We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom & Pop motel nice but needs some upgrades badly.”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mom & Pop motel nice but needs some upgrades badly.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Pro: staff very nice. Location great. Nice pool. Prices great. Rooms clean. Quiet.

Con: beds and pillows very uncomfortable! Kitchen supplies lacking! No chairs to sit in outside unless smoker. Pool is locked 930p-900a--- only chairs to sit in outside. No couch/sitting area in rooms

Stayed one week. Three biggest complaints beds/ pillows , no chairs outside, and kitchen didn't have even service for four. Other than that, good for the price you pay.......

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubachick029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for the nice review. Sorry your beding was not statisfactory. We change the mattresses as needed and sometimes a room will slip thru the cracks. We could have changed the pillows for you if you had mentioned you needed more or something different. Everyone likes different things when it comes to pillows. We also have backup dishes Sorry your unit did not have enough for your group. We would have given you more if we had realized your problem. We work hard to keep the rooms clean and neat and appolozise for some oversites in kitchenware. Hope you will try us again Thanks for the review. We will follow up on your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    55
    47
    18
    21
See reviews for
38
61
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the Keys. I've been coming down to the Keys since 1969 (from Ft. Laud.) and the Keys have a atmosphere all their own. The Sunset Inn reflects the pace and feel of the Keys experience. We rented the kitchenette apartment and it was perfect for our needs. Very clean, and very comfortable. The pool was about four steps away from our front door. Also had a back door leading to the parking area. Within walking distance to one of our favorite waterfront restaurants, Lorelei's, and close to a number of other conveniences. The staff was very laid back and accommodating. You had the feeling that you could relax without worrying about a long list of hotel rules that cramped your fun. The prices were great and the stay was great. We're going back next month.

Room Tip: Kitchenette units have full size refrigerators and ample space for cooking. It is roomy and well lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steed4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
thanks for the great review. We strive to have clean rooms for our guests. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first stay at the Sunset. We have stayed at the other motels (Blue Fin, Key Latern) in the past but discovered that the SUNSET INN has a pool. Our stay was amazing. The efficiency was spotless, the staff extremely helpful. It's not the Hilton but it works for us. Close to happy hour and then coming back to BBQ. After a very long winter my hubby can't wait to get the coals rocking. Thank you Deb for your gracious visit especially after just loosing your husband, Larry. See you in December. Maggie and Michael from Toronto.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magpie1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
thank you for the great review and thank you for your condolances. I am here to make sure everyone has a great stay. I love the Keys and want everyone to appriciate them as much as I do. Please come again soon. The prices are lower in the Fall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Affordable room that was clean, quiet and awesome. The pool was very well kept and the staff was super nice. Its an older place but just the environment im looking for when i go to the keys. My father keeps a boat near the sunset so it was super convienient as well. The cafe next door has the best breakfast in florida.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reefturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are an older motel but strive to be clean and affordable. Our rooms are spacious and all have small refrigerators in them. We have the pool and the Lorelei is walking distance to great sunsets and live music. Come see us again. The rates are even lower in the Fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Its weird to give such a high rating for such an old property with no frills and fancy rooms. I'm not sure I want to share the great deal this is since its often full. But its such a great value the rating is justified! If you're used to modern facilities and only expect perfect facilities this place may not be for you. But if you're lookimg for value so you can spend more on recreation and eating out, and don't mind older, very basic accomodations, this is the place. Debra is very nice and also owns the Blue Fin and Key Lantern a few blocks south. This motel has a decent pool and is about $10-$15 higher. Location is ideal as mentioned Lorelie restraunt is a short walk, burger king across street , Mangrove Mikes restaruant on site. Good TV and cable ( cable listings would of been nice). Bring a hair dryer we assumed these were standard now, but not here.( I bought one on internets for$10!). A few more dishes and utensils would be an improvement (this why they hacw 'dollar' stores!). But we really enjoyed our stay without worrying how much we were spending and thinking we needed to spend more time at the hotel. You ccan usually 'read between the lines' on most reviews - like who would bother witing a negative view over errant phone call that didn't seem friendly enough! This is the best value in the keys, and the rooms are clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: Heard rooms along highway can be noisy. So if that's important spend the extra $10 and get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toohip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
thank you for the great review. We are an old place but work hard at keeping everything clean and working. We want you to use your money to enjoy the Keys. Our kitchenettes have minimum amout of things but if there is items missing just ask. The Lorelei and Mangrove Mike's are great places. Please come see us again The Fall is a great time and has even lower rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trempealeau, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wife and I loved this place. Stayed five days for a friend's wedding. Nice hotel with the Old Florida Charm. Our room was clean, bright, comfortable, and quiet (no noise from other guests). The A/C works awesome and had a nice hot shower with great pressure. Able to park in front of our room and even had another door leading to pool area from our room. Location was right in the middle of so much! Walking distance to Mangrove Mike's for great breakfast and sunsets at Lorelei's. Great value and friendly service. Central location of hotel was perfect for exploring up and down Highway 1 in the Keys. Definitely will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGr8Randini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for the Great review. Love the Lorelei and Mangrove Mike's myself. We try to provide the basics at an affordable price. Come see us again soon. Summer and Fall rates Sunday thru Thursday are even lower. Thanks again for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect spot if you don't have a car, wonderful Lorelei restaurant / happy hour with music nearby and many other interesting spots within walking instance. Hotel is very basic, not a resort, but well managed, friendly staff, clean and with comfy beds. Pool is small but fine. Can't beat this price for the expensive Keys. Just don't expect anything more than advertised, basically a motel, with some limited grounds for lounging around and right next to the busy highway.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank NziTrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for the Great review. We are a very basic motel that is trying to make visiting the Keys affordable. We are constantly fixing and upgrading as time and money allows. Please come see us again. Fall is a great time in the Keys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,408 reviews
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing