We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Charm”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wife and I loved this place. Stayed five days for a friend's wedding. Nice hotel with the Old Florida Charm. Our room was clean, bright, comfortable, and quiet (no noise from other guests). The A/C works awesome and had a nice hot shower with great pressure. Able to park in front of our room and even had another door leading to pool area from our room. Location was right in the middle of so much! Walking distance to Mangrove Mike's for great breakfast and sunsets at Lorelei's. Great value and friendly service. Central location of hotel was perfect for exploring up and down Highway 1 in the Keys. Definitely will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGr8Randini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for the Great review. Love the Lorelei and Mangrove Mike's myself. We try to provide the basics at an affordable price. Come see us again soon. Summer and Fall rates Sunday thru Thursday are even lower. Thanks again for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Perfect spot if you don't have a car, wonderful Lorelei restaurant / happy hour with music nearby and many other interesting spots within walking instance. Hotel is very basic, not a resort, but well managed, friendly staff, clean and with comfy beds. Pool is small but fine. Can't beat this price for the expensive Keys. Just don't expect anything more than advertised, basically a motel, with some limited grounds for lounging around and right next to the busy highway.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank NziTrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for the Great review. We are a very basic motel that is trying to make visiting the Keys affordable. We are constantly fixing and upgrading as time and money allows. Please come see us again. Fall is a great time in the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I stay there a few times a year. Its clean, well located and relatively quiet. This is a poured concrete building with solid walls so its quiet except for possible road noise. It is not the Taj. It isn't a Hilton. Its a typical 1950's Keys motel. That's what we like about it. The price is always right, but we appreciate the convenience just as much. When you're on the Keys you should be there for the great stuff to do, not the accommodations so much. Years ago we stayed at Cheeca Lodge, where presidents have stayed. I was on business there and dealt with the manager. I stayed one night and in the morning commented to the manager that the rooms were surprisingly not fancy. He told me that the people who come there live in luxury at home. They come to Cheeca for fishing (men) and the spa (women). They don't need to be impressed with the décor. They own that at home. Same with us. We live in a million dollar plus home and stay at Sunset Inn because it's practical.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrb624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

thank you for the Great reveiw. We are not the Hilton and do not try to be. We do try to be clean and neat and an affordable price. We want you to enjoy the Keys for its style and not sit in a room all day. We are constantly trying to improve our rooms as time and money permits. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Regarding all of the negative reviews, one comment:

The cost was $65.00 a night!

Wasn't the best hotel but the bed was comfortable and I saved a lot of money for other activities.

Again, $65 a night is not bad.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
7  Thank DVD1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for the nice review. We are an older motel but try hard to keep it clean and reasonable pricing. We want everyone to be able to afford the Keys. We are constantly working on improvements. Come see us again. Fall is a great time in the Keys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just called 10 mins ago...guy was short, seemed bothered and acted like he had something else better to do. When I got rate, said thanks, I will call you back, he just hung up, no goodbye, or anything....Just rude, IMO.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank jetdoc3037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

The guy no longer works for us. I am sorry he was not very polite. Please try us again as our staff is usually very friendly Thanks for your review We appriciate all reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here one night on our drive down through the Keys. We wanted inexpensive and we got that. It was clean enough to get by, but very plain and very old. It has not been kept up well, but if you are looking for just a place to sleep as you are passing through, you may be fine here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for the reveiw. We are an older motel. We are constantly doing small things to improve the rooms and property but with in a budget so that we can keep our prices low. We are very centrally located between Miami and Key West and in addition we are in the center of Islamorada. Sounds like you may have missed the Lorelei. It's a great cabana bar on the water with food, music and beautiful sunsets. It is about 1 1/2 blocks --walking distance from us. Come spend a night again and enjoy the local sunsets and music. Thanks again for the nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I found this motel through the fla-keys.com site, and made my reservation based on reviews on this site. We stayed one night, and it was the perfect stopover point between Key West and Miami. Dennis is affable and helpful with recommendations for places to eat and things to do. The room was clean, with a refrigerator and small table. The room was much larger than we had expected. The funny thing was a tiny 17" tv on the dresser all the way across this huge room! But we did not come to the Keys to watch tv, so we didn't care. (the channel selection was the best of all the places we stayed though). Free wi-fi worked fine. The pool area was clean, and we had no noise issues. We walked to the Lorelai for a fantastic sunset dinner, and Mangrove Mike's 2 doors down was a great place for breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calico66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thanks for the nice reveiw. We are a great stop over between Miami and Key West. Islamorada is a great place to spend a few days on the water--fishing, diving, snorking, kayaking, paddleboards, anything you can think of on the water. Actually our TV's are 22" with, as you mentioned, lots of chanels. We are older motel but we work hard to keep the rooms clean and everything working. Please come again and stay a few days. Islamorada is a great little town. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Key Islamorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £38 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing