We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many disappointments” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Too many disappointments”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We're seasoned travelers, and have stayed in every kind of place imaginable, all over the world, so we generally have reasonable expectations for the places we stay. Unfortunately, Cheeca Lodge lived up to none of them.

We booked a room for a special occasion, and paid a fairly significant rate. When we arrived, we were given a room looking out over the driveway on the very lowest floor, and told that there was nothing else available. However, I heard the reservations woman next to our check-in host tell a couple who had walked in to inquire about a room for the night that they had a bungalow and an ocean view room available, both for a rate lower than we had paid. I don't mind paying a lot for a place, but I resent paying about $700.00 a night, and getting a room on the parking lot when there are clearly other options available.

We went to our spa appointments, and were told that they only had an appointment for one of us, even though we had a confirmation of the appointments. The woman at the spa was very rude, and even after sending her the verification of our appointments, kept denying we had ever booked them. It was so frustrating!

My husband requested in advance that a wine and cheese plate and flowers be delivered to the room. They actually told him that they could not get flowers delivered, and the plate they sent up was ridiculous. It consisted of an orange, a bruised apple, a whole pear, some crackers and a round of cheese. Oh, and three overripe chocolate covered strawberries left over from St. Patrick's Day... How do I know that? It was two days after St. Patricks Day, and they had green icing all over them... and were so soft I threw them away.

There are lovely things about this place, and I can understand why people would like it, if their experiences didn't go wrong for them. The grounds of the lodge are beautiful. The rooms are nice, and that soaking tub on the veranda is a nice touch, as long as you're not sitting looking at the driveway, with cars and golf carts going by.... The ocean view rooms have spectacular views (after explaining to the manager what had been going wrong, they finally gave us the ocean-view room...) and the Atlantic restaurant has quite good food and service.

But overall, this property is trying to be a 5 star lodge, but is really not much better than a three star hotel. They need to step up the service, and turn down the prices... All in all, quite a disappointment, I'm sorry to say.

Room Tip: Do everything you can to avoid the first floor garden rooms in the lodge. You will be looking out ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CARheartsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
It was nice to read that you discovered our tropical gardens to be beautiful, our rooms to be nice, and that you had am enjoyable dining experience in the Atlantic’s Edge. That’s great!
The balance of your review left us disappointed and a bit confused. We always do our best to accommodate our guests’ requests, and if we have other rooms available than what they have reserved, we try to accommodate these requests, based upon availability. We apologize that we did not live up to your expectations with your initial room, but were glad to here we were able to move you to one of our spectacular ocean-view rooms. We apologize for your unfortunate experience at our spa and will investigate this further.
Our concierge arranges floral deliveries quite often, so we are at a loss as to why we could not get flowers delivered to you. Our welcome amenities are made fresh daily and are usually a very welcome treat – we are so sorry you were disappointed with yours.
We appreciate your input, and hope you will consider another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    809
    424
    202
    135
See reviews for
943
1,578
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Spending a week at cheeca lodge and in general have been pleased with accomodations, grounds, and facilities....but a number of shortfalls are seriously detracting from our stay....

Every morning at exactly 9 am they fire up the loudest leafblower ever invented...forget about sleeping in...it sounds like a jet engine starting outside your bedroom window....and reverberates throughout the resort for two hours.......this could be delayed and done with the low decibel blowers now required in many communities....

We ate at the on site restaurants several times and the food was mediocre at best (and very salty) and service consistently poor.....missed orders....long delays....full meal c oming at once etc...

The housekeeping staff is two anxious to please.....even with a newspaper still outside your door they will knock at 830....on vacation and don't need my room cleaned so aggresively..

This could be a much better resort with better management and more attention to detail and training.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OHIOBuck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We thank you for your feedback, and are delighted to hear that you are pleased with your accommodations, grounds and facilities. We are so sorry that our landscaping crew began their daily cleanup so early; we will see if this schedule can be altered to accommodate our guests. We regret that our restaurants did not meet your expectations and will look into this as well. Our housekeeping department does get an early start as well to ensure all rooms are cleaned in a timely manner. We do provide “do not disturb” cards to keep them from knocking too early – we apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks again for writing, and we do hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

During our roadtrip through Florida, we were looking for a place to get some rest and recover from the impressions we had during the trip so far. We had some relaxation indeed, but this place was not what we expected. The rooms were quite OK, nothing special. Service was below par and there is actually no beach or whatsoever (I would rather describe it as sandy rocks). The pool is small and there's litter in and around the pool.
We had some fun on the golf court and could relax on the stretchers near the sea, but this wasn't just what we expected from a seaside resort. When returning to the Keys, we will look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeReuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We thank you for writing about your vacation here back in May 2013. It’s nice to hear you are considering returning to the Keys, but we would like to explain that the beach found at Cheeca Lodge is typical for any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores and creates the type of beach found here in the Keys.
We actually have two swimming pools and a saltwater snorkeling lagoon, and we try very hard to keep our entire property immaculate at all times. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for three nights. This is a wonderful resort, world class, BUT, the housekeeping was not nearly up to par.
First, the positives: the staff in the restaurants, bars, Tiki Hut, bellmen and hospitality desks were outstanding. We were met on arrival by Bruce, the Bell Captain. He was warm and welcoming, taking care of our belongings while we headed off to check-in and dinner. He later took us to our suite, while explaining all aspects of the property. He obviously took pride in his work and the resort.
The Atlantic's Edge restaurant was fantastic in every way; both food and service. Italian restaurant-Limoncello, not so good. Tiki Hut food and drink, excellent. Our suite, overlooking the resort, was beautiful and quiet. The bathroom was very nice with a large "jacuzzi-style" tub and large shower with wonderful shower heads; we could shower together. All staff, with the exception of housekeeping, were very attentive and friendly. The dock is very nice and it was fun to see children fishing and catching. Loved the beach-it has a bulkhead, so walking into the water is a bit difficult, but we went swimming. Pool was lovely, but crowed with families. They do have an "adult only" pool which was quieter. There is a lagoon in the "middle" of the resort-not sure what is up with it-it looked dirty although there were children wading in the water.
Some negatives; all is in the details: lampshade liner was cracked and broken, ceiling fan in bedroom quite unbalanced-wobbled, patio door wouldn't lock, AC was a bit noisy, magazine on the coffee table was two years old, the housekeeping staff didn't vacuum-under the bed was a nightmare of dust! We had to request, every day, more coffee, cream and sugar, towels and asked three times for wine glasses-finally we went to the resort lobby and asked for (and received) two champagne flutes! Just annoying to have to keep asking for items that should have been "restocked".
The devil is in the details; if they can get the housekeeping staff up to snuff, this would truly be a WORLD CLASS RESORT.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beautiful suite, with a king-sized bed, resort view. It was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itsadogslife52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful insights, and delighted that overall, you were pleased with our resort. We are so happy you had a positive experience with our staff, restaurants and accommodations. We are also thrilled you loved our beach and wooden fishing pier, and that you enjoyed both our swimming pools. The saltwater snorkeling lagoon is fed with continuously circulated ocean waters and filled with a myriad of local fish. This ecosystem directly reflects the conditions of the ocean waters, which vary greatly with the wind and weather.
We were very disappointed that our housekeeping staff did not meet your expectations, and we are working tirelessly to enhance and improve our services there. We are in the process of implementing noted improvements in this department which will improve our services significantly. We hope you will plan a return visit, so we can demonstrate that we truly are a world class resort. Thanks so much for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We got our Checca reservation through a prepaid package deal. The place was as advertised. We were in room 614, one of the Luxury King Resort Suites. It was perfect for the two of us.....a bedroom with king bed in one room with the kitchen and sitting room next door. To our surprise, there was a full kitchen complete with microwave, dishwasher, and full sized refrigerator with icemaker. Two great flat screen TV's with full coverage cable. This was important because of March Madness basketball watching while we were there.

Before we went we saw the postings about the noise but were pleased with our room. We did not hear any of our neighbors. We think it was because we were in the 600 series rooms which are 8 to a building with parking underneath. The main lodge looked much more noisy with lots of children around being spring break time. We went to the adult pool at the Spa which was just around the corner from our room. It is spectacular, well equipped and quiet.

We checked out bicycles and rode all over the neighborhood. We walked to a number of good local restaurants and ate once at the bar at the hotel. Bartenders recommended the Prince Edward Island Mussels and they were the best I have ever eaten. Good but crowded bar service.

We will defnitely stay at Checca again when we go back to Islamorada.

Room Tip: Stay in a 600 or 700 series room. They are near the spa and very quiet. You might want the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clovernookwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We can’t wait to have you back when you return to Islamorada! We enjoyed your positive comments about your suite, our adults-only spa pool, the beach cruiser bicycles and our Tiki Bar. It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation here, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed 4 days at the Cheeca and found it very relaxing. Our room was a resort view which we found very pretty and quiet. We had a screen balcony which was a nice size facing a hot tub and palm trees. We had dinner the first night and found it a little pricey for what was offered. Lunch was a little better priced. We had a car so we were able to dine at other places. The only issue we had was towels our room would be cleaned and the towels were taken but not replaced. The third night after returning from the beach we found our room not locked and no towels. We thought the maid was coming right back to bring towels after 10 minutes I went to lobby and spoke with (Meeca) and she called to get us towels. I was concerned that our room was left unsecured. Other than that our stay was wonderful we enjoyed the kayaks and the beach.

Room Tip: If you like tropical trees and flowers the resort view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mogamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are elated that you enjoyed a relaxing vacation here at Cheeca Lodge, enjoying your room, kayaking the quiet waters off our beach, and the beach itself. Terrific! We are so sorry for the inconvenience with your towels, and we hope you will return to our tropical resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Cheeca has been revamped since my husband and I were there years ago! We have to say it is a beautiful property with great food! The beach could use some more sand and some cushions for the chairs on the beach. However; Ginger is the best waitress on the beach ever! She had the best customer service as well as Marcus who was extremely nice to my family and arranged a special birthday dessert for my daughter! Thanks Marcus! Rooms are clean and Tommy Bahama style. Little things do need fixing..like our bathroom french door wouldn't shut properly. Room 209.....However...staff is friendly and attentive! The breakfast is great and the shuttle service was great! Reggie was another person who we really loved! We really enjoyed ourselves and will be back!!!

Room Tip: Liking staying in the lodge..close to beach and breakfast..rooms more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainascorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our island paradise. It is so nice to hear that you had a delightful stay and will be returning for a third visit. That’s terrific! Thank you for calling attention to certain members of our friendly and attentive staff -- we share these reviews with our entire team so they will be very happy and proud, as we are. Thanks for writing, and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing