We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you have been searching for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you have been searching for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is located perfectly on the island! The grounds are breathtaking and the service is topnotch. The tiki bar was great, the ice cream bar was my son's favorite spot. They will organize everything for you so all you have to do is show up. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 599Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are so pleased that you found our service topnotch and our location perfect. That’s fantastic! It’s so good to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. Show up again, anytime! Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,566
    810
    425
    203
    135
See reviews for
946
1,578
34
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I highly doubt Cheeca Lodge will maintain its 4 Diamond AAA rating for much longer due to poor service. I will say, Earl at the front security gate was outstanding and quite frankly should teach a class to educate the rest of the employees. We arrived at 10:00am not expecting our rooms to be ready. As expected they were not ready. It was rather frustrating to not receive a call from the front desk until a little after 4:30pm that our room was finally ready. The room ended up being beautiful and we were pleased. The first night no one came to clean our room or give us new towels. We called the front desk before we left for dinner at 7:00pm and told them that no one had come. They promised to send someone right away. We returned from dinner around 9:30pm to find still no one had come. We called again and they brought us towels about 20 minutes later. The resort itself and the grounds were beautiful. We enjoyed playing the par 3 golf course even though they badly need to trim some trees. Upon check out the resort's internet was out. We asked for a bill and they said they couldn't give us one. She said they would e-mail me a copy of the final bill and never did. They should have been somewhat apologetic, but instead she acted defensive and annoyed we wanted a bill. She then came up with a way to print out our bill but only after a battle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We appreciate your review, and thank you for your compliments about our “Cheeca Ambassador” Earl. He is a treasured asset. We are also glad you enjoyed our tropical gardens and our Jack Nicklaus designed executive golf course. We are also very happy that you discovered your room to be beautiful. We apologize that we could not get you into your room as quickly as you would have liked and that you had problems with housekeeping. We are also very sorry about the delay in getting your bill prepared due to computer issues.
Cheeca has won the AAA Four Diamond Award since its re-opening in 1989. We continue to strive to meet the stringent requirements to receive this coveted honor, and we are confident that we will be honored with it again in 2015 and beyond. Thank you for your feedback, and please come back again. Earl will be waiting to greet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was my friend's birthday and we decided to go to Islamorada for the weekend. I forgot my cell phone at the Adult Pool. I let the manager know and the next day they found the phone by the Laundry. I personally would like to thank Armando, because he is the person in charge of that area and he was super helpful and nice. The Hotel is beautiful. We had a great time!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Armando says “you are welcome,” and we are so glad you had a great time here at Cheeca. Happy Birthday to your friend, and please come back soon for another visit. Armando will have a chaise lounge by the pool ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This has to be one of my favorite hotels of all-time. I've stayed here on a few different occasions and one experience was better than the next. The amenities that the hotel itself has to offer are truly unbelievable and the views are stunning from just about every angle. Whether you're looking for a romantic getaway with your significant other, or want to take the kids on a memorable vacation, this is the place to go! Once you check-in and see all that the Cheeca Lodge has to offer, I guarantee you will never want to leave!

Room Tip: Don't discount yourself, spring for the oceanfront if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
This has to be one of our favorite reviews of all time. Thank you! It’s so nice to hear such kind words about Cheeca. We hope you are planning another repeat visit in the very near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

In the course of the history of a hotel, every room has a last resident before that room is upgraded. In the case of our room, that guest should have been one about 18 months ago. But at $628 a night, nobody should ever be such a guest—upgrades should be made before they are needed, not a year or more after they are needed. Although our room was larger than in any Hampton Inn and was on the beach 60 feet from the Atlantic Ocean, I've never stayed in any Hampton or even a Motel 6 or Knights Inn that was as worn, beaten, and poorly maintained as our room at the Cheeca Lodge & Spa.

Certainly the grounds and landscaping of the Cheeca Lodge were beautiful and well kept, but our room—$628 a night plus an outrageous $40 -a-day facilities fee—was dark, drab, beaten, bedraggled, and even grungy. Let me list and describe some of its many failings.

• The floor was worn, scratched and generally faded. In fact, it was obvious that a rug had been removed from under the bed, as that area where the rug had been was darker and had a significantly better finish.
• Not only are the bed lamps 3 feet tall and on top of a 4 foot dresser—which necessitates getting out of bed to turn the light off—but on top of that, they do not provide sufficient light for reading in bed.
• Every dresser rocked back and forth.
• Porch furniture rocked back and forth, and though comfortable, every piece was badly scratched and chipped.
• The sliding glass doors to the porch stuck! They had gaps and were badly dented and scratched. They were just plain worn out and need replacing five years ago.
• The paint on the screened porch railings and door was chipped, corroded, rusted, and needed repair and cleaning years ago. The screened porch door handle was rusted and did not work properly. Every screen on the screened porch had holes.
• The corner cabinet that had once held the TV was worn, chipped, cracked, gouged and a mess.
• The flat-screen TV hanging on the wall was fine, but drooping from the bottom of it were wires and cables.
• The overhead lamp in the fan—the only overhead light in the room—did not work.
• Very lackadaisical cleaning: e.g., dirty refrigerator on arrival, dirty coffee pot first morning, water rings on the tables not cleaned during the entire stay, forgetting to replace drinking glasses, not cleaning any part of the room one day necessitating a call to the front desk.
• Broken faucet handle in the bathroom—that stayed broken during our entire stay.
• Handle on toilette stuck after flushing.
• Curtains in the room were all torn.

The beach is also limited in width. Certainly there is an expansive waterfront, but 90% of it has retention walls of stone or concrete, and only 60 feet or so is actually beach. And on top of that, the first two days of our stay, entrance to the water on that beach was hampered by huge drifts of seaweed. On our third morning, that seaweed was raked and stashed—on the end of the beach.

The waterfront was handsome, not any doubt of that. But I would never recommend this place to anyone, I don't care if the room was 1/3 the cost we paid. Yes, the natural part of Cheeca Lodge & Spa is beautiful and the grounds are immaculately maintained, but this place needs money, time, and work invested in upkeep of the rooms. And on top of that, somebody needs to do a far better job of supervising the cleaning help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Your thorough feedback is appreciated. We are thrilled that you found our tropical gardens beautiful and well-kept and our waterfront views handsome. However, we read your list of issues with your room with embarrassment and dismay. We certainly have some work to do to remedy this list of complaints. You have our word that we will get to work on this immediately.
Cheeca’s 1,100-foot palm-lined beach is typical of any beach here in the Florida Keys, including the seaweed. The Keys are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores and creates the shallow waterfront and less sandy type of beach found here in the Keys. We are so sorry you were disappointed with it.
We thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will re-consider your recommendation. We invite you back for a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in a lagoon view room, which was very nice. The hotel has a great outlook over the sea, and there is a 9 hole golf course with free clubs and balls. Check-in was very efficient, as was the very helpful member of staff on check out. We ate twice at Limoncello, and were really pleased.

The real snag was that some (not all) of the staff were rude and unhelpful. Housekeeping in particular was poor, and we constantly had to phone for towels and other items which should have been replaced. Note - the marble floor in our bathroom was filthy, and it was a good job we had the slippers from our previous hotel! Breakfast, whilst good, was let down by staff again, sometimes we had to go and find a server, and on most days we had to get someone to chase up the chef/cook responsible for the egg station. We were not the only people unhappy with the chef doing a disappearing act. The only star in the breakfast crew was a super lady named Rene. She seemed to do twice as much work as the others, and seemed frustrated at times that some staff seemed to be hiding!

To be fair, the hotel listened to our concerns about housekeeping, and everything was resolved to our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms look to be fantastic, but they come at a price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsayburnett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and considerate review. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, the golf course, our front desk staff and our Italian restaurant, Limoncello. We also appreciate your praise of Rene, one of most loyal and treasured employees. We are so sorry for the issues you had with housekeeping and restaurant staff. We always want to hear about guest concerns so we can address them at the time as we did with you. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you are planning a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Definitely worth staying in Islamorada. Ocean view rooms with bathtubs on balcony are excellent! Without kids or with kids!! Bathrooms are huge! Property is awesome. Lagoon is so fun for kids to snorkel in. Dock is great to fish off. Location is excellent with great restaurants around. Hotel provides shuttle service as well! Excellent feature.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Your review was tops with us! Thanks. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing