We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Weekend”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Awesome Weekend”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This was our first time staying at Cheeca Lodge. We had a wonderful time. The food was amazing (best bruch I've had in a long time), the room was very nice, and the staff is extremely friendly. We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, and cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rs5619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,667
    843
    441
    213
    143
See reviews for
1,005
1,657
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

I stayed at Cheeca 4 nights with my husband and two elementary school aged kids. We had a wonderful time. Cheeca is one of those rare places that offers truly luxurious accommodations in a relaxed, family friendly environment. We stayed in the main lodge which just reopened. The rooms were huge and beautifully furnished. The bathroom was one of the best I've seen in a hotel. Seriously.

The property is well maintained with one exception. The staff doesn't pay enough attention to clean up. There were often empty cups discarded around the pool and all over the beach. One morning the remnants of someone's birthday cake was still sitting on a table on the beach. More attention to those little details would go along way.

The pool is lovely and the water temperature was great. Waitresses were readily available to bring lunch and cocktails. The tiki bar made some great drinks.

The food at Atlantic Edge was universally good, from a very well appointed breakfast buffet to delicious dinner entrees and a very nice wine list.

The resort offers many activities, you'll never get bored.

Beach is good by Keys standards, but not up to the standard of Miami or other carribbean islands.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

After the initial sticker-shock of the nightly rate plus daily resort fee at the Cheeca, my husband and I weren't sure if it was going to be worth the money. I can now say that it absolutely was. You get what you pay for, and our stay at the Cheeca was phenomenal. Our room was lovely, and we especially appreciated the screened-in porch so that we could enjoy the view of the torch-lit lagoon late into the evening. Every morsel of food from the pool restaurant and fancier restaurant (called "Atlantic's Edge" I think?) was outstanding. Their mixed drinks are very generous on the alcohol, too! Their beach is very large and our kids also loved the little shallow saltwater lagoon when they'd get tired of the pool. The service was very good, especially the watiers and waitresses running food and drinks to the pool and beach crowd. They were also VERY good about accommodating picky children's food likes and dislikes. Everyone was exceptionally friendly, helpful, and genuinely seemed to be invested in the enjoyment of the hotel guests. I toured the spa but did not get a chance to have any spa treatments. The facilities looked top-notch, though. I would have loved to try the adult-only pool and outdoor spa area, but we wanted to keep it a true family vacation and felt like we'd spent enough already! We got a lot of enjoyment from the fishing pier, kayaks, and just walking around the winding paths of the hotel property. I can't say enough about this place. We want to go back! My five year old cried real tears on the day we left, and I just about joined in!

I might not recommend it for a loud, rowdy, smoking, young spring break crowd. It really is more of a family/girls weekend/couples scene. Then again, I can't think of too many college students whoe could afford to stay at the Cheeca (and their bar drinks are really pricey, too), so there's probably not much of a risk of that anyway!

All in all, we had a fabulous time and would never think of staying anywhere else in the area now.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganMagdalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We found the staff extremely nice and helpful. We were greeted at the check in with a glass of champagne, and we were given a personal tour of the premises before we were accompanied to our room. At check out, we found our luggage already in the car and ready to go. Newspaper delivered to our room each day. We stayed in a superior king beachfront bungalow, right on the beach. The bathroom and room were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food at the restaurant was very good. Good live entertainment. The "oasis" is a magical place. Plenty of room to stay away from the crowds. Will go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We read a ton of reviews before visiting Cheeca Lodge....Here is the deal: Below average service at a premium price. Hotel & grounds are gorgeous. Staff is indifferent. There were a few shining stars who went above and beyond but overall the service was below par. (not welcoming, distracted, slow and clearly looking for tips!)

39 dollar a day activity fee built in.... but there is limited access to the bikes and you had to rig your own fishing rods if the bait was even available.

The food served on the beach was actually pretty good. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant and again felt it was over priced for the experience. Would recommend Bentleys for dinner and Loralei (sp?) for a late night dinner/drink atmosphere outside.

They also rented the lagoon out for a private party but didn't tell hotel guests until the night before limiting ability to make plans off site or offer to refund the activity fee for the day.

Rooms are clean but our shower didn't work properly. Cleaning services were inconsistent in refreshing the rooms. (sugar, coffee, water, towels etc.)

On the bright side.... Our son loved the salt water lagoon, fishing pier and bikes.

All said, if you can swing a great deal on a room it is worth it. I would only recommend staying at Cheeca if you get a good deal and don't mind working around their schedule.

I do hope they get it right.... they are soooooooo close to being worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredWorkingParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami Bach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The setting is gorgeous. We can't deny that. But you better get the right room and insist on getting put in the right location and plan your meals outside the hotel to make your overall vacation to Islamorada fabulous. We got the oceanfront with outdoor tub. And we loved it. Looks just like it does in photos. I would highly recommend this room. Very romantic. Similar to something you'd see on the show "The Bachelor." But room service and lunch/dinnner food at Atlantic's Edge is no good. I would recommend the sushi restaurant here, but no matter how beauiful Atlantic's Edge looks, the food quality and the wait service is only mediocre and it's a real shame. I literally had to ask the waiter if the caesar salad came with croutons and after looking puzzled said "let me look into it" brings me a total of two. A joke. When you think upscale, 4 or 5 stars, it can't just be about environment, You have to back your story with quality food options and waiters who don't have attitudes. The waitresses seemed a lot nicer (one brought my sushi over to the patio for me which made eating it so fun), but the level or rudeness (still waiting for the waiter at Atlantic's Edge to bring me my iced tea--which here is pretty weak) from the waiters would have perhaps been a little more palatable if the food was good. So I'd highly say, stay here, but don't eat here. It's a boutique very pretty hotel, but with caveats. Incidentally, though they touted that the recreational items are all included in your price, all the scooters were out of order. Someone needs to pay attention as this place still some tweaking to lift this good find to a great find.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We had a relaxing and fun-filled experience at this beautiful resort in Islamorada. Wonderful room, breathtaking lobby views with sitting area, great beach front with free bikes and kayaks, nice-enough breakfast buffet, and a very pretty adult swimming, spa and exercise area. We found it tough to leave Cheeca. Very pleasant staff. A nice treat is the free Starbucks in the morning out on the patio overlooking a beautiful waterfront. The only negative we can think of is that the nice man-made canal and waterfall behind our room, while pretty, had a loud pump and the A/C on the units also was loud. But the beautiful grounds, great dock with fishing, and relaxing beach made a terrific 2-night vacation feel very relaxing and rejuvenating.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellFedTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,308 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge & Spa Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing