We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Isla Morada”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in Isla Morada”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel has lots of outdoors space and activities, kayaks, paddle boards, hobbycats, pools, tennis and golf courts, spa, beach, fitness centers, restaurants.
The food is excellent, as well as the service.
I strongly recommend the Blueberry Mojito !

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent praise of our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please plan a return visit soon – we will have a blueberry mojito waiting for you. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    843
    441
    213
    143
See reviews for
1,006
1,657
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Always wanted to go here and this weekend we couldn't wait to leave. Checked out at exactly 11:00 am. Where do I start? Air conditioning air handler in room sounded like a Boeing 777. Did not clean our room until 4:30 pm the first day. Not sure why, because the maid only cleaned for 10 minutes and left her chemicals in the room. No service, starting with the valet. Food rated 4 diamond??? More like 2 pebbles. The food was aweful, like boarding school, institutional and void of all taste. And if you want to use the pool, prepare to stay standing on the side. No towels and no chaises. Ridiculous!!!! Really very disappointed. Felt like we were in a motel from Hell.

I will never return and would never recommend this to my worse enemy. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank CharlieB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We apologize that our resort did not meet your expectations. Our mission here at Cheeca is to deliver the ultimate vacation experience to each and every guest, and we clearly missed the mark with you. We will use your feedback to improve and enhance the Cheeca experience on every level. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you are looking for an intimate resort to celebrate a birthday, relax with friends or both, Cheeca is the place! Emanuel (Big E), Jesse and Chris provide amazing service at the adult pool and make you feel like royalty. Treat yourself and order a pina colada or two while you are at the pool. Odell, the jovial waiter from Jamaica, will put a smile on your face every morning. You MUST have the lobster grilled cheese - the chef will even make one for breakfast if you ask. Trust Earl's advice when you meet him at the front gate. Excellent service, delicious food and beautiful amenities, Cheeca has it all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Your review was delightful to read, and really inspired all of us. Thank you! It’s so nice to hear our incredible staff put a smile on your face – that’s what it is all about! We appreciate your compliments about Emanuel, Jesse, Chris and Earl. We hope you come back again soon, so we can treat you like royalty once again. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed one night at the Cheeca Lodge (7/17/14) on our way from Key West to Ft. Lauderdale and had a wonderful time. The staff was excellent and knowledgeable and our room was terrific, especially the screened in balcony overlooking the lagoon. Gorgeous! We had a great time kayaking and the adult pool was a nice, romantic touch as well. Had some great drinks at the outdoor bar (thanks so much Bruce!) and a very enjoyable dinner outside (Sky, thanks for taking good care of us) as well. We loved the flame lit tiki torches in between buildings on our short walk to dinner. The only negative was that we could not stay longer due to our schedule!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room with a great view of the man-made lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonD721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our resort! It’s nice to hear that you had such a great time during your all-too-short stay. We wish you could have extended your visit, and we hope you plan another trip soon. We are grateful for your compliments about our staff and our accommodations, and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at the Cheeca Lodge this past weekend ( August 3 ) for one night and very much enjoyed my stay. From making my reservation all the way to checking out, I felt very relaxed and excited to be at the Cheeca Lodge. The hotel itself is very beautiful, clean, and calming. My friend and I befriended the paddle board rental shack, and enjoyed 2 hours on the paddle boards which was a blast.
I would 100% Recommend this hotel to anybody and I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaStellasRestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We thank you for your 100% recommendation, and we can’t wait to have you back! It is so rewarding to read such a positive review of our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for taking the time to write. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Great family resort. Service was excellent. Food on site was surprisingly good. Kids menus at all 3 including the sushi which was nice. A lot of activities included that kept everyone entertained. We had golf course one bedroom suite which was nice but no kitchen. Resort view suite would have a kitchen so will do that next time.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We greatly appreciate your excellent review of our property – thank you! It’s great to hear you and your family enjoyed our restaurants, and that are expansive choice of activities kept everyone entertained. That’s fantastic! Please plan a return visit in the future, and thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent 6 nights with my family at Cheeka and overall we had a wonderful time. This resort has a very pretty setting directly on the beach with a good access to swimming in the ocean. There are plenty of activities such as kayaks, fishing, tennis, golf and bike riding. Unfortunately we did have a problem with housekeeping. One day our room was not cleaned until 6:30 pm and the following day they failed to give us towels. Denise the manager was extremely nice and gave us a very generous room credit. Keep in mind the restaurants are very pretty and convenient but extremely expensive especially breakfast at $29.00 for the buffet. Another major problem was that there were not enough towels by the pool. With a resort fee of $39.00 there should be plenty of towels. If I was returning to Islamorada I would definitely stay at this resort again overall it is a lovely hotel with a friendly and polite staff.

Room Tip: Request Main building in order to be close to restaurants and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful write-up and it is nice to hear you would definitely stay here again. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our stunning oceanfront setting and all the exhilarating activities we have to offer. We also appreciate your compliments about our friendly and polite staff. We apologize for the housekeeping and towel issues – please know that we are aware of these problems and are making great strides to fix them. Thank you for writing, and we hope you plan another family vacation here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,310 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,714 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing