We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was fortunate enough to discover Cheeca Lodge and have experienced paradise on earth. Every aspect of my stay exceeded all of my expectations. The grounds are wonderfully landscaped, there are many activities to do that range from golf to parasailing, and the food is simply amazing. The rooms are large and quite astonishing.

While there are many places to stay that are remarkable, the level of service is what really makes the difference. From the moment I arrived at Cheeca we was treated like we were the only one there. Everyone there was so inviting and welcoming. Most notably, is the bartender Robert Bruce. His level of service is simply unprecedented. I got engaged while staying there and Robert really went the extra mile. We were served champagne and a plate of fruit. Robert Bruce stopped what he was doing to take pictures of our special occasion.

I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a memorable experience that they cannot find anywhere else. Make sure you order the hogfish and lobster grille cheese!

-David

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your remarkable review, and congratulations on your engagement! We are honored you chose Cheeca for this very special event, and are delighted that Robert took such good care of you. It is rewarding to read that we met and exceeded all your expectations, as that is our goal with each and every guest who stays here. It is especially rewarding to read that you found are rooms astonishing and our service simply unprecedented.
Thank you for recommending Cheeca, which truly is paradise on earth. Please plan a return visit soon. P.S. Cheeca would be a great location for your wedding!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,432)
There are newer reviews for Cheeca Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,911 - 1,917 of 3,432 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our sixth visit to Cheeca Lodge. As you can guess it is our favorite long weekend get-a-way. This trip we went as a couple, and as usual it was incredible. My husband loves the fishing pier, and we both love the tennis courts, oceanfront tiki bar, and adult pool. If you are looking for a special spot, this is it! We have also traveled here with our children, our son especially loved the fishing pier. Great resort for couples and families alike as there is plenty of adult only areas and family friendly areas. Only downside is it is a bit pricey...

Room Tip: If you can afford it book the Ocean Front King Suite with the incredible round bath tub on the balco...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatEscapesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are delighted to read such a wonderful review from a multiple repeat guest like you. Thank you so much. We are honored that Cheeca is your favorite get-away, both as a couple and with your children! We agree that Cheeca is the perfect vacation spot for couples and families alike. Thank you so much for writing, and we look forward to welcoming you back for a seventh visit and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently returned from the resort and was surprised and amazed with all the free amenities and the service.

The Beach service was over the top, I felt like I was a VIP member on the beach thanks too and I know I will butcher his last name Orlando De Chapel. My wife and I love the attention, which was not so much you were annoyed but just right.

The room was amazing, we stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and we couldn't be happier. The Dive boat was fun and so was the paddle board.

The Sushi restaurant was amazing and fresh.

The check in process was a bit slow but all in all the overall experience was fantastic and I will be returning.


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welovetootravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your amazing review, and we are delighted you will be returning for another “over the top” stay with us. We are happy that Orlando took such good care of you out on our beach. We pride ourselves on our friendly yet unpretentious service and are pleased that we accomplished that with you. We hope you will plan your next visit soon so we can deliver another fantastic overall experience. Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I could not have asked for more in terms of our ocean front room in the main lodge. It was clean and well supplied. They did take out robes on the first morning we were there and despite asking the front desk and leaving a note with a tip, we did not get it back till our thrid and last night there.(Tip was taken, LOL.) Our check in person was very nice and welcoming, but the morning desk person was not as personable.
Both pools were very clean. The adult pool was a little too quiet for us, there was noone swimming in that pool. We couldnt figure out if there was poolside service or not. Only once waiter but he seemed to only pay attention to one group. It was just easier to walk over to the Tiki bar to get a drink.
The "beach" was kind of yucky. I understand not combing the whole water front for seaweed, but the areas for the canoes or beach part, could have used a little clean up.
Tiki bar service was not consistent. If we were the only ones at the bar, we did manage to get quick refills. We had dinner at The Atlantic Edge twice and once at the Sushi restaurant. Both had great wait staff. The Chart Room had a lovely bartender.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASSmom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are grateful for your feedback, and thrilled that you enjoyed your room so much. We also appreciate your praise of our Atlantic’s Edge and Nikai Sushi restaurants with their great wait staffs, as well as the lovely bartender in the Chart Room. Excellent!
We apologize for the delay in getting your robes back to you. We will certainly follow up on this. We are also very sorry about the poolside service at the adults only spa pool; again we will address this with our staff. We are disappointed that our beach did not meet your expectations. Cheeca’s beach is typical of any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. Recent weather conditions have resulted in an excess amount of sargassum seaweed washing ashore, we are so sorry for the inconvenience. We will direct our groundskeepers to work harder to clean it up.
Please come back and see us again soon, and thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This resort had the feel of a Caribbean all-inclusive, with very good service and amenities. The only drawback was that the rooms were not priced with the same reasonable prices, and every food, drink, and extra service was priced like any expensive resort. Yet there were small but obvious ways that this resort has not yet reached the caliber which its prices imply. Glasses that get left out for days on outside tables instead of being picked up, shower that is beautifully designed but with peeling paint on the ceiling. All little things, but noticed. This all being said, the stay was still the best part of our trip and incredibly relaxing with beautiful views. One last note: absolutely stay in the adults only bungalows right on the lagoon. SO much more worth the price than any other room in the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler26Traveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We appreciate your comments, and are delighted you found our service and amenities to be very good. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed your beachfront bungalow; those accommodations are really nice. It’s great to hear that Cheeca was the best of your trip and that you felt so relaxed. We were puzzled by your comments about our pricing, as we feel our menus and amenities are competitive with other non-inclusive resorts of our caliber. We sincerely apologize for the housekeeping and maintenance issues you noticed and will address these right away.
We hope you will return in the near future and we will continue to strive for the perfection you are looking for. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our last visit to Cheeca Lodge was absolutely wonderful and memorable. Jarvis, one of the managers, went above and beyond to make sure our son' birthday celebration was one he'll never forget. We really appreciated his high level of attentiveness and customer service to us and to all the guests at the resort. Jarvis stands out as a valuable asset to the Resort. The rest of the staff was extremely welcoming, friendly, and hospitable. They all contributed to making the Cheeca Lodge our number one go-to resort in the Florida Keys. We have already planned another trip for very soon! We highly recommend Cheeca Lodge and encourage anyone to go!

Room Tip: The extra money is worth it to stay in the main building with the outside tub / rain shower on the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you so much for your tremendous recommendation, and we look forward to having you back. Also, Happy Birthday to your son! We were delighted to hear that your vacation here was absolutely wonderful and that Jarvis and the rest of our staff made you feel so welcome and appreciated. You are! Thanks for writing, and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I decided to do something nice for my wife for her birthday. A friend recommend I go to a place called Cheeca Lodge on the way to the keys. So we did! All I can say is the treatment was regal we pulled up her eyes lit up as the valet came to the car and greeted us. We walked in the lobby to check in, and was greeted with champagne and the service was great. We got to our room and it was a captivating the house keeping alone made us not want to leave they were even better then the front desk agent at the lobby, My wife even became good friends with the house keeper! I say kudos to their service. My wife wouldn't even let us leave without leaving a tip for house keeping. Overall the lodge was A 10 service a 10 house keeping a 20. Thank you again for the great service. Cheeca Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are honored that you chose Cheeca for your wife’s birthday – thank you and Happy Birthday! It’s a pleasure to hear we delivered such regal service to you both that is our goal. We especially appreciate your wonderful comments about our housekeeping staff and our staff in general. That’s wonderful. Thank you for writing, and please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,371 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,845 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: £178 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing