We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I had to make a short trip to the Keys for some job interviews and were looking for a cheap place to stay. The cheapest place we could find was the Sunset Inn which thanks to off season rates was only $55 a night for weeknights. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, and the pool area was nice and refreshing. The owner, Dennis was very friendly and gave us some great recommendations for places to eat (Islamorada Fish Company and Mangrove Mikes). There is a great little cafe right beside the Sunset Inn called Mangrove Mike's which served a great, affordable breakfast. There is also a Burger King across the street too. The only downside was that the Inn is right next to the highway which means you hear cars all night, but other than that we had no problems and would definitely stay here again. It's a great place to stay for those on a budget and aren't looking for a luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfaith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

For only $95 we got a huge room at the last minute. We had tried several hotels in Islamorada and the prices were staggering - $150 per night. We had a good, one night stay in a clean and comfortable room. The reception was warm and welcoming and breakfast was well priced. The owner was able to recommend a great place to eat and watch the sunset (Lorelei's on the beach)- a must !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanwickersglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

First, for one hundred thirty dollars for a Saturday and Sunday night stay, I did not expect the Ritz. I did, and always do, expect the rooms to be clean, cold, have a small frig, have decent towels, and to be treated as a guest. This is exactly what I got from Dennis, the Mgr, and the Sunset Inn. We had two double beds and were steps from the clean, sparkling pool. It is centrally located and an excellent restaurant, Mangrove Mike's, is attached to the property which offers an exceptional breakfast with a wonderful waitstaff,
Secondly, it compares with places like the Islander which would run one dollars more for the same ammenities. I can't wait to return. Thanks again Dennis!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had stayed at the Sunset Inn once before on a scuba diving trip. The price was right and it was just minutes away from the dive operator I was going to use this time around, so I booked it again. I was completely satisfied. Everything was clean and fresh. There's a super homemade ice cream place across the street, and you're within walking distance (just a few minutes) from the Lorelei.

There was Wifi only in the lobby of the hotel, but I think that they are working on getting a stronger coverage area so that it can be used in the rooms one of these days. But hey, for the price, I didn't mind sitting in the lobby to send a few emails while I was there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2dive65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and rooms are very quiet. Definitely a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishermencigerate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Big room, clean, at a good price during spring break. I was in a front room & heard traffic all night, so I'll stay in a back room next time. A/C worked great. Locals eat at the restaurant next door & it was pretty good-homestyle cooking. Maid service every day.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Rooms are large and cheap by keys standards. Good, newer type air conditioner. Cleaning staff does a great job cleaning room every day(I am staying here now for 2 weeks). Retro bathroom with pink wall tiles is cool. New shower curtain, plenty of mirror space. In the room, New floral bedspreads, new curtains, air blasts cold air out in daytime and was a great heater at night. Walls are freshly painted-could use a few nice pictures on them. Refrigerator works great--very cold. Have had no noise from neighboring rooms. Close to everything. Bridge fishing nearby. Also, marinas, restaurants are close by. Found a great little Chinese take out place a block away, plenty of sit down restaurants too. The attached restaurant has decent microwaved food and high prices. It cost me over $9 for a waffle and coffee! Advise you go elsewhere to eat. As you can tell, I like this motel and will stay with them again next year I almost forgot to mention the pool. It is right out the back door and beautiful. Very clean and surrounded by palm trees. Plenty of reclining chairs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
8.2 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,408 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coconut Cove Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
758 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breezy Palms Resort
Breezy Palms Resort
#6 of 11 in Islamorada
331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Islamorada
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £36 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing