We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will never stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingsail Resort Motel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will never stay there again”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Made a reservation over the phone and got a confirmation number. We made a phone call to see when the office closed the day of arrival and planned to get there before closing. When we tried to check in they said they had us down for a no show the night before and had no rooms. When asked about our call earlier in the day they stated they "just forget the names" when someone calls. We ended up sleeping in the car since it was a busy weekend all over town. I suspect that they double sold the room since we didn't try checking in till 9pm. We had been there before, but never again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    123
    110
    52
    91
See reviews for
152
166
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were driving from Key West to Miami and found this motel in a proximity of Sombrero beach planning ahead (it was fully booked when we came). We were planned to spent afternoon and morning on a beach and only sleep in this motel. Of course it is not a resort. We got big room (probably porch was converted to the extra room space and this room had 3 beds and a coach and it was the 1st one from the road. But we did not have any noise from the road. Room was big, clean, had lot's of pillows, hot water, small fridge, table and chairs. It was pretty bad free coffee at the morning close to the dirty looking marina but we did not care. Breakfast was not included but there is a place across the road (Wooden Spoon) which serve very good and cheap breakfast. Internet was really slow and spotty. They have an ice machine which was nice for the cooler with drinks on a beach. Sombrero beach is few minutes drive and it is very nice, clean sandy beach with facilities and adults drinks are allowed there. We can stay at Kingsail again if price will be right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This motel is in a great location to explore this area of the Keys. About an hour from Key West, it's an easy drive and also close to shopping, banks, beaches and more.

Our unit had an older fridge and stove. Other than one burner of the stove not working, the kitchen was quite function and we were able to have hot breakfasts and dinners in the unit.

We had a large bedroom with kingsize bed and an adjacent 2 piece bath. The living room area was spacious and functional.

Unfortunately, the complex is showing its age and is in desperate need of TLC. Our unit should have been cleaner than it was.

At the price point, I would have expected a little better, but it could be excellent with some work.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeffreybrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My Husband & I were with another couple & for some reason each of us was given a room that would sleep 4. So I would have to say I was given bad information. We could of saved close to $200.00. That aside....we arrived late & our room keys were in envelopes taped on office door. We were given no contact information if any problems arose. There were very sketchy people hanging around. It got scary during the night....there were peoples shadows outside our windows looking in...they were loud & drinking. The windows were thin & we felt very unsafe. The whole property seemed dirty & seedy.....I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Keep driving...on our way back thru we stayed at a much nicer place for around the same price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARYELLEN1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Delray Beach
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Disgusting, horrible. Should be shut down by Board of Health. Toilet wouldn/t flush and couldn't reach management to fix it. Beds were very uncomfortable. Woke in the morning to huge roaches on the floor. We were supposed to stay another night but we just couldn't. They could really make a mint if they updated the rooms because of the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelrayBeachFunInSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This is called a resort, but I can't see it. The woman on the desk during then day was rude and not at all helpful. It is steps off the highway. The room was very small with the bed against the neighboring room's door. There was no surface to put anything on, and the tv was 12inches. The airport runway is overhead, so expect highway or runway noise. It was also dirty.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Motel doesn't seem like much but for where you are it is all you need. The area is nice and so are the people. About an hour outside of Key West, Fl. more convenient then you might think to go have fun. So much around and up and down the Highway.
Take a chance and have fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsail Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsail Resort Motel

Property: Kingsail Resort Motel
Address: 7050 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3140
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingsail Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsail Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsail Hotel Marathon
Kingsail Resort Motel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing