We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

They need new housekeepers and maintenance personel. This place was probably nice 20 years ago. Whatever you do, do not accept any room facing the highway. Lots of traffic and there's a restaurant there and the patrons take up all of the parking out front and in the back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We appriciate all reviews. We are sorry you had a bad experience with us. We would hope you will try us again. And if not us, please come to our great little Village of Islamorada. Islamorada has many things to offer in water activity. Mangrove Mike's restaurant is great and I am sorry if they made parking difficult. Please try Islamorada again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    46
    18
    21
See reviews for
37
59
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
La Belle, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many different resorts in the Keys. This one is just as nice as more expensive places, but for half the cost. We loved that they have lots of free boat parking. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quite roomy. The staff and other guests were friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and caught quite a few lobster to boot! The only complaint was that the traffic sounds outside were horrible. There's not much that can be done about that though. We can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are constantly working to improve the property. Please come see us soon and catch some more lobster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were previously at gilberts, GROSS. We traveled deeper into the keys and found Sunset Inn, a couple of kids just wanting to get away. Dennis is the manager, AMAZING. He went above and beyond to accomodate us. Treated us like princeses. Gave us the best room for the Best rate!! We cant wait to come back again and again and again! Clean updated rooms,nice private clean room, very small but perfect for a weekend getaway! Thank you sunset inn! we love ya!

Room Tip: Any room is great! We got a room with a kitchenette, pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thanks for the Great review. We work hard to be clean and neat Dennis has been here for a long time and tries to help when he can Look forward to your next visit. Fall is great as there are less people around. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The other reviews were spot on. The room was dated, but fully met our needs. We got a room in the back with a full kitchen. The extra space was great for all of our scuba gear. The pool was clean and warm. Bring your own shampoo and blow dryer.
Attached to the motel was a great, local breakfast spot - Mangrove Mikes - and an art shop. We picked up some local art that was framed by a repurposed lobster trap.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6camaro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
thanks for the great review. We are constantly updating things as money allows. We strive to be clean and neat even though we are an older place. Mangrove Mike's is the best. My husband and I eat many lunches there. Come visit us again The fall is a great time to have the Keys to your selves--less people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We headed to the Keys without planning much on where to stay. This place was recommended by the Tourism office. Simple place with clean and spacious rooms. We were given a double room with a back door to the pool, parking in front of the room. Our room was in the back, very quiet.
We discovered a restaurant nearby at walking distance to have breakfast to dinner: Lorelei. It was great watching the sunset while enjoying happy hour. We met Dennis (front desk) who was very helpful during our stay. I have recommended this hotel to many since our stay, and will definitely stay there the next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natdeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for the great review. Dennis has been with us a long time and loves to help. WE are not the fancy place just clean and affordable. We are very centrally located, only 2 hours to Key West and 2 hours back to the Miami airport. The Lorelei is one of the reasons why my husband and I fell in love with Islamorada and to think it is walking distance! Please come see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Found this gem when my son was a year old and have come back every trip to Islamorada. It is very family friendly. Every room opens to the Lovely pool, friendly helpful staff (Dennis has been right on with every recommendation). I love the old Florida and family appeal. Park right outside my door. The best location to beach, Lorelei and Mangrove Mikes Cafe. It is comfortable and clean. So it needs some renovation and repair, especially the bathrooms, but I will stay here for its charm over the Marriott any day! I am planning on my next trip there this summer. Boat trailer parking out back. The kitchenette was great when my son was little as well as the regular room. Best value in Islamorada

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are so glad you are pleased with us. We are the old Florida motel but that is what we like. We are not here to be the high priced motel that you can only afford one night. For those kind of prices you can stay 2 or 3 days with us.
We are in the process of doing upgrades to the motel. Last fall we did all new tile in the rooms and updated the kitchenettes. This spring we replaced several curtains. This fall we hope to start working on updating bathroom. This will be as time and money permits but want to at least start on them. Please come see us again and check out our progress.

Thanks for the Great reveiw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is a true old world Florida hotel.The staff was amazing and went out of their way to accomodate us-beyond what one would expect ! The rooms are basic...but CLEAN. The pool and grounds are clean with an outstanding cafe on premise. I've heard of a few complaints on the web from people who think their getting a five star visit for such an amazingly affordable rate.You don't go to the keys to sit in a room!! The owners are among the nicest folks you will ever meet and will help you any way you can. Go ahead and pay $250 and up somewhere and let them bring you your $16 fruity drink in their white shorts-me....I'll be poolside,grilling up my catch,having a cold one at the Sunset Inn. Last time,1/2 the other guest came down and joined us....old Florida style,like it used to be !!!!!

Room Tip: Kichenettes available for a few bucks more with Winn Dixie about 6 miles out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for the Great Revew. We are family owned and strive to be friendly and helpful. We love to see our guests make new friends around the pool Please come see us again soon and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.1 mi away
La Jolla Resort
La Jolla Resort
#4 of 11 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing