We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Islamorada destination every time”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Islamorada destination every time”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Found this gem when my son was a year old and have come back every trip to Islamorada. It is very family friendly. Every room opens to the Lovely pool, friendly helpful staff (Dennis has been right on with every recommendation). I love the old Florida and family appeal. Park right outside my door. The best location to beach, Lorelei and Mangrove Mikes Cafe. It is comfortable and clean. So it needs some renovation and repair, especially the bathrooms, but I will stay here for its charm over the Marriott any day! I am planning on my next trip there this summer. Boat trailer parking out back. The kitchenette was great when my son was little as well as the regular room. Best value in Islamorada

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are so glad you are pleased with us. We are the old Florida motel but that is what we like. We are not here to be the high priced motel that you can only afford one night. For those kind of prices you can stay 2 or 3 days with us.
We are in the process of doing upgrades to the motel. Last fall we did all new tile in the rooms and updated the kitchenettes. This spring we replaced several curtains. This fall we hope to start working on updating bathroom. This will be as time and money permits but want to at least start on them. Please come see us again and check out our progress.

Thanks for the Great reveiw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    53
    46
    18
    21
See reviews for
37
60
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a true old world Florida hotel.The staff was amazing and went out of their way to accomodate us-beyond what one would expect ! The rooms are basic...but CLEAN. The pool and grounds are clean with an outstanding cafe on premise. I've heard of a few complaints on the web from people who think their getting a five star visit for such an amazingly affordable rate.You don't go to the keys to sit in a room!! The owners are among the nicest folks you will ever meet and will help you any way you can. Go ahead and pay $250 and up somewhere and let them bring you your $16 fruity drink in their white shorts-me....I'll be poolside,grilling up my catch,having a cold one at the Sunset Inn. Last time,1/2 the other guest came down and joined us....old Florida style,like it used to be !!!!!

Room Tip: Kichenettes available for a few bucks more with Winn Dixie about 6 miles out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for the Great Revew. We are family owned and strive to be friendly and helpful. We love to see our guests make new friends around the pool Please come see us again soon and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed for 7 days last year and going back again this year for another 7 days.
You can't beat the price. A friend of mine in Florida told me about this place and I'm glad she did. Pool is clean, Mangrove Mikes next door to eat and Lorelai down the back pathway.
Stay 7 and one night free also. Front desk great people. Saws lots of igaunas for the first time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faye b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for the Great review. The iguanas are still around. We work hard to keep the rooms clean. We are glad you were satisfied. Look foward to seeing you again Thanks for the revew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Hotel is inexpensive with very outdated furnishings. It is, however very clean. I wiped down the kitchen & bathroom counters with Clorox (I carry just in case) the rag was very clean, no stains, no dirt. We had a kitchenette with nice cabinet and clean utensils . The refrigerator was spotless. Bed was comfortable and sheets were very clean. Towels were skimpy/too light not good bath towels. We took own shampoo & dryer. They supplied plenty bath soup.
We stayed in room 115 and 123 and both were clean. Staff was nice and eager to help.
Pool was clean but the outer areas of hotel could use cleaning, Raking, sweeping of cigarette butts etc. Quiet 3 nights. Not the Hilton but If on a budget this is the place to come. We will be back. Don't like the pink & blue paint. Rooms need uplifting paint job.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool were quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for the review. Clean is what we strive for. I am glad you found both of your rooms to your satisfaction. We are contantly updating and upgrading as time and money permits. in the last year we did new tile floors, updated the kitchenette and bought new curtains. We have plans for doing some more things this fall, money and weather permitting. Please come see up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my week-plus stay. Friendly management, clean rooms, excellent pool and very importantly, probably the best stay for the money in the Keys. Those seeking all the amenities of a five-star luxury hotel should look elsewhere but for me, this was a perfect base to roam the keys from Largo to West, scuba dive on Largo and do it on an amazing budget as well. Even though the hotel was fully booked during the time I was there it seemed that I almost had the swimming pool to myself on a couple days I decided to be lazy and not travel around the keys. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the Overseas Highway side ground floor because near the vehicle and had a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for the Great review. You are right, we are not 5 star but we do try to be clean and affordable. Come see us again soon and take advantage of our week pricing again of stay 7 night and pay for 6-- get one night free. Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kure Beach NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Ok, so when we first walked in we had a moment of uh-oh. It is an older hotel. But after 4 nights I can honestly say this place is a gem for the money. Nothing fancy but it is clean, the staff is super helpful and pleasant, beds were amazingly comfortable, air conditioner could freeze you out if you like, the pool is in the back and off the road and there is a great little restaurant next door that serves great breakfasts. Another feature that worked well was Wi-Fi. No issues with that at all. The TV was a bit sketchy (kept turning itself on at 5am) but we were there to dive and sleep so we just unplugged it and I am sure if we asked it would have been handled. The floors are ceramic tile which is great for wet or damp diving equipment. There were 8 of us in three different rooms (two regular and one kitchenette) and everyone was pleasantly surprised. And for the money.....you can't beat it. We will stay here whenever we dive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernandcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for the great reveiw. Yes we would have fixed the TV if we had known, sometimes they deside to die and need replacing. please let us know in the future of problems and we will resolve them. We are an older place but are contantly updating and replacing as time and money permits. We are great for Divers and Fishermen as well as people who just want to run around the Keys. We are not a Resort but we are clean and neet. Please come see us again on your next dive trip. Thanks for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

What some people fail to realize is that rain in south Florida is mainly composed of salt from our ocean and highly corrosive...and it doesn't normally rain straight down, it rains sideways. This can age a building and things like patio furniture quickly. My husband and I stayed at Sunset for three days earlier this week. We were greeted by Dennis at the front desk, who was more than happy to give us info on the area, good places to eat and things to do. Yes, it is an older building, the room furniture is somewhat dated and eclectic, but why are you on vacation and sitting in your room? The important things are covered - I have stayed at many 'high-end' hotels, and I have to say, some have not been as clean as the Sunset. The mattresses are glorious and the sheets sparkling white without the roughness and bleachy smell you get at most hotels. We stayed in the $85 double kitchenette and it was extremely roomy. The picture window (about 6'X12') looked out on the pool. Although we were too busy to use it, it looked very well maintained. Mangrove Mikes next store is a HUGE perk. I think earlier reviewers have been too hard on this place. It's squeaky clean and the price is right. I would definitely book again at the Sunset next time we wander south.

Room Tip: We stayed in RM 122, the last corner room. Not much street noise as it opens onto the pool. Big an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth5789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for the great reveiw. You got the salt in the air right. Things do not last as long here do to the high salt. We are contently upgrading and updating as money and time allows. We are not the Hilton but are not charging those prices either. We work very hard at clean neat rooms.

Thank you again for the nice reveiw. Come see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.4 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Jolla Resort
La Jolla Resort
#3 of 11 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing