy we created the perfect backdrop for your first trip to the Florida Keys, and exceeded your expectations. With its 27 acres of tropical gardens, 1,100 feet of palm-lined beach, two swimming pools and a saltwater lagoon, there is plenty of room for families and couples alike to enjoy this property. We appreciate you pointing that out! We are glad you had an amazing vacation here, and please come back for more fun for the whole family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,432)
There are newer reviews for Cheeca Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,038 - 2,044 of 3,432 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Spent a week at Cheeca Lodge in one of the lagoon rooms. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable, but the walls are thin and you can hear if anyone is in the room next door. Service I think could be more forthcoming at times, as came across as a bit hit and miss at times. It took almost an hour for my morning coffee to be delivered to my room, in a takeaway cup! Also reserved a table in the restaurant for a special occasion, only to be told upon arrival we would have to wait 45 minutes longer than our original booking time, so we asked to speak with the duty manager whom acknowledged the situation but did not go out of his way to resolve the matter. By The way, apart from a party of about 12 people we were the only other people in the restaurant. Cannot fault the quality of the food. Although sometimes lacking in finesse, we would return, and are likely to recommend staying here, but would suggest choosing another room type because of the sound proofing, or lack of. We enjoyed the amenities which were included in the additional daily resort fee.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review and it’s great to hear you would recommend staying here and would return again. We would love to have you! We apologize for the noise issues in your otherwise clean, spacious and comfortable room. We are also very sorry for the service issues you had with room service and in the restaurant. An open table in our restaurants this time of year could mean that a reservation is being held for it, but we certainly apologize for the long wait you experienced. It was really nice to hear you enjoyed the amenities included in the resort fee.
Thank you so much for your feedback, and we do hope you will “cross the pond” again soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our second trip to the Cheeca and we were very happy to say they corrected everything we found unpleasant our first stay. The staff were very friendly and warm the minute we drove on the property. We had our swim suits ready to change into while we waited for our room to be ready. We lounged by the adult pool and relaxed with a cocktail. Since we were visiting for a friends wedding we had to drive off site a few times. The valets were so accommodating it made that part of our stay stress free. The grounds are lush and well maintained. So nice to ride the free bikes around the property and area. There are so many things to do, golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, (fee)para sailing ( fee) and fishing( fee). And don't forget the spa but we did not use it. The restaurants are wonderful so don't feel you need to go off site to eat. But if you do there are many local places a walk away.

Room Tip: We stayed at the main lodge both times. One time over looking the golf course the other the ocean vi...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We loved your review and were delighted to hear you were happy with your second stay. It’s nice to hear our staff was friendly and professional, especially our valet staff. We were thrilled you took full advantage of all the amenities we have to offer here at Cheeca. Please come back for a third visit, and thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent location directlly on the beach. Very professional and accomadating staff. Hotel restaurant also was excellent along with an extensive wine list. Make sure you utilized your large outdoor tub it's perfect after a day of fishing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john-hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your excellent review about Cheeca here in the “Sport Fishing Capital of the World.” We hope you caught lots of fish! We appreciate your kind words about our staff and wine list, and we hope you will come back soon; your balcony soaking tub is waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Had a delicious breakfast with the most amazing view on the terrace at Cheeca. Rene was so pleasant & attentive. Marie remembered us from dinner from the other night, and made sure we had our favorite table. We had a great experience and will definitely visit again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Catm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Kudos to Rene and Marie for making you feel so welcome, and we greatly appreciate your praise of our resort. We surely hope you come back again for an encore performance. Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We've visited Cheeca a couple of years in a row with our three young sons (6,4 & 1.5 yrs old) and absolutely love it. It's beautiful and laid-back. The staff is incredibly friendly and all work to make sure guests are having a great time. It's chic yet kid-friendly, exactly what we look for in a place to stay. The food is fresh and so good that I think about it after I leave. ;) **If you visit, be sure to get a Bloody Mary made by Wayne (who drives the golf cart full of food & drinks) on the beach!! They're the best we've ever had!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We are so happy you love Cheeca! Families are very important to us and we want each member of the family to feel happy and welcome. Thank you so much for your rave review of our food, and for Wayne’s Bloody Marys. Hurry back; he will make you another one. Or two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I returned to Cheeca in October 2013 for his 50th, without the kids. We had purchased a Groupon for a room in the main building. I have NEVER had a better time than we had that weekend. The room is over 800 square feet! The building has been re-done since a fire and is beautiful. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the ocean. It was beyond gorgeous and very romantic. There is an outdoor tub on the terrace! At Cheeca you will have delicious food, great service and the best cocktails ever. LOVE CHEECA!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are around $600/night. Look for deals on the website or watch Groupon.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We cannot wait for you to come back! We are pleased you took advantage on one of the special promotions we offer from time to time. We really appreciate the compliments, and thank you for writing. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,371 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,845 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £186 - £639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing