We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great deal for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

First, for one hundred thirty dollars for a Saturday and Sunday night stay, I did not expect the Ritz. I did, and always do, expect the rooms to be clean, cold, have a small frig, have decent towels, and to be treated as a guest. This is exactly what I got from Dennis, the Mgr, and the Sunset Inn. We had two double beds and were steps from the clean, sparkling pool. It is centrally located and an excellent restaurant, Mangrove Mike's, is attached to the property which offers an exceptional breakfast with a wonderful waitstaff,
Secondly, it compares with places like the Islander which would run one dollars more for the same ammenities. I can't wait to return. Thanks again Dennis!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    46
    18
    21
See reviews for
37
59
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had stayed at the Sunset Inn once before on a scuba diving trip. The price was right and it was just minutes away from the dive operator I was going to use this time around, so I booked it again. I was completely satisfied. Everything was clean and fresh. There's a super homemade ice cream place across the street, and you're within walking distance (just a few minutes) from the Lorelei.

There was Wifi only in the lobby of the hotel, but I think that they are working on getting a stronger coverage area so that it can be used in the rooms one of these days. But hey, for the price, I didn't mind sitting in the lobby to send a few emails while I was there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2dive65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and rooms are very quiet. Definitely a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishermencigerate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Big room, clean, at a good price during spring break. I was in a front room & heard traffic all night, so I'll stay in a back room next time. A/C worked great. Locals eat at the restaurant next door & it was pretty good-homestyle cooking. Maid service every day.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffin, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Rooms are large and cheap by keys standards. Good, newer type air conditioner. Cleaning staff does a great job cleaning room every day(I am staying here now for 2 weeks). Retro bathroom with pink wall tiles is cool. New shower curtain, plenty of mirror space. In the room, New floral bedspreads, new curtains, air blasts cold air out in daytime and was a great heater at night. Walls are freshly painted-could use a few nice pictures on them. Refrigerator works great--very cold. Have had no noise from neighboring rooms. Close to everything. Bridge fishing nearby. Also, marinas, restaurants are close by. Found a great little Chinese take out place a block away, plenty of sit down restaurants too. The attached restaurant has decent microwaved food and high prices. It cost me over $9 for a waffle and coffee! Advise you go elsewhere to eat. As you can tell, I like this motel and will stay with them again next year I almost forgot to mention the pool. It is right out the back door and beautiful. Very clean and surrounded by palm trees. Plenty of reclining chairs.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

And not necessarily a bad thing. The rooms were quite large, very inexpensive and over all clean. Bad points were; one of the walls next to the bed was chipping paint from water damage I think, tub was a little rusty, 1 refrigerator but no microwave, no ice machines offered, noisy(I could hear everything going on in our neighbors rooms) and weeds growing all over the pool. But for 55.00 a night we just couldn't pass it up. Great for guys coming down for fishing thou, and maybe families on a tight tight budget(saves you money to go to the theater of the sea or maybe get jet ski rentals or something).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beextham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

I was going to stay at the Blue Fin Inn but there was a mix up in the room and they gave me a room at the Sunset Inn for the same price. Deb was very accommodating and friendly. She showed us the room before we made the commitment to stay and I found it to be as nice as the Blue Finn Inn with a pool. My daughter loved it!

It's an older hotel but has all the charm and character you'd ever find. If your looking for a 5 star hotel (Hilton or a Radisson), this is not the place for you. But if you looking to stay at an affordable, clean place with all the charm of the Keys then I would highly recommend this place. I'm definetly going to stay here again on my next trip down to Islamorada.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenZ_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.1 mi away
La Jolla Resort
La Jolla Resort
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing