We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE !”
Review of Tropical Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE !”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I was just there (end of Feb 2012), very dissapointed, here are the negatives: toilet wouldn't flush half the time, bed cheap and uncomfortable, coffee maker didn't work, old TV, road noise, plane noise you are on the approach of the local airport, we had to ask to get more toilet paper and to clean. They charged you for everything. Do yourself a favor and stay in Lime Key Bay Resort a little north of this dump. After staying here for 3 nights you will feel like you are a millionaire for only $23 more a night. We chose this place becuase of all the positive comments, which I don't understand how there could be any positive comments unless friends and family are writing the reviews.

Room Tip: Lime Key Bay Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    95
    53
    36
    62
See reviews for
56
184
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for one night and had a great experience. Our cottage was cute, clean and comfortable. It was cozy and good for a 1-2 night stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funinthesungurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

we only stayed for one night on our way thru the keys but would definitely stay for a week.the cottage was quaint, clean and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfitzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This place is fine for its location if you're driving up and down the Keys. It's like an old motor home park or the type of cabins that you see in the Clark Cable movie "It Happened One Night." Inside the cabin is modern, but the outside is bare ground along a side street. There is nothing within walking distance (beach or otherwise). The staff is great and the breakfast outside is fun. Overall, I was bothered by the price; I don't like chains, but I'd probably stay at the Marathon Holiday Inn Express because of the significant difference in cost between the two places. It's wonderful to be a cute find, but that doesn't justify a high price.

Room Tip: Call for a room, even if you only want one night. The owner told me that she gives the best prices t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colona1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a great stay at the cottages. Everyone was very attentive to our needs. The cottage was neat and clean. The new tiki bar was a plus and a decent breakfast each morning. I would certainly recommend staying here. GREAT deal for the price and location!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I reviewed this property on trip advisor prior to booking our trip (January 23-28, 2012). I have to say the place was everything we hoped it would be and more. The staff were very willing to assist in anyway. Bartender Mike (be sure to ask him about fishing charters, he is a boat captain by day) was very helpful in places to dine during the stay.

The cottage (#8) was extremely clean and one mechanical issue that popped up was dealt with immediately by maintenance. It is the best location in the Keys within driving distance to all attractions like (Bahia Honda State Park, Sombrero Beach, Key West, Crane point).

The tiki hut and hammocks are a great place to unwind after a long day. Great Choice.

Becky V.
Columbus, OH

Room Tip: This is a unique property and probably more suited for those looking to not have the "Resort&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I was disappointed that we could only stay for a night! It was very cute. The bed was comfortable, everything clean, quiet area, and the staff was very friendly. With the kitchenette area, we thought it'd be a great place to stay for a few days if we had had the chance. I thought it was cozy and we had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Could be a good place for multiple families. Has parking and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
3.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Property: Tropical Cottages
Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon
Tropical Cottages Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing