We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise again”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were in the keys last about 6 years ago and stayed at the Sunset Inn, really enjoyed it then. We were just there again last week and was nicely surprised again, the staff is as friendly and helpful as they get. Our room was cleaned daily. Every day after fishing we came in to fresh
towels and clean room. I would recommend this motel to everyone that wants a trip to the keys and save some money to do the key thing ! Awsome stay! Also very secure as we were pulling our boat and had ample parking for that.

Room Tip: I always get a room by the pool, and towards the rear of the property for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

So glad you remembered us after 6 years. Thanks for the Great reveiw The maids work hard at keeping the rooms clean. Hope you caught some fish. Fall is a great time to come back to the Keys. There are not as many people and the weather is great.

Thanks again. Come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We came down for the lobster mini season and wanted a cheap, comfortable place to stay. We booked pretty early, based on a friends recommendation. The rooms were older, and nothing fancy. The flat screen t.v. was tiny. However, they knew where to invest their money.... the mattresses in our room were GREAT!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

.
Thanks for the Great reveiw We are an older motel but try to keep the pricing reasonable so everyone can enjoy the Keys. We have a pool but no beach but the Lorelei is walking distance for GREAT sunsets, food and music. Thanks again. Come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very good for one night we stayed there for one night is very clean and the Mexican bar & grill Puerto Vallarta is close and very good food. I would stay again for overnight. Can't beat the price in the Keys .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twc3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks for the Great reveiw We are not fancy and we work at staying clean We have a pool but no beach but the Lorelei is walking distance for GREAT sunsets, food and music.
Thanks again. Come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We come to the Keys about 6 times each year. And once we discovered Sunset Inn we only stay there. The rates are wonderful $55.00 during the week and $65.00 on the weekend. The rooms are clean and the staff it wonderful. The best thing is they are right near everything. You can walk to Mangrove Mikes and eat breakfast. Shop at the Lobster Trap for some wonderful art. You can also walk to Lor-e-lei and have lunch or dinner and see the best sunset. Across the street you can shop and grab an ice cream at Mr. G's. And If you must have fast food Burger King is across the street as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the west side they are much quieter due to hwy 1 being on the East Side. Great loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks for the Great review. We work at keeping our rates reasonable. I am the owner and at any time you could find me working the desk, helping a guest, assisting the maids. That is how we keep the expenses down so you can have a great affordable stay. Thanks again Come see us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Pro: staff very nice. Location great. Nice pool. Prices great. Rooms clean. Quiet.

Con: beds and pillows very uncomfortable! Kitchen supplies lacking! No chairs to sit in outside unless smoker. Pool is locked 930p-900a--- only chairs to sit in outside. No couch/sitting area in rooms

Stayed one week. Three biggest complaints beds/ pillows , no chairs outside, and kitchen didn't have even service for four. Other than that, good for the price you pay.......

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scubachick029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for the nice review. Sorry your beding was not statisfactory. We change the mattresses as needed and sometimes a room will slip thru the cracks. We could have changed the pillows for you if you had mentioned you needed more or something different. Everyone likes different things when it comes to pillows. We also have backup dishes Sorry your unit did not have enough for your group. We would have given you more if we had realized your problem. We work hard to keep the rooms clean and neat and appolozise for some oversites in kitchenware. Hope you will try us again Thanks for the review. We will follow up on your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the Keys. I've been coming down to the Keys since 1969 (from Ft. Laud.) and the Keys have a atmosphere all their own. The Sunset Inn reflects the pace and feel of the Keys experience. We rented the kitchenette apartment and it was perfect for our needs. Very clean, and very comfortable. The pool was about four steps away from our front door. Also had a back door leading to the parking area. Within walking distance to one of our favorite waterfront restaurants, Lorelei's, and close to a number of other conveniences. The staff was very laid back and accommodating. You had the feeling that you could relax without worrying about a long list of hotel rules that cramped your fun. The prices were great and the stay was great. We're going back next month.

Room Tip: Kitchenette units have full size refrigerators and ample space for cooking. It is roomy and well lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steed4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

thanks for the great review. We strive to have clean rooms for our guests. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first stay at the Sunset. We have stayed at the other motels (Blue Fin, Key Latern) in the past but discovered that the SUNSET INN has a pool. Our stay was amazing. The efficiency was spotless, the staff extremely helpful. It's not the Hilton but it works for us. Close to happy hour and then coming back to BBQ. After a very long winter my hubby can't wait to get the coals rocking. Thank you Deb for your gracious visit especially after just loosing your husband, Larry. See you in December. Maggie and Michael from Toronto.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magpie1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

thank you for the great review and thank you for your condolances. I am here to make sure everyone has a great stay. I love the Keys and want everyone to appriciate them as much as I do. Please come again soon. The prices are lower in the Fall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
2.2 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Key Islamorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: £38 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada
Sunset Inn Islamorada, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing